St. Joseph's Health Care Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient ratios are unrealistic
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Parkwood11 May 2019
Short staffed, high turnover, not enough training. Good management depending on what floor your on.

Some floors are very dirty.
Need smaller patient ratios for everyones safety or at the very least more psws to help. PSWs are not well utilized and are very important.

Staff not protected when it comes to violent patients

Great pay and pension.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm working family atmosphere
Clerical Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  London, ON3 February 2019
33 years and still enjoying working for St. Joseph's Hospital, London. Many long term employees, speaks volumes about the organization. It is a beautiful place to work, because of the people I work with and the interaction with the patients. Very rewarding!
Pros
The family atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another number
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  London, ON14 January 2019
At St Joe's you are treated as a number not as a human being. Pay is decent so it keeps you around but there is a definite lack of respect for employees and although we are union, do not expect them to fight for your rights because they wont.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LTC home in Guelph
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 November 2018
good management, great pay and friendly staff.
More days short staffed especially over the summer which makes it difficult to care for the residents, all around good place to work and gain experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to grow
Psw (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON31 October 2018
I enjoy working with a team as well as on my own. I also enjoy working with people with different needs. I like that I can make their day so much brighter when I can give them the time and proper care that they need. Even just taking a few mins to talk to them.
Pros
Working with a great team
Cons
Management doesn’t support staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits but poor management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON22 August 2018
Busy hospital office environment but management is poor. Workplace culture is not very good. A lot of pettiness and the management ruled by fear which did not make for a healthy workplace environment,

On the other hand salary and benefits are generally quite good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  London, ON22 August 2018
I very much enjoyed my nursing career with SJHC. My Clerk role in last 2 years was the opposite response from management due to my gender (not female)
Pros
Great pension, Work environment, education, income and support
Cons
Gender biased in the role as Clerk if you are not female
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
CSR-Finance (Current Employee) –  London, ON15 August 2018
An ideal place of work for anyone. Great. Awesome Boss and great benefits and pension. Enjoy my day to day and love my coworkers. Like family. Very happy here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rpn
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 August 2018
Provided nursing care along with medication to patients. provided patients with palliative care/comfort measures. admininstered medication. Initated IV insertion, foley catheters
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for work/life balance
Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, ON24 July 2018
People get paid more at LHSC but the work culture (from what I hear) is much better here at SJHC. The organization leaders live by the words Respect, Excellence, and Compassion which makes it a great place to work
Pros
flexible hours, good location
Cons
Can't think of any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Primary Care Partner (Rehabilitation) (Former Employee) –  London, ON11 July 2018
Good environment, great people. Fair workload. Friendly management. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with different people and learning new techniques and information on Stroke, Amputee and Spinal Cord Rehab.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no casual positions for RPN
RPN (Current Employee) –  London, ON3 July 2018
enjoy the work but expectations for availability is difficult,
pay is competitive
enjoy the patients and families
hardest part is time management
good workplace culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SJHH is a great place to work with great people and great culture.
Manager Medical Device Reprocessing (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 April 2018
The organization is regularly looking to advance innovation with the help of the front line. It is all about the patient experience and how we can help them have the best journey possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work, bad enviroment
Building equipment operator (Former Employee) –  London, ON19 April 2018
not a good place to work with the politics. The environment was not safe. For the most part the job was easy and the pay was moderate. This is a great job for anyone starting to retire.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Registered Practical Nurse (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 April 2018
Great place to work and I enjoy the staff and all the educational opportunities. Close to home, I love my department and all the staff .
I really feel St.Joseph's makes a huge positive impact on the community.
Pros
Close to home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Work
Administrative Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON29 January 2018
Always interesting and friendly. Management needs work though. There are so many different opportunities to work in various areas of the hospital. Every days brings a new challenge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Security (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON26 January 2018
Violence in Healthcare is dramatically increased
Dangerous to work here
The corporate climate is poor and the senior leadership are out of touch with front line staff
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Dangerous
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great company to work for.
RPN (Former Employee) –  London, ON18 January 2018
Working in Mental health was quite a challenging career, but very satisfying as well. I had lots of opportunities to further skills pertaining to mental health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, caring staff
Central Scheduler (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 January 2018
I have made a lot of good friends at St.Joseph's and have had the opportunity to learn a lot as well. I have been lucky enough to train in several departments and improve my skills with each one.
Pros
people
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Personal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 November 2017
St josephs was a great environment to learn skills and gain practical health care skills, I definitely recommend anyone who loves working in the geriatrics field to pursue a career and job placement at this facility, down fall there wasn't much room to grow in career choices, hours were slim and working to gain sonority was difficult for a single mother.
Pros
gain skill sets
Cons
fight for hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Joseph's Health Care. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 70 reviews
531
420
314
23
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture

St. Joseph's Health Care Reviews by Location