Staples Employee Reviews

Found 913 reviews matching the search See all 9,573 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moving forward
Tech Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 December 2018
They we well to work with and the managers at the time were quite responsible. I got to move into the Tech repair side and be part time retail floor. The hardest part was dealing with people but if you can learn that, you can apply it anywhere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic environment
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC8 December 2018
Pressure, pressure, pressure. Toxic environment to work in. Management has gone down. They don’t do what they say they would. Long hours, little pay. They pay their tech guys min. Wage and expect the world from their people.
Pros
None
Cons
Low wages, high expectations, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Copy Lead
Copy Lead (Former Employee) –  Williams Lake, BC7 December 2018
the responsibility of sales was hard to achieve as the company required on a monthly basis 5,000 per month on the average was 4500 at the time. Staples believed in at the time comparing small sales as penny customers and that it was a waste of time dealing with clients that were not going to generate large sales. I strongly believed in all customers were worth our time, and considering that the copy center was all about paper. Penny customers were to use the self serve with no help from staff.
Pros
worked in an eviroment of customers
Cons
dealing with managements disapproval of the customers you were to serve
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!
Technology Sales Rep/Technician (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 December 2018
I enjoyed working for staples, It was a great and fun work environment. The only downside is i felt more at home repair the computers then selling but they post hours to what you sell in the previous days.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, happy environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 December 2018
The people who worked at the Staples that I worked at twice were always very nice and cared a lot about what they were doing. For me a typical day at work was stalking shelves and helping customers find products. The only negative side of the job was the potential of being robbed by the vey aggressive gang that hits up the store that I worked at, lucky I never had to encounter them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staples
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ON28 November 2018
Very unprofessional place to work and generally displeased, the management is known for switching shifts the night before and acting as if you missed a shift you should have had. The associates you work with are under-trained and no one understands the system or stock, constantly have to read off a script and up-sell things or risk scolding regardless of if the customer needs it, (EX. Premium Paper). You learn how to sell well, and attach items that someone may need, catagorize people or their jobs and items they shop for. Never had stock for anything regardless.
Pros
Lots of gimmicks, get to play with tons of toys.
Cons
Outdated systems and poor tech. Frusturating to shop with and to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer sales associate as a student
Volunteer Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON23 November 2018
I worked here for the summer as a student in the co-op program, there was not much learning on the job other than basic organization and how to quickly identify and sort similar looking items based on SKU numbers. A nice place if you do not mind standing for long hours and can lift heavy objects with ease.
Pros
helpful coworkers
Cons
music gets repetitive, standing long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tres agréable
Chef caissière (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC21 November 2018
vraiment instructif. ambiance de travail relaxe. merci
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with Simple Work
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS2 November 2018
The workers really make this job enjoyable. The friendly and uplifting natures of everyone who works here are infectious and help me get through the day. Typical day at work requires you to show up 15 minutes before your shift, even though they don't pay you for that, and it's even harder when you have to show up 2 hours before the store even opens to do stock.
Pros
Occassionaly Staff Parties, Good People
Cons
Early Mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Miramichi, NB1 November 2018
I did not work for the company to long, but what I can say, is the people I worked for and with were amazing, it was like working with another family. I was afforded amazing opportunities with them, and with the position I held I was able to learn a lot of thing I would have never know when it came to electronics and computer programs and services.
Pros
Great people, Great opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-Workers
Tech Sales / Technician (Former Employee) –  Owen Sound, ON31 October 2018
Everyone working there has a lot of fun and laid back a majority of the time. A little unnecessary pressure to sell warranty plans. Great for students looking to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK31 October 2018
was a great company to work for. Fast paced and overwhelming at times. Wonderful people to work with, closed now though so no chance working in the call center environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Regional Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Staples, ON23 October 2018
Staples was a great company to work for....The people that I worked with were like family. Good work-life balance for the position that I held. Nice collegues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coop placement
Technology Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ON22 October 2018
It was great working there and gaining the experience and while i understand that i was just a student i was severely limited to what i was allowed to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Administrative assistant/ cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS22 October 2018
We always started the day with our team meeting. Always busy and always helpful. We had people trained in different departments so we could all help out when needed.
Pros
associate appreciation days
Cons
long days on hard floors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
INVENTORY CONTROL SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Corner Brook, NL21 October 2018
Good atmosphere and good people working there. Low salaries which means a higher turnover rate for employees. In store management are very involved and work with the staff to get jobs done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Belle ambiance entre employés mais des superieurs qui mettent la pression sur la vente et vendeurs exagérateurs
vendeur (Current Employee) –  Canada16 October 2018
Au niveau ambiance de travail c'est très bien, les employés son souriant et sympathique. Cependant quand on en vient à la vente et les heures de travail, c'est là que tout le charme s'éteint.

Au niveau des heures je n'ai pas trop de problème à avoir 30 heures et plus, cependant là où est le problème est la pause. Pour moi les pauses sont utiles pour le repos et permettre de se déstresser. Avoir sa pause diner, pas de problème les supérieures se sentent obligés de la donner, d'ailleurs c'est seulement un 30 min je trouve ça court mais c'est plus un avis personnel. L’autre souci provient aux pauses de 15 minutes, ayant en général des journées complètes, j’ai droit à 2 pauses. Les superviseurs ne sont jamais capables de te les donner, ils cherchent toujours des excuses pour ne pas te les laisser prendre, même si nous sommes 2 ou 3 vendeurs présents sur le plancher.

En ce qui concerne la vente, qui d'ailleurs il affiche un papier des résultats des ventes de tous les vendeurs, les superviseurs mettent la pression sur les vendeurs les moins performants et ce même si on n’est pas à la commission. Ils donnent de bons conseils au début ce qui est très bien pour améliorer nos ventes, mais à chaque fois que vous allez effectuer une vente à 1 (exemple juste un ordi sans rien d'autre) ils vont être mécontents, et vous demandent d'essayer de reconvaincre le client en lui parlant du plan de service et de la configuration, alors que vous l'avez déjà fait...pour moi c'est presque du harcèlement pour le client. Le directeur général de mon magasin n'est jamais content des ventes qu'on fait,
  more... à moins de vendre le plan ou un paquet d'article avec le produit qu'on vend. J'ai vendu un mac à 2000$ sans configuration ou Apple care n'y rien d'autre et j'ai même eu de l'aide du vendeur le plus ancien du magasin et le client ne voulait que le mac, ce que je trouve bien correct c'est son droit. Par la suite lorsque le directeur général a su cela, il a commencé à demander "lui avez-vous parlez de la configuration, du Apple care, souris, clavier, etc…'' lorsqu'on lui a dit que nous lui avons tout proposé il a répondu ''c'est plat fait longtemps qu’on n’a pas vendu un mac et on le vend sans rien''

Les plans de service, la compagnie essaie de faire croire aux clients que ce n’est pas une garantie prolongée, mais les clients ne sont pas stupides ils savent bien que c'est le cas, staples donne simplement un autre nom au garantie prolongée. De plus je tiens à dire que les vendeurs ne vous disent pas tout sur ces plans ils cachent souvent des petites choses. Exemple plan de service d'ordinateur de 3 ans, la première année on fait affaire avec la compagnie qui a fait l'ordinateur mais ça ils ne le disent pas quand il vous le présente à la vente. Je sais que au moins le client peut faire affaire avec le magasin au moins, et lui évité d'avoir à appeler la compagnie mais quand même, ils ne disent pas ça et vont vous dire que le plan est pour 3 ans mais en fait le plan commence après la première année. De plus sur les imprimante HP ils vous disent que si vous ne prenez pas le plan de 2 ans vous devrez faire affaire avec HP mais c'est faux le magasin a une entente avec HP et ce même sans le plan. Si vous revenez en magasin ils vont vous échanger l'imprimante contre UNE NEUVE il envoie votre imprimante à HP pour réparation. Cependant HP eux envoie une imprimante neuve au même moment pour que 1 semaine plus tard vous recevez votre imprimante toute neuve et vont vous faire croire que c'est votre ancienne imprimante et qu'elle a été seulement réparée, et que vous êtes mieux de prendre le plan puisqu'elle peut rebriser. Ces plans service sont surtout bon si vous êtes insécure parce que regarder sur le net concernant les garanties prolongées sur le site protégez- vous, vous verrez que ce n’est pas très utile et que la plupart des choses brise bien après les garanties prolongées.

Les vendeurs exagèrent souvent pour pouvoir avoir une meilleure vente. Pour les imprimantes laser la cartouche à une capacité de 700 pages mais les vendeurs de mon magasin disent que c’est calculer au 5 ou 10 % de la page donc seulement environ 70 pages.5 à 10 % parce que mon superviseur ce contredit lui-même disant à 1 vendeur 5% et l'autre 10%.Alors que j'ai eu quelques clients qui eux m’ont dit qu'il imprimait souvent et que la cartouche de départ il en ont fait beaucoup de page pas seulement 70.Un des clients ma même dit qu'il a fait environ 500 pages si ce n’est pas plus pas plus.

Mon superviseur m’a même avoué que lui et le vendeur le plus ancien, puisqu'ils sont là depuis longtemps, ils reconnaissent les clients qui n'achètent pas beaucoup d'articles avec leurs produits (exemple encore une fois s'il achète un ordi il ne prenne que l'ordi pas de plan et autre produit) donc souvent ils disent au nouveau vendeur d'aller servir ces clients là parce qu'ils ne veulent pas baisser leurs résultats de vente. Non seulement je trouve que c'est ridicule puisque tous les clients devraient être traités de façon égale mais en plus en faisant cela il n'aide pas les nouveaux qui essaient de tout donner pour faire de bon résultat de vente, comme moi qui vraiment me donne a 110% tous les jours. Surtout qu'avec leurs expériences peut être arriveraient- t-il à convaincre le client d'acheter un peu plus pour que le superviseur soit content. Mais ils s'inquiètent beaucoup plus pour leur résultat de vente.

Pour conclure belle ambiance de travail entre collègue mais pression sur les ventes, des vendeurs qui ne disent pas tout et sont même prêt à mentir sur certains détails pour pousser la vente. Les clients sont perçus plus comme de l'argent, les vendeurs et superviseurs ne cherchent pas nécessairement à combler les besoins du client ils veulent toujours vendre un peu plus pour leur résultat de vente.

Deux conseils pour les clients, dites-vous que le vendeur est là pour vous conseiller mais à un certain point de la vente il vous parlera de chose que vous n’avez pas nécessairement besoin et concernant les ordinateurs et tablettes, renseignez-vous à un ami ou quelqu'un qui travaille dans l'informatique (si possible) avant d'aller au staples (bureau en gros) payer la configuration 150 $ ou 100$.
  less
Pros
Collègues sympathiques et souriants
Cons
pression de vente, pause difficile à recevoir, mensonges aux clients, certains services très coûteux qui ne sont pas nécessairement difficiles à faire par soi même
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Tech Associate (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON6 October 2018
Great people to work with. Very knowledgeable and friendly. The associates are always happy to give good information, and answer any questions the customers have.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
agreable
l'aide d'un chariot élévateur manuelle (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 October 2018
un bon environnement de travail, professionnel, beaucoup d'heures
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours with room to grow
SHIPPER/RECEIVER (Current Employee) –  Toronto,ON3 October 2018
Work is highly dependent on managers at any given time. The company is open to internal development, so hard work is rewarded. Professional environment given that it is in customer service.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Staples. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 9,576 reviews
52.4K
43K
32.6K
2907
1717

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture