Sport Chek Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Direct Order fulfillment (Current Employee) –  Cambridge, ON10 January 2018
I enjoy my time there. Co-workers are friendly and shoppers are interested in sports, in the hard goods section. Clothing is a bit different... Shoppers aren't as athletically inspired...
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Seasonal demand
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Discount
Cashier, inventory (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON2 January 2018
Everyone that I worked with there was really nice and helpful when it came to teaching you how to do things and how things worked. The employee discount was also amazing and really is what made the job worth it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Part-Time
Sales Associate (Full-Time Team Lead) (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 January 2018
Full - time requires more work than you get paid for depending on location. SQ1 was a fantastic location and i did feel valued. Unfortunately it was too far for me to commute once I moved. Job quality is highly location dependant.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Understaffed at times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I gained excellent customer service experience
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge29 December 2017
I enjoyed working at Sport Chek. The hours were not great as they have so many part time employees, but they were good to work around my school schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sport check
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 December 2017
helping customers out or putting new items out on the floor, i learned how to gain my communication skills, the management team was amazing due to the fact they would always be there to help, the hardest part of the job was restocking some shifts due to many tacos coming in for seasonal wear, the most enjoyable part of the job was working as a team because the whole team for sportchek was great
Pros
50% off clothes
Cons
restocking when stock comes in
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers, management issues
Cashier (Current Employee) –  London, ON11 December 2017
Managers are rarely on the same page. Great work environment with people around the same age working. The job itself is simple with decent training before you start. The discount is cost of the item plus 10%, but is capped at $2000 for part time, $4000 for full time.
Pros
Discount, flexible hours
Cons
Not a lot of hours available, management issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with caring management team.
Softgoods/Footwear Manager (Current Employee) –  Pickering, ON6 December 2017
This particular location had a management team that cared about their employees well-being. They were often able to schedule hours based on employee availability, which can be quite challenging in retail. Although, due to restrictions from upper management, we were often understaffed.

The salary for management positions did not equal the amount of work that needed to be done. Often given tight deadlines for projects, which made finishing these projects more difficult due to understaffing.

They job was often very easy going, and employees were easy to get along with. During customer rushes, we often all worked together, rather than letting each other fend for ourselves.

The hardest part of the job was most definitely getting projects from upper management done in the time frame they wanted it done.

The best part of the job, in all honesty, were my coworkers. They were often conscientious to what the customers needed, and were usually willing to go above and beyond to help.
Pros
Intelligent employees, great management team, workable scheduling
Cons
Long hours, lower than average pay, short time frames to get work done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 December 2017
A typical day at work involves dealing with customers through giving great customer service. I learned a lot about customer service and how to work well with others as well on my own. I've also acquired the skill of being a fast learner as systems and policies change and how to handle them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work. Good co workers
Sports Technician (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON4 December 2017
If you like sports this is a great place to be. Your surrounded by all types of sports, there for you meet all types of people that like what you like sports wise and get into great conversations
Pros
sports all day
Cons
Rate of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 December 2017
The typical day at work was great. You were able to talk to a lot of customers and learn tons of stuff about all the equipment and clothing features. The entire staff was friendly and inviting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent team workplace.
Clothing, Footwear and Technology Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON22 November 2017
Sportchek is a great place to work at. You start your shift by clocking in, and either checking in with your full-timer or manager, whoever is present, on the tasks that you have to complete for the day. For example, in footwear, the ad signs might have to come down at night and new ones must go up, or stock must be put away either during your shift if there is coverage of staff on the floor, or done at night. The management at Sportchek is amazing. They understand that you might have other priorities that come up, and they are willing to change your shift at the last second if needed. The workplace culture is a very upbeat, social place. It is definitely a team environment where everyone interacts with each other. Morale is high at SportChek. The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with all the different customers and hearing their stories, or just sharing a quick laugh with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slightly boring, attracts fake people.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON17 November 2017
People working at Sportchek are fake. I wish they'd consider holding a trustful work-relationship, for some reason this kind of fitness retail just seemed to attract stuck up fake people.
Pros
Great discount.
Cons
The job tends to attract fake, stuck up, early-20s university dropouts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co op job
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 November 2017
Good management
learned alot from the supervisors
the culture was good
many faces and not too many issues
no complaints about the work
pretty basic...
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freaking love this place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON9 November 2017
I could go forever on how wonderful management was at the Newmarket Sport Chek. You put in the effort and you will catch the attention of your superiors in a great way! I loved my bosses they were respectful and kind. You respected them but you also could joke with them. I miss working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work as a Student
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON8 November 2017
As a 4 year employee of SportChek I have had nothing but great experiences. The management and company itself has provided a world class environment for the busy working professional or student. Scheduling procedures allow for flexibility and personal events are always taken into account. As a sales representative you are provided with adequate and helpful training on the product relevant to your department so that you may best help your customers. Tasks often include basic housekeeping duties, item presentation, pricing and inventory. Depending on your progress as an employee there is room for incremental wage increases and often times positions do open up for advancement.
Pros
Amazing Discount, Flexible Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited support in every department
Head shipper/receiver (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB27 October 2017
As with most retail there are never enough staff and trends to increase staff were rarely recognized and always ignored.
Workloads and demand often quadruple never being addressed.
Pros
Discounts & people
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre First Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 October 2017
Actually pretty well sucked. The managers aren't very nice and play favourites with other associates often. Don't recommend working there unless extremely desperate
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job for a student
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Fredericton, NB2 October 2017
Great Management. Everyone is fun and relaxed. It is really a team based environment. It's a lot of the same work everyday, but totally worth it. Great hours, great discount. Customers are fun and Loyal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Bolton, ON30 September 2017
great place to work i really learnt a lot here and i think anyone else who works here will definitely learn alot as long as they appy themselves to learning
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC28 September 2017
Learn lots of sales tactics. Learned different ways to approach people and suggest items that would most benefit the customer. People at the store are amazing and lots of fun to work with as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sport Chek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 423 reviews
5139
4157
380
233
114

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture