Speedy Auto Service Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad work
Licensed automotive Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 April 2019
If you can bend pipe and work on cars this is the job for you. Manager is great. Staff is great flexible lunches etc. I shouldn’t have left if I could go back I would
Pros
Great management
Cons
Saturday work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON12 June 2018
Poor management, zero job security and rare advancements. Always working past hours given with no overtime.
Foreman is great very willing to teach.
Moral in shop is usually up beat, but no forgiveness on minor mistakes.
Owner is all about money and less about getting the job down properly.
Pros
Lunches
Cons
long hours with no overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very judgemental and lack growth
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 April 2018
having experience in the automotive industry is a great factor when working at speedy but the way management was its not the best place to be. declining customers left right and center, very degrading towards younger people still learning, and very judgemental on the facts you know and try to give to help the situation.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
secret shopper
Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 March 2018
I worked hard for Speedy Auto, I did not approve when they sent in a secret shopper to evaluate how we were required to up-sell customers that came in. I suggested that a lady get rid of the old clunker that came in instead of me selling services and repairs on a junker. This kind of action gives a mechanic and a company a bad name.
Pros
I increased sales in the first year
Cons
head office changed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Mechanic Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON1 October 2017
my experience was great. all the guys treated me like a longtime coworker. really laid back work place as long as productivity is still high.always able to get an extra hand if needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 August 2017
I enjoy working in this company. Its just too bad that they are not able to keep me longer nor provide me a full time position.Management is very approchable .
Pros
Gives free lunch on pay day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best automotive garage in terms of honesty
Automotive Service Technician (Current Employee) –  Kingston, ON1 July 2017
Love working for this garage. honest, quick, and amazing service

id stay here till i had to leave.

great, clean , organized shop with kind people working
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 June 2017
On a typical day I called clients to confirmed appointments, learned about oil changing, learned how to deal with distributors and customers in a timely fashion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Lvl 1 Apprentice (Former Employee) –  963 St. Laurent blvrd3 February 2017
Nice people and a great place to work good expereince and great location. There was o good amount of work until it got close to winter and thats when everything slowed down.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poste agreable, amusant, educatif,
Reception/ service a la clientele (Former Employee) –  Ottawa On21 January 2017
Jai adore cette emploi, elle mas permis dapprendre beaucoup dinformation sur les autos et el service a la clientele gerer le temps de travaille etc.
Pros
Gens acceptant, bon equipe de travaille
Cons
Que je ne nest pa pue continuer a apprendre sur le travail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere, Terrible Corporate Employers
Customer Service Representative/Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 May 2015
At Speedy you get the Speedy service you need, there is no doubt about it. There is much to learn there as well, if given the chance to be properly trained there is no doubt someone could do the job with their eyes closed. The manager there is easy going but still a boss to an employee, and is always smiling. The employees there are welcoming and easy to talk to, and have no problem making a friend out of one another if given the chance. The hardest part about the job is keeping on task with things that you aren't fully trained in but are expected to do, as well as keeping on top of paper work that was already done before you even began working there, and you get blamed for it being missing. The most enjoyable part of the job at Speedy is that if you're finished everything you were hired to do and there are no customers then you are able to go and mingle with your co-workers.

But I would not suggest working there if you're looking for a job that will last longer then a week shy of 3 months...
Pros
Great people, Warm and Welcoming Atmosphere, Non-Rude Boss
Cons
Slow business, Run out of task's to do, Terrible Corporate Employers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Staff/Helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 May 2014
good owner
good manager
good place to learn a lot of things
good workmates
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy,constant learning,customer service
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  halifax ns16 October 2013
Fast paced,with good people to work with.learning about new technoligies in automotive service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned new skills
Apprentice Mechanic (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON10 December 2012
it was a good work experience and i got to learn new skills.
management was alright, co-workers were good to work with.
typical day was working on whatever cars came in.
Pros
good learning experience
Cons
lots of down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Speedy Auto Service reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Speedy Auto Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 20 reviews
57
46
33
21
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
3.9Culture