Starbucks Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of The Most Interesting Experiences in my Life
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 December 2017
Without going into details, this became one of the most interesting experiences in my life due to the lack of congruence between what it's said vs what is actually done the decisions made and the way upper management in the province follow.
Needles to say I am happy I left
Pros
Lots of Benefits
Cons
No conciliation between life and work, a lot of Passive Aggressiveness and no logic whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, fun workplace
Starbucks Barista (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 December 2017
If you enjoy being in a busy team based environment this is the job for you! You never stop moving working here, but you get free coffee every two hours to fuel your pace! Also free take home coffee every week and fun coworkers. Decent benefits..... scheduling hours...... its either feast or famine. Either we have too much staff and cant give enough hours to everyone, or too few and you have way too many hours. But well that's life!
Pros
free coffee
Cons
inconsistent hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun close family at work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB7 December 2017
Starbucks is a very wonderful place to work for a young adult. The work culture at Starbucks has been the moist interesting over any job I have had. The management was very kind and helpful as well. They tend to make you feel like some sort of parental figure.
Pros
Good work environment.
Cons
Customer service tends to put a stress on the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and educational experience
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC7 December 2017
The company strives to be environmentally friendly and ensure all aspects of the business, from crop growing to customer service, is directed with sustainable and fair practices.

Management works to provide ongoing education and a positive environment for the Partners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most ideal management environment to work in
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB5 December 2017
This company takes care of there workers like no other, ideal part time job to have full time benifits, great coach culture and support on all ends. It starts with the the people that make it happen and that's what I belive in..
Pros
Mark outs
Cons
Have to maintain volunteer hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, high stress and somewhat free environment.
Barista (Current Employee) –  Fraser station5 December 2017
It's a good job for people that love people. People who enjoy/ handle fast pace, high stress environment. I had not so great experience due to the fact that I was part time and constantly being asked to switch shifts. It's great if you need hours and you're guaranteed to get them.
Pros
Free drinks when working, discounts off everything
Cons
Can be disorganized, stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 December 2017
Way to go corporate North America for underpaying undervaluing staff. I would never recommend this place to my worst enemy.or anything or anyone. Try other places for work if you have s moment.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but demanding
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC4 December 2017
typically I will run the shift, order supplies, organize where baristas are, deal with money such as balancing the safe and tills. i also take orders and make beverages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a great place
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2017
Great place overall but management needs some attention. Customers are great and co-workers make you feel like you're apart of a family, but management will have u feeling empty on false promises.
Pros
Great people, Great benefits
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough at first, but the partners, guests, and the job itself made all of it worth it!
Barista (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC2 December 2017
I found it to be tough in the beginning, very fast-paced and demanding, but the partners quickly became family, all of the regulars became a part of everyday, and the job got easier with practice and some dedication, and the whole experience became more fun.
Pros
The family dynamic between partners and guests, a support team that is patient, supportive and welcoming, and getting to try all of the different coffees and pairings.
Cons
It was really tough and demanding in the beginning, fast-paced and both mentally and physically exhausting for the first while.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Starbucks?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company and job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC1 December 2017
I loved my two years at Starbucks - It was so great company and culture to work for. I always had so much fun but also worked very hard.

I would definitely recommend a job at Starbucks for anyone who is working while going through school or if you need a flexible job.

the only negative was having a HORRIBLE district manager Taralynn Hall was the worst district manager i've ever had. Completely incompetent.
Pros
benefits, fun work, lots of opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shift Supervisor
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC1 December 2017
Excellente compagnie où l'employé à la possibilité de développer différentes compétences en gestion.
Pros
tous les avantages sociaux, la flexibilité des horaires
Cons
some managers, some district manager who did not fit with the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun flexible job for the person who loves new challenges
Barista/Barista Trainer (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC1 December 2017
loved working at starbucks. the hours when i first started were amazing, there was so much to learn and do, i was never bored. it seems like a lot to take in when you start... but i promise you pick it up really fast.
you meet so many new fresh faces every day, on top of regulars... building relationships and learning orders is always so satisfying. i always found my coworkers were very supportive and fun to work with, management was always on top of everything behind the scenes to keep it all running smoothly.

best of luck to those applying!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement
Caissier (Former Employee) –  Laval (53)28 November 2017
excellent emploi, cependant difficile d'aller chercher plus que 12h par semaine (uniquement 3 employés sur 22 avaient plus que 20h/semaine)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Family work enviorment
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC28 November 2017
Fun to come to work each day and to work with such lovely partners and have the chance to speak with amazing customers.
Starbucks offers such great benefits for its employees that what you feel you put into the company they give back.
Pros
Work partners become Family
Cons
Management is constantly moving locations. Leaving you always with new managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Thompson, MB28 November 2017
liked working at starbucks.....
like all drinks over there...
i like cleanliness....
lots cleaning required every day schedule....
pay was just basic ....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
avantages sociaux
Superviseur (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC28 November 2017
des bon avantages et assurances. belle équipe et beaux clients réguliers
Pros
mark-out
Cons
pause pas prioritaire selon le superviseur. beaucoup de changement de gestion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC26 November 2017
Learning to make all the drinks and become a Barista was very fun. Interacting with guests and knowing the menu and up selling drinks or adding on a pastry always came in handy as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
somewhat joyful
Barista (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 November 2017
You get to learn new skills. The management could be improved. The wages are nothing special. The hours are close to none and they pick favorites. The benefits are good though and workers become life long friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starbucks
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 November 2017
Fun work environment and positive people working together. Health benefits as well as support from partners and the company. Recommended for a part-time job.
Pros
Proper breaks, benefits, great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport