Sport Chek Employee Reviews

Found 484 reviews matching the search See all 491 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON12 December 2018
Great atmosphere and one of the most welcoming environments I have ever been apart of. Managers are helpful while finding creative ways to incentivize employees to keep doing a wonderful job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place during school
Order Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON11 December 2018
Im a university student and working at sportchek is great. Really great for during school as they are very understanding about school work and your availability. Stress free environment which is perfect during university life. I will say however there is not a lot of opportunity of advancement, been in the same position for a year now and dont really see a future at the company unless in corporate but not sure i can make my way there without applying for a corporate position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, energetic place - great work culture if you have an active lifestyle
Shipper-Receiver/SSC (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC11 December 2018
I worked for sportchek for several years and stayed with the company because all three locations I worked at had fantastic people. The work-life balance is generally great for those who have an active lifestyle and sport commitments. They want you to care about these things and so in turn it's a priority to accommodate your extra-curricular activities. Can't beat the discount on gear either.
Unfortunately, unless you become a Manager there's very little room for promotion or wage-increase. But if you're young and looking to get some experience under your belt, I recommend Sportchek.
Pros
Fantastic store discounts, lasting friendships, fun and active atmosphere
Cons
Annual wage increase is very small and not much room to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sneaky Management
Footwear/Clothing Associate (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK7 December 2018
Awful place to work, have worked with this company for 5 years and never have I been so disgusted with the management and company. New Department manager harassing younger females, making many of them uncomfortable and scared to come work, digging up personal information about them and messaging them daily. When brought up to store manager, nothing gets done, nothing at all. Disgusted and embarrassed to have worked here for half a decade. Do yourself a favor and don’t even apply to the Victoria Square location. Sexism and Male dominance is alive in this location.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good sales
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2018
Lots of customers looking for what they need and very straightforward with the products. Co workers I got along with well, hardly any issues due to my friendly nature
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace, but young management
Online Order Associate (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB5 December 2018
Pros: The discount is worthwhile considering being paid minimum wage without commission.

Cons: The management tends to remain unsteady and can result in new hires of inexperienced managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed all years I worked with this company
Customer Service and Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB2 December 2018
There was not much of advancement opportunity and my pay rate stayed the same. I believe my 4 years of experience and training abilities are worth more than a new hire. The culture here is amazing and management was very understanding.
Pros
great people
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Retail Salesman Footwear Department (Former Employee) –  North Bay, ON26 November 2018
I enjoyed my time with this company. I enjoyed the work, interacting with people, and thought the management was good at their jobs. I would recommend it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Service Shop Technician (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 November 2018
The culture at Sport Chek is great. The people are fun to work with and it's a great place to work. I worked in the service shop and it was an awesome experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
adsad
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  AB4 November 2018
Excelled in customer support for selection of appropriate sporting goods to fit their needs and abilities.

Provided knowledge based information towards all products and services available in store

Effective communication with customers and peers to ensure timely and accurate customer experience

Responsible for opening and closing of store and training new associates

Managed returns and exchanges to ensure customer satisfaction, resolving grievances

Accurate cash management, performed independently

Fostered lasting customer relationships
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment for students
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greater Sudbury, ON30 October 2018
A typical day would consist of meeting and greeting customers, assisting them with whatever needs they have, applying personal experiences relating to questions customers may have. Ensuring the customer had a positive experience.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON25 October 2018
some toxic people ruin the work environment but depends on your position district manager is not a good person totally fake and completely bias store manager is pretty good solid man as long as you do your job most managers are alright the best part is the sweet discounts
Pros
discount, work events
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent first job
Head Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB23 October 2018
some mangers where pretty terrible but overall not a bad place to work. the pay was not very good and the managers would never give raises. i was doing more than mangers and basically getting paid minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC23 October 2018
great workplace culture.
flexible hours.
great management.
learned a lot on how to be a good team player.
learned about the business aspect of the retail store(when to mark up or mark down a product, price matching, 30 day price guarantee, and other retail/sales techniques)
Pros
great employee discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Grand Falls-Windsor, NL23 October 2018
Low benefit, high fun. You can expect same as anyretail. It really comes down to the people you are working with that shioft and the manager. Non-union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 October 2018
An amazing place to work. Managers were very adaptable with scheduling and provided a professional work environment. Benefits are awesome, and an overall great place to work.
Pros
Outstanding work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job, bad management
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 September 2018
learned many useful things such as customer service, inventory counts, some cash experience, and lots of knowledge on the products being sold. coworkers were wonderful and the overall environment was good however the managers are consistently critical, condescending, and are not at all understanding. part of the reason I quit was a lack of understanding between me and my manager .
Pros
good experience and training
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, management needs a lot of work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC24 September 2018
Fun place to work, awesome discount. Management sucks. They choose favourites, training is extensive but there is nobody there to help you once they throw you on the floor. Very stressful at times.
Pros
Discount
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Retail Job, But Stressful
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 September 2018
It's a typical retail job where customers can either make or break your day. Some days are extremely slow, while others you can't even breathe it's so busy. The management is okay, and the work hours are relatively flexible. But the stress from customers can get to you.
Pros
Awesome discount
Cons
Short lunch break, way too busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Cashier & Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Rocky View, AB12 September 2018
Customer Service Representative and Full-Time Cashier. This job is an entry level position in the retail sector. There are lots of young and part-time employees working while still finishing high school. So a high level of patience and cheerful attitude is required. Schedule changes without notice and you get used to working on call.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sport Chek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 491 reviews
5158
4175
3102
237
119

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture