Sport Chek Employee Reviews

Found 456 reviews matching the search See all 462 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easygoing workplace with good benefits
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 August 2018
They dont give you enough hours and they are not very good at training but the job is not too bad. It is good for someone who doesn't really need to work but extra money is good. Weekdays are quite slow throughout the year so you have a lot of time to just clean or hang and tag clothes. It's not hard and you just have to do what the managers tell you but for the most part they don't tell you what to do unless you're really doing something wrong.
Pros
discount
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic retail and customer service job
Full time sales associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB26 July 2018
staff and management were competent and the patrons were relatively pleasant. the work load was reasonable and management was excellent at training and preparing staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Clothing Associate (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON22 July 2018
-Being a clothing advisor, you just fold, organize and maintain cleanliness in your department and you're expected to ensure every customer is greeted and helped if needed.
-Working more than 5 hours definitely feels like time isn't moving, especially because they enforce the "rule" workers aren't to chat with one another. makes working very lonely, sometimes you'll rely on customers for socialization :(
-Discount was great and coworkers are awesome, but management is what gets you. they're great and friendly at first but you see their true colours and how power hungry, condescending and how out of touch they are with employees. they expect everyone to follow the rules but don't do so with themselves.
-But the discount is great so i guess thats nice (cost plus 10% but must be regular price, cant stack discounts)
Pros
discount is cost plus 10% (thats about half off the ticket price)
Cons
management is condescending, advancement is out of the question
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and lack of leadership
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC22 July 2018
Absolutely horrid place to work at. Do not even apply to this place, especially the Robson St, BC location. Management is awful and childish. They are very apathetic to HR problems that happen like sexual harassment, but they will write you up just for standing when there’s nothing to do. If I could give this place less than 1 star I would. It’s disappointing because the job itself is not difficult, but management is awful, thus making it not worth it. They love to play favourites and they are not afraid to show it. They treat everyone like children. Minimal pay makes the discount not even worth it.
Pros
Zero
Cons
Awful management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Sport Chek
14 August 2018

Your review has been forwarded internally for appropriate follow up. Sport Chek is committed to providing a respectful and inclusive work environment where our employees can be their best every day. To ensure that any workplace issues are resolved promptly and thoroughly, we provide a number of channels, including an anonymous ethics line where employees can report inappropriate or unethical behaviour without fear of reprisal. More information about our Code of Conduct and reporting process can be found here: https://secure.ethicspoint.com/domain/media/en/gui/39655/index.html

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to work and grow
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON16 July 2018
Sport Chek is an excellent place to work, especially if you need a flexible work schedule, love sports and want to work in a friendly environment with like minded people. The most enjoyable part of the job is helping a customer find exactly what they need and need to know for a sport or activity they are looking to get involved in. Helping customers get the proper gear so that they can enjoy their sport or activity is the most rewarding aspect of the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not even apply
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 July 2018
Horrible awful pay and huge expectations, they hire a bunch of kids and expect excellence. makes you feel super replaceable and did I say the pay is awful?
Pros
none
Cons
all
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh place to work
HardGoods Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON13 July 2018
Management at the location I worked at was a joke, very power hungry and condescending.

Discounts were phenomenal as you would receive everything at cost
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great discount
CASHEIR (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 July 2018
there is a grat discount which is why many people stay. At the store i work at tho there is not alot of hours for the workers so some people work once a month even with open availability. also they only do schedules one week at a time which does not leave time to plan activities ahead.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
CLOTHING ASSOCIATE (Current Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON10 July 2018
The atmosphere is very laid back and enjoyable. There is an amazing group of people to work with and many nice customers. There are many different departments and chances to work in different parts of the store,
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best retail job
Full Time Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON9 July 2018
everything about sport chek is unreal, the one place i wish i remained, was full time loved it just got no guidance towards the next step and felt left behind, discounts are beauty and everyone is great to work with
Pros
discounts
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team spirit
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 July 2018
A bright clean store, smiling faces on employees and a family atmosphere. SportChek has been a great place to work and to get involved with the jump-start program has been rewarding. Highly recommend working here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job advancement
Sales Support Coordinator (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL13 June 2018
A typical work day included serving customers, answering phone calls and receiving stock. Weekly responsibilities includes scheduling cashiers, stock and part time employees. other responsibilities include conduct OH7S meetings, reconcile invoices and ensure inventory integrity.
Pros
discount
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Paid Co-op (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 June 2018
at sport check i hang and tag the clothes
I also clean the store and help customers when needed
i also help with shipping and receiving And move boxes to their respective location
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job
Online Order Fulfillment Associate (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 June 2018
a subdivision of a written composition that consists of one or more sentences, deals with one point or gives the words of one speaker, and begins on a new usually indented line.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ON3 June 2018
Gave me many opportunities to learn or advance my knowledge on a great scale of things. Working there with great management ensured that I got a perfect amount of hours to continue and be productive with my life around work aswell.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization, customer service, and merchandising.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 June 2018
The team building was well done for the associates, however, many employees are in a transition period, where they are not looking for a long term opportunity. Though everyone was very friendly and fun to work with.
Pros
Working with people
Cons
Minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on the Management team
Service Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 May 2018
Working at Sportchek can be a fun experience, but it can also be fairly awful. It really depends on the management team. In some cases they cannot handle the stress of running a large store and can take it out on part time staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with other people who love to be active
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB27 May 2018
great place to work if you live an active lifestyle training is great everyone loves sport so it isn't awkward everyone has something in common the workplace is very laid back and fun as long as you get your work done. plus you get mad discounts which is always a huge plus!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Senior Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 May 2018
Worked hard for three years doing everything that was asked no raise turned down twice for full time paid min wage so loyalty to company means nothing would not recommend
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short future
Manager (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON25 May 2018
I worked for FGL for over 10 years, holding different positions within the company, from; Sales associate, Purchasing Analyst, Jr. Buyer, Manager. You name it, I've done it. But the company has taken a serious turn in its culture and future after the purchase by CTC. People just stopped caring, managers became untrainable and to be honest, knowing they cannot be terminated, they stopped working. Sportchek was the pillar and trend setter within the athletic community, but today, its full of unmotivated employees. Stores are falling apart or closing, staff is rude and managers are never around when you need one. I won't even get into under staffing and 'Online Only" sales, that have driven business downwards. I was a proud employee and wore my career happily, but once the powers that be started caring less, so did everyone else and now you have wasted retail space.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sport Chek. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 462 reviews
5151
4164
395
234
118

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture