St John Ambulance Employee Reviews

Found 75 reviews matching the search See all 426 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It had the best of times and the worst of times.
volunteer instructor (Former Employee) –  British Columbia19 February 2019
Instructing programs can be challenging as group dynamics and required time lines can often go astray.
Average 9 hr day.
Equipment is generally good condition, fellow contractors are pleasant and staff at branch ranged from stellar to dismal.
I learned that provincial often didn't hold true to their word when it came to communications. Often never replied to when questions asked.


On the volunteering side, it was great to get advanced training for free.(although a lot of people sign up get the training and cheat the system).
Went to a good many events I would never had gone to on my own.
The leadership when I was in was often a confused, arrogant, vain. New ideas and recommendations not generally accepted.
Did not hold true to their policy of abuse/respect in the organization.

Pathetic recognition for members going above and beyond the call.

It has apparently gotten better. But I won't go back.
Pros
Meeting new people and groups.
Cons
22% below national average on pay, No raises in sight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Client Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB28 January 2019
Treat their employees like they are disposable, revolving door, very unprofessional inappropriate management and heard nothing but bad things from everyone who works there and how they are treated. It's absolutely disgusting how they treat their employees I've never seen anything like it in my whole working experience. Don't apply to work at St. John Ambulance in Winnipeg if you want to feel valued as an employee. Manager trash talks other employees in front of staff and has nothing but negative things to say about everything and everyone. Don't even know how she still has a job.
Pros
None
Cons
Mostly Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
MFR (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 November 2018
Great chance to help people in need and as well great chance to build up first aid skills. They only require a minimum amount of hours volunteered and the hours are hours you choose. Very excellent company, tons of history, great staff, and such a good time.
Pros
freedom to choose hours
Cons
sometimes events get filled up fast
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a p/t contract maintenance job
Maintenance Sub Contractor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 November 2018
Really enjoyed what I did. The hours were very flexible and was allowed to work on my own. No security. The lowest bid always won and the quality of work was never taken into consideration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Manager Finance & Admin. (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK9 November 2018
Good place to work. Provide some work life balance by allowing flexible hours. It is a not for profit organization helping Canadians to be safe at work, home and play.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small office environment which can cause friction at times
Receptionist / Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Niagara, ON19 September 2018
Awesome place to work, but being contracted one could be let go without cause with a two week notice or pay off contract. Looking for something a little more stable.
Pros
Laid back atmosphere
Cons
Not a stable job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
corporal (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 August 2018
very nice people and environment. it is volunteer only not a paid work. we provide first aid. it is a lot of fun. you can get higher positions and help lead as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with BBQ
Receptionist/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Regina, SK16 July 2018
productive
fun and enjoyable workplace
receiving phone calls registering people for different courses.
handling inquiries on phone and in-person
love to work on alliance..its very easy to operate it .
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping others and free lunches
Medical First Responder (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ON11 June 2018
The most enjoyable part of volunteering with St. John Ambulance is meeting lots of different people and helping others when our assistance is needed. I also enjoy the free lunches that some of the event organisers provide to us.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible- Do not volunteer with this organization
SJA volunteer (Current Employee) –  MONTREAL6 June 2018
I worked with SJA for over a year and was a victim of bullying and harassment by other workers. The organization is terribly unorganized. Run by people who have no idea what they are doing and give minimum effort. STAY AWAY
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
First Aid Attendant (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC24 May 2018
free work but for good reasons and as many hours you'd like. Needs a bit more organizing.Is a chance to get paid if you become a part of administration.
Pros
experience
Cons
free
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reviews from February 2018 Survey Responses
Course Instructor (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON1 May 2018
"The trainer was very informative, enthusiastic and demonstrated techniques well."


"Dominic! Great trainer. Lots of great energy and feedback!"


"Excellent customer service and knowledgeable."
Pros
Lots of visual aids and demonstrations to aid with learning.
Cons
A lot of information to learn in a 1-2 day course.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent organization to be part of.
Stores Officer & Advanced Medical First Responder (Current Employee) –  Brockville, ON22 March 2018
I've been volunteering for this organization for almost 20 years. The experiences I have accumulated over the years could not be taught within a classroom only.
Pros
Plenty of experience.
Cons
Volunteer basis only.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. Thomas, ON15 February 2018
I love teaching first-aid and meeting new people. Classes were always enjoyable. As an instructor, I felt pride in helping people learn skills needed to save lives.
Pros
Self employed
Cons
Part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice but lonely
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  St.Johns9 February 2018
Enjoyed working her . Learned a lot of different things and was trained in first aid and CPR. did not like that I was alone most days.
The person in charge needed better management skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
First Aid & CPR (AED) Instructor (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB20 January 2018
Great Company, lots of opportunity for advancement and additional training.

Opportunities for volunteering and community service

Excellent benefitsm
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible work environment, extremely supportive
Business/Fund Development Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB15 January 2018
During my time at St. John, I always started the day looking forward to going to work. The people were not only outstanding, but happy to help a new time Summer Student.

I would highly recommend this job for any person looking for a upbeat job with wonderful people.
Pros
Sociable, underling, good hours, travel
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunity, wonderful atmosphere
Volunteer, Toronto2015 Pan Am Games (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON12 January 2018
Volunteered during the Toronto2015 Pan Am Games - the volunteers were absolutely phenomenal staff, some of whom spent two years preparing for the games. Great coworkers, great environment. Would relish the opportunity to volunteer again.
Pros
Great networking, great staff, doing something good for the city
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a frustrating job
Administrative/Sales (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC12 January 2018
I would not work for them again as I found the upper management not very good or helpful. I enjoyed the people I worked with and learned lots. This was 9 years agao
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Contract work
First Aid Instructor (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL17 October 2017
Great place, although they are non-profit so it's only contract work. The pay is fine based on a per-day, I wish they would offer full time position. A "typical day" depends greatly on the course you are teaching. It could be a One day course for 6 hours and up to 8hrs a day for a week.
Pros
Great workinghours
Cons
Limited full time roles
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St John Ambulance. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 426 reviews
5199
4114
345
231
137

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture