Spencer Technologies Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fun place to work!
AP/AR (Former Employee) –  Dover, NH11 April 2018
i was not allowed to do my job as Spencer already had an accounting office in place and as soon as all the issues were ironed out from the purchase I was let go.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gahanna, OH20 February 2018
Nice place to work. Fast paced enviromenat. Will train so that your are aware of all aspects of your job. Handle accounts around the world so you are constantly working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful no information
network / telecom tech (Current Employee) –  Northborough, MA 0153224 January 2018
no information and when you get it , it is outdated
hurry up and finish , work you to death
no raises
drive 3 hours work 2 hours ,
no communication with upper management
you dont need to know all you are is a scumbag bottom worker
tell management something its like they dont care
do what I say dont ask
take it are leave it

high turn over
new dispatch very month
figure it out
you must know everthing at 12 dollars an hour
bare minimum
Cons
never home always tired and broke
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive great place to alot of travel
Field Technician (Current Employee) –  Northborough, MA10 January 2018
Have worked there for 12yrs enjoyed all projects that I worked on ,did not enjoy the travel there was many retail projects which consisted of new construction and remodels something different everyday
Pros
worked from your home base
Cons
to much travel out oof town
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company lacks strategy
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MA27 December 2017
Very tactically based management, Company is very immature for a project management organization. No line of site for problem resolutions, reactive environment not proactive.
Pros
worked from home
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging
AP Manager (Current Employee) –  Northborough, MA26 November 2017
Fast paced and challenging environment with supportive management structure. Commute was > 1 hour. Working on becoming a more well oiled machine but it takes time to implement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized work culture
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MA20 November 2017
Upper management was non-existant; never any origination with projects as they would just drop them on your laps with unrealistic deadlines. While working there; many managers were let go and there was no connection to the company. As long as you met their bottom line you were safe from being let go.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
scheduler
Field Technician III (Former Employee) –  Florida State, FL13 October 2017
If you are looking for a job where people dont care about you, this is the job for you. Bring you in with the idea of making 30 to 40 hours per week when in reality I have been in here for 3 years and never made 40 hours. it doesnt matter your pay rate if you are working 10-15 hours per week. you cant say no to scheduler without them reducing the hours. I can go on but there is no need to if you decide to join this company you will see for yourself.
Pros
plenty of free time at home
Cons
Cant pay your bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Current Employee (Current Employee) –  Northborough, MA9 October 2017
Spencer Technologies cares about their employees, when I wanted to expand my horizons and try something new. They gave me the opportunity to work in a different department and use some of my other skills. The people who work at Spencer are hardworking, personable, and always willing to lend a helping hand! Management is amiable and provides an encouraging atmosphere to be yourself and feel comfortable asking questions. The hardest part of the job is managing your work and personal life, you need to be willing to put in the hours and effort to be commended for your job. The most enjoyable aspect of the job is the people you get to work and the ability to learn new things. I recommend any hard-working individual who would like to expand their abilities to apply.
Pros
Advancement, salary, free lunches, social gatherings, colleagues, and Management understanding personal life issues/commitments.
Cons
Fast-paced work environment, this is only a con if you are not willing to put in the time and effort.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Enviroment
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TN7 October 2017
Everyone worked even supervisors and line leads. Very Productive Enviroment. I Learned how to operate a Crown Reach Forklift, and how to ship and receive in orders/
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work and travel to many states.
Network Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  West Coast20 September 2017
Overall Spencer Tech is a good company to work for. They pay top dollar for a Field Engineer. My manger was an excellent supervisor. Fellow Spencer Techs were helpful and knowledgeable.
Pros
Lots of Work
Cons
Too much time on the road and traveling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job if You Have No Life
Data Communications Technician (Current Employee) –  Kansas City, MO4 September 2017
This position is only for those that are happy with the inability to make personal plans. The job requires extensive travel, with changes in the work schedule taking place almost daily. The two tier pay scale is aright, but the travel rate of pay is very low, not worthwhile.
Pros
Freedom from oversight
Cons
Poor job planning by the scheduling department
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is lacking
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MA24 August 2017
Trying to get any of the managers to respond to an issue is next to impossible. Good luck in a real emergency.

I was repeatedly told to violate NFPA regs. It is not uncommon to have to travel for 2 hours or more to do a 1.5 hour job.

Project managers are always under bidding the contract and expect you to cut corners with the customer to make up for it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Receiving Clerk (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TN4 July 2017
Productive ,Fun and refreshing to work for. Clean environment
honest people. Good pay stable hours and work flow always be prepared for a nice going day
Pros
free awards
Cons
short hour days
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary position
TECHNICIAN Kforce Staffing Solutions (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MA22 June 2017
Each day my group handled about 8 stores and swapping out their old point of sale registers with new ones.the work was interesting and gave me a knowledge of the job.
If they asked me to come back to do the same job, I would have to think about it.
One thing I really enjoyed was working with the group of people I started with. They were temps from the same company as me. They made they job bearable
Thank you.
Pros
the pay was very nice
Cons
The work load became almost unbarable as they were trying to meet a deadline in this particular job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience technician run
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle Heights, WA17 June 2017
Worked for them for a year. Was working 30 to 70 hrs a week and bringing home under $300 a week. Road time is at minimum wage and expect to spend more windshield time than on site time. Also work slows down to not at all from thanksgiving to after new years. The management expects you to think it is ok for you not to have a pay check for 3 months or longer. You get a van to use but getting them to restock it let's put it this way you are not a priority.
Hope this helps
Pros
you get a van and gas card
Cons
the van is a privilege in their eyes. Also lack of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpredictable and high stress environment
Technician (Former Employee) –  Everywhere5 June 2017
Management was very unprofessional. Pay was decent, but raises wouldn't happen for years at a time. No bonus for performance or anything. Lots of travel for unacceptable compensation. Expected to work back-to-back, overnight/daytime shifts that were partially local/partially 2+ hours away consistently.
Pros
Benefits were "okay"
Cons
Compensation for travel. Unreasonable shifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Let go after 2 weeks
Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kingsville, OH1 May 2017
I was hired as a permanent employee and then 2-3 weeks ago someone from the company resigned supposedly taking a bunch of clients with him. I was let go. I do not trust this company. Lured in with good pay only to be extremely disappointed.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no formal training, can't trust the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Culture
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Kingsville, OH4 April 2017
Excellent place to grow project management skills. Everyone there was fun to work with. Worked on what you needed and was able to take a break if you needed one at anytime as long as you getting your work completed.
Pros
Easy work environment
Cons
Job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging technology company
Software loading and configuration technician (Former Employee) –  Northborough, MA3 April 2017
Need to be able to work in a rapidly changing environment with rapidly changing priorities. Work is interesting and deals with technology associated with retail companies and their point of sales and payment systems.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spencer Technologies. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 54 reviews
511
414
310
28
111

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.7Culture