Spencer's Gifts Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB18 May 2018
by far the best job i had everyone was so nice and the costumers were lovely, the job was pretty slow but there was always something to do, so an 8 hour shift felt like 4
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 May 2018
There's always something new and fun happening with the interesting people that come into the store. The pay was minimum wage, it was a great first job with easy tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely fun party at work with fantastic balance for personal life
Store Manager/ Party Coordinator/Area Manager (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 May 2018
Spencers upper management is extremely fair and the company really is a party and they're making it fun..
The company provides room for growth from the most energetic sales associates to the most tenured store managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor overall experience.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB13 May 2018
Management is so poor, a rat would run the store better. If you want secure or constant hours, do not work here. This job is only suitable if you have a full time job and just want 6-9 hours a week here and there. Employees and management act like they are a clique in highschool. Most of them say unprofessional things and phrases to customers and a lot of "rules" they have are just down right ridiculous. The customer interaction is the best part of the day, and that's not saying a lot, considering the store is dead 80% of the time. You will go into the job hating it, and leave hating it even more. Do not apply here.
Pros
No uniform.
Cons
No hours, inconsistent hours, poor + crude management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and fun place to work. Great people great vibe.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 May 2018
Great job for anyone who likes to have fun on the job. Employees are non judgmental and overall great people. They treat you like family even if you don't work there.
Pros
Discounts, awesome training
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting Job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB7 May 2018
I really enjoyed my managers and the atmosphere of the place. The team would go on outings together. I learned a lot from my manager that i was able to use at other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Associates and Store Management are Treated Like Garbage
Sales Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON4 May 2018
I have worked at my particular Spencer's Gifts for over a year and a half. In that time I have seen 5 Store Managers, most leaving due to the poor treatment from the District Manager. The most recent Assistant Manager who has been acting Store Manager for well over two months recevied no help from the District Manager who claims that the Assistant Manager "has not been working as the store manager". Simply put the District Manager is a hostile bully who picks favorites.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with amazing staff and meeting new people
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 May 2018
Everyday we had a goal and we would work hard to achieve that goal .As soon as a customer walked in we would greet them and let them know the promo nad ask if they need help with anything.
Pros
Amazing people
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job in the world
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  British Columbia16 March 2018
super flexible
incredible co workers and bosses
fun entertaining enviorment
you could easily be yourself and not get judged for it
welcoming and accepting safe place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON12 March 2018
The staff are all amazing and work well together.
The environment is welcoming and all-inclusive.
Not too much heavy lifting involved, and the products sold are awesome.
Pros
Great, friendly staff
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Up-beat and fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 March 2018
I love working at Spencer's. The typical day consists of greeting and helping guests, replenishing product, cleaning/organizing around the store and generally having a good time. The management team is incredible; all supportive and fun individuals.
Pros
good management/coworkers, fun atmosphere, good music
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jysk
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON8 March 2018
This company is great but it is the managers that ruin it, especially the Stoney Creek location. They expect you to drop everything meanwhile they will do absolutely nothing in return when you need help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very up beat place to work, the people are great.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS4 March 2018
Work was fun and exciting to go to, I enjoyed everyone I worked with. Always a good time learning new things, and meeting new and different people, It was a great environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
creative and fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 February 2018
im currently working with spencers part time, it has a great environment & great people the customers are very fun and i love being interactive with them because i really enjoy the products we sell
Pros
30% discount
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON31 January 2018
this gift store is absolutely incredible ! amazing things for the perfect gift with a little hint of sugar and spice at the back ! i highly recommend this store to the entire world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON30 January 2018
Ok job .. not for everyone .. the music drove me crazy. Very strict company .. wasnt allowed to have a recycling bin in my store - district manager made me get rid of it because it wasnt a part of the store set up.
Pros
Bonuses and contests help keep staff on track and mtivated
Cons
Long hours - low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful People to work with
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON29 January 2018
while spencers is a place where you buy gag gifts and gifts that can make people "gag", the atmosphere was a wonderful breath of fresh air.

Everyone wanted to have a good time and a good time was had by all. Overall a great place to work at.
Pros
Nice people, Easy to maintain stores
Cons
Standing all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun place with incredible employees
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON28 January 2018
super fun, relaxed work place & dress code, amazing staff, quality service, flexible hours paced depended on the day & the types of customers, making sure merchandise was in the proper place, helping out everyone, folding shirts, shelves, replenishing stock, making sure everyone has an enjoyable experience.
Pros
amazing people, super fun, flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, easy going and fun
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 January 2018
A typical day of work at Spencer's is just a lot of customer service and cleaning up around the store, this place has the best management I've had so far.
Pros
Great coworkers, easy to talk to managers, fun job
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Chill work enviorment
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON18 January 2018
Great place to work. Very relaxed, super chill enviornment. Focus is to make customers and staff their first priority. Not for people who are to timid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spencer's Gifts. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,546 reviews
5537
4468
3366
2102
173

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture