Stanley Black & Decker Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 1,352 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good Work Experience
Multiple positions (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON9 September 2016
I learned a lot of transferable skills such as communication, time management, mentoring and leadership as well as hard skills like Warehouse management system, RF scanning technology. Co-workers are fun and friendly. Very Multi-cultural environment! Hardest part is commute. Most enjoyable part: being able to work in a positive environment (most of the time) music is often allowed. Management is wishy washy, too many people trying to be or act like management as well mixed messages get sent. Communication on that level is not that great.
Pros
Provided free lunches, and incentives for doing OT (even above the pay)
Cons
day shift is very early for a commuter, punch clock system.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very large shareholder driven company
Demand Planner (Former Employee) –  Decker, MB22 August 2016
Good freedom to develop business models to suit the products / Customers under your responsibility.

Developed better forecasting skills through experiences gained there.
Pros
good professional company, benefits and compensation
Cons
people are not the companies priority
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory at best
Canadian Finance (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 August 2016
The Mississauga head office is generally a so-so place to work at.

Pros include decent co-workers, compensation generally in-line with the market and a brand name that external companies recognize

Cons are a bit longer....
-Incredibly incompetent senior management team, specifically in the Canadian finance department with top management generally clueless about even the simplest of finance concepts, along with top management clearly playing favourites (ignoring everyone else)
-US counterparts can be a handful to deal with
-General lack of direction/motivation/long-term vision within the organization...seems to be a month by month operation (strat plan is a joke)
-Forget about career progression here; company is pretty lean and has not been growing notably for a number of years (layoffs, on the other hand, happen on a fairly regular basis)

Long story short, I don't regret my time here but I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone who is competent and has the ability to look for something better at a more dynamic organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very welcoming environment with great flexability.
Distribution Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 May 2016
The work pace can be very face paced but the ability to balance the job so easily with my personal life made it a very easy environment to adapt to.
Although much of the work can have very little interaction with other employees there is a profound sense that everyone is working together.
Pros
Great atmosphere and great flexability
Cons
Heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entreprise avec un grand roulement de personnel
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  St.-Hyacinthe, QC18 April 2016
J'ai travaillé à cet endroit quelques années et je n ai jamais vue un aussi grand roulement de personnel à chaque mois et c'est un endroit non syndiqué donc tout leurs est permis ...
Cons
Non syndiqué
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work in
Production & Projects Associate (Former Employee) –  Saint-Hyacinthe, QC31 March 2016
Good company, to work for if you live near by and if your are willing to do a manual labor and sometimes very stressful
Pros
good price on tools
Cons
Old equipment to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 February 2016
Great environment to work in.
Great team work and management.
It was definitely a place that I was looking forward to retiring with.
your efforts and great work were always recognized.
Wish there were more room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and active paced environment
Customer Relations Manager (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 February 2016
Very hands on experience and a lot of job responsibilities to help foster individual growth. Co-workers are friendly and the company has occasional special events.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
etre polyvalent
Technicien (Former Employee) –  Decker, MB23 August 2015
une journer de devait etre a la caisse, et l'autre a la reparation d outils.
Pros
tres bonne renumeration et assurence
Cons
parfois on avait des difficulté avec le système informatique
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mauvais environnement de travail
demouleur; opérateur; emballeur (Former Employee) –  saint-hyacinthe,QC9 June 2015
-mauvais environnement de travail, résultat ils sont en quête perpétuelle d'employés
-condition de travail pas securitaire
-aucune possibilité d'avancement
(surtout quand on est minorité visible)
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, great co-workers
Truck unloader (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON16 April 2015
I would start my day with a nice cup off coffee, and show up for work around 6:00am sometimes even earlier. If I am early, I would wait in the eating room and drink my coffee. When my shift starts, I would then goto the back of the warehouse, and see how many trucks we had to unload for the day. We would then start unloading products off of the trucks and stacking them on skids. My co-workers were all friendly people and it made the days go by quicker. The hardest part of the job, would be when you were at the back of the truck it would get really hot. The most enjoyable part would be that we could listen to the radio while we unloaded the trucks and that would also make the days go by quicker.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Heavy products would take much more time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement travail agréable
Montréal, QC (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 March 2015
environnement travail agréable
opportunité de développement
Pros
collaborateurs
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful
Field Marketing Coordinator (FMC) - Edmonton (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 March 2015
re-structures regularly, and if you haven't proven your worth in 6 months, then your likely to be let go. Didn't enjoy my time at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People friendly work environment
Service Administrator (Former Employee) –  Decker, MB4 February 2015
A good mix of people, training was provided and learned a lot. Busy environment. The only problem with this company is stayed on too long on a temporary assignment, no benefits, pay was low scale and work load was very challenging at times.
Nice People, a U.S. based company. They are currently ironing out Canada's location at the moment and headcount is being looked at and downsizing. Enjoyed my three years at Stanley. I enjoyed working with Distributors and meeting their needs.
Pros
Busy Environment which I enjoy
Cons
Not Hiring Full Time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
had fun on night shift
Fork Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON31 October 2014
Good work place
management was helpfull on the shift
co-workers where helpfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
la plus mauvaise entreprise ou travailler
demouleurs (Current Employee) –  saint hyacinthe16 October 2014
-non respect des employés
-salaire reflete pas les efforts demandés
-mauvaise organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
WAREHOUSE TECHNICIAN / FORKLIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Brockville, ON24 September 2014
Great environment, co-workers and supervisors very helpful, always busy and fun place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An energetic, safe environment in which to work
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, On21 May 2014
A company that had periodic and regular corporate and division information sessions between management and staff. Annual confidential performance review between staff and management with open input and dialogue. Health and safety of staff is key. Staff work together as teams of friends supporting each other for the success of projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fait plusieur poste
Journalière préposée a l'expédition et réception (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 March 2014
dépens du poste
plusieurs opportunité
aucun aspect difficile
ils était tous agréable
Pros
avancement rapide
Cons
aucune
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive with a great management team
Receiver (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON2 January 2014
shipments come in early in the morning and we are given the purchase orders to receive the shipment.

I've learned to maintain focus at all times at a fast paced work place.

Our management team is great. They allow us to work independently.

Coworkers can be challenging at times, but in general, they are great workers.

Hardest part of the job is giving 110% for a low income wage.

The most enjoyable part is knowing at the end of the shift that I've done an excellent job.
Pros
Steady work
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stanley Black & Decker. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 1,352 reviews
5408
4437
3296
2113
198

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture