SSP America Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour days most days
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ21 June 2018
The employees have a union, this protects them from bad managers.
The employees can call off by email two hours before there shift.
This leads to short staffing.
On multiple shifts I was the dishwasher and cook. for a 3 cook line and a 2 person dish room.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for (ORD Location)
Server (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL18 June 2018
Manegment was bad. Didn’t know what they were doing themselves. Company opened a new restaurant but didn’t have all the materials needed. IE silverware, cups, condiments etc
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purgatory
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN18 June 2018
Extremely low pay, extremely unusual hours, next to no supervision, and complete ability to basically whatever you want. I would recommend working here if you want to do what ever you want while at work and get paid a very paltry salary for doing it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste your time
Server (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL16 June 2018
I've been looking for another job there are days we don't get breaks not enough workers to cover the shift plus are over worked with no appreciation. The managers don't care about you or your personal life hours sucks and never get off on time.
Pros
Drink soda and water for free
Cons
No breaks long shifts over worked not enough staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So Sad..
REGIONAL HR OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CA11 June 2018
Company grew too fast in CA and hasn't quite figured out how important HR is to their overall success. Managers are all very pleasant to work with, however everyone is very underpaid (except for the Director). Feels a little like a "pyramid scheme" because the top makes all the money and bonuses and the bottom is pushed very hard just to earn the bare minimum.
Pros
Good People - Fun Environment
Cons
Union Environment - out of control
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright
Cook (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ8 May 2018
Your day depended on which manager you got. Many people dont care for the job so they dont take it seriously. It gets stresful and sometimes its dead so
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they were a good company.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL8 May 2018
they had good pay. good benefits, they were a good company to work for. I was able to express my cooking. I was able to gain more experience. I prepped, cleaned and cooked, the staff was easy and nice to work with,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL2 May 2018
You are treated with respect and as an important part of the company no matter your role. They treat you as a person instead of just a body. I never dread coming to work.
Pros
Great management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful company
Kitchen Manager (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CA27 April 2018
I'm surprised that we haven't been shut down. By far the worst company ever. They give us unreal expectations with inadequate resources. We are absurdly understaffed, and everyone suffers.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment in the airport
Arizona - Cashier (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ23 April 2018
I really had lots of fun working with my coworkers. My manager was very cool. It’s a very fast pased type of environment. They pay was ok i also liked the fact that it was in the airport.
Pros
Half off on any ssp restaurant in the airport
Cons
On your feet all day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of discipline
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Madison, WI19 April 2018
Most of the managers don't really discipline anyone for anything they do wrong. So, a lot of people get away with things that most other places wouldn't.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Opportunities
Payroll Analyst (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ9 April 2018
Regional Director has anger issues but overall okay place to work. I worked at the commissary where employees prepped food for airport operations. I enjoyed most the people I worked with.
Pros
Free Lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exciting
Food Runner (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR30 March 2018
cool place to work at .working in a airport environment was great different people everyday phx also has a airforce base so u get to see fighter jets take off and land as well as commercial flights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team efforts
Barista (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CA27 March 2018
Hard work pays off. Team work and they help with life skills. The also are a great team of employees. They give you free lunches on days that you work.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks and favortism
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ssp lets the lazy workers do nothing and the hard workers do everything, lack of management.
Utilities Worker (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZ21 March 2018
I used to love working for ssp until I got bereated every day by a certain manager for not working for 3 co-workers jobs every day. God bless ssp America, I would love to come back to four Peaks. Thanks
Pros
Free food
Cons
Working bu muself
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work inviroment
Restaurant/ Warehouse Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San DIego CA17 March 2018
Its great place to work at. everyone is good to work with , they help you out and have many different hours to work o fits great for all people. I did not want to leave.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little Pay, little adavancement
Data Specialist (Current Employee) –  Lansdowne, VA5 March 2018
A typical day involves using software that crashes regularly

There aren't any real standards for work

Hard to get fired

Underpaid, if paid at all
Pros
hard to get fired
Cons
you work with people that are hard to fire, and their work shows it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management is horrid
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR5 March 2018
I am sure that other SSP locations are probably not run the same way, but wow it was not how I thought a major corporation would run things. I would work for another location but never again at PDX.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Customer Service Representative, cashier (Current Employee) –  Jamaica, NY26 February 2018
one of the main responsibilities as a cashier is to count money in cash drawers at the beginning of shifts to ensure that amounts are correct and that there is adequate change but the most enjoyable part of the job was sometimes sacrificing customer service for conversation which made time goes by faster. The hardest part of the job is when there is a delay among a few airlines because at that time passengers are very frustrated and confused so you have to be very kind and polite to them.
Pros
employee discount on lunch
Cons
20 minute break
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pace environment
Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL25 February 2018
Alot of growing and successful open minded people wprk here its fun and u get to met alot of people do to the fact its in the airport this also means there is a lot of ways to movie up to higher paying jobs
Pros
Its a job
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SSP America. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 230 reviews
552
457
349
233
139

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.0Culture