Spectra Energy Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, poor work/life balance.
Senior Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 March 2018
Great pay and benefits, ability to move up within the company were good provided you were willing to put in the hours which would include bringing you laptop and cell phone on vacation which didn't provide very good work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, bad job security
Warehouseman (Current Employee) –  prince george12 March 2018
Large company mentality, employees are just a number. Good pay, not bad benefits. opportunity to advance. good safety culture and very enivironmental.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 February 2018
This role consisted of many administrative duties such as, faxing, filing, making calls, taking minutes during meetings and typing. Learned organisation skills and professionalism.
Pros
paid trips to attend meetings
Cons
short job position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Changes
Supply Chain Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 January 2018
Company is going through lots of changes with the merger, not very consistent with work within different disciplines. Didn't receive proper training and didn't renew my contract with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT System Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 January 2018
Enjoyed my time here, they offer work life balance, support for advancement and growth with the company.

Staff is wonderful to work with and i would work there again if i had the option
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay as a operator!
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Chetwynd, BC15 November 2017
Couldn't ask for better pay, overtime etc. Very disorganized management though. Overall not a bad place to work. The crew was usually good and worked together.
Pros
Free meal at monthly safety meeting
Cons
Slow days were boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job experiance
Safety Watch (Former Employee) –  Fort sanjohn24 October 2017
loved it, it was good experience and it was important to learn lots of things in the industry of petroleum, i wish i repeat that experience in any other company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Senior Systems Analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 July 2017
Worked with a great team of dedicated employees and long-term contractors at Spectra Energy for the 4 years I was there. We all enjoyed what I considered to be a good working environment with a reasonable Job Work/Life Balance.
Pros
Good work environment, excellent salary and benefits
Cons
None worth mentioning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Project Controls Cost Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 June 2017
Great place to work; Good balance and stability. Many opportunities for volunteering for various causes. Good work life balance. Well managed. Opportunities to work on various pipeline expansion projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who are willing to help out
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee) –  Taylor, BC3 May 2017
I found Spectra Energy people the best group I have ever work with. They go out of their way to assist one with an problem.
Very one was pleasant and happy to be working at Spectra. From the Director down, all were very helpful and fun to work with.
Pros
Good work environment and pleasant people
Cons
Management should devote more into developing equipment data base
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
Summer Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC3 May 2017
I absolutely loved working at spectra energy. All the guys made my co-worker and i feel really comfortable with the tasks that we were assigned to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management has changed the environment
Contract Management Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 March 2017
Although Spectra was at one time, a thriving, fast paced and challenging environment; the change of management may be contributing to the lackluster environment that now remains.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, unlucky if you get stuck with bad managers
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC28 February 2017
The company as a whole is very good. Good work culture, good practices, challenging work. Company has a bad habit of hiring very weak and poor managers who end up driving out good employees. HR is useless for support and do not look out for best interest of employees. At least employees are compensated well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manager (Current Employee) –  BC21 February 2017
Good people, good pay & benefits. I enjoy working here it is a good place to work. If you're lucky enough to get a job offer I would take it
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workers and overall team atmosphere
Millwright Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Fort Nelson, BC11 November 2016
Was an excellent experience to work with such professionals.
Safety was always first and foremost.
Was a casual Operator for a year and everyone made us feel like family. Albeit the Black Sheep. :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace and people.
Application Developer/SCADA and Measurement (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 November 2016
Good atmosphere and culture but has gotten worse lately due to viewing contractors as temporary workers. Cooperation and communication has gotten worse due to morale issues with layoffs, merger.
Pros
knowledgeable co-workers
Cons
Bad morale lately, mostly due to resource prices, cutbacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work with lots of resources, opportunities and support.
Contractor Management Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 October 2016
Spectra Energy is a good place to work. In the 11 years I worked for the company I gained a lot of experience in the gas transmission industry. I was able to work at every one of their main gas plants as well as most of the smaller facilities and transmission stations. They encouraged and paid for education to improve my knowledge base in the field of health and safety management
Pros
Supporteed knowledge improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was always plenty of work to do with variety.
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 September 2016
There was plenty of variety in the job and a lot to learn.

The expectation is to learn on your own with minimal assistance.

Co-workers are wonderful and very helpful when they have time.
Pros
Great benefits, flexible work hours, great people
Cons
Processes and training need to be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Mailroom Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB31 March 2016
The work environment was good when I first started, however started to deteriorate when the manager started to gain more power.

I would have stayed and taken over the managerial position, but I did not agree with the current manager's opinions.
Pros
People
Cons
Manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Changing with with the industry
Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC27 January 2016
Spectra has changed from a BC based pipeline and process company to a Houston based multinational company. That change brings all the plusses and minuses that you would expect
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spectra Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 110 reviews
538
439
323
27
13

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture