South Country Co-op Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s was great
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Oyen, AB19 November 2018
My experience at south county co-op was outstanding, I had a great relationship with frequent customers and staff. As well as having a very understanding manager.
Pros
The people
Cons
Working so
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB30 July 2018
When I started working here, the cliques within the business was pointed out immediately. There was favouritism shown, managers/supervisors with a “ more superior “ attitude . Don’t get me wrong, I loved working with the customers, but it only took me 3 weeks before I started strongly disliking this job. Co workers ridiculed other co workers, public humiliation seemed to be the only thing people knew around here. Co workers and managers were extremely unhelpful. I would not recommend tis place, there is a reason why you see new employees at the front desk atleast every 4 weeks, it’s because employees keep resigning.
Pros
Get the hours you need
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fuel delivery
Bulk Fuel Driver (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB16 March 2018
good job for the right person, i found it very stressfull due to a lack of required information and the discrepancies between american and metric measuring scales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unappreciated
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Medicine hat10 March 2018
They treat their customers better than their employees. Management can get away with anything. They just sit in their office and bark orders at you. No benefits to part time employees. Approx 80% of co-ops employees are part time.
Pros
Pay raise every 600 hours.
Cons
No appreciation for their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy adaptive enviroment with great people
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Taber, AB1 August 2017
easy to get along with others and starting pay depending on your department can be great. very fast paste so not for everyone unless your able to do a lot of cleaning and enjoy making food
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Minimum wage, flexible hours, good boss
Gas Bar Attendant (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB25 April 2017
They pay is what you'd expect from a job at a gas bar. And although people have a tendency to come and go due to many of the employees being high school students, it was always a good environment to work in and the boss did their best to keep everyone happy and productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liquor Stores
STORE CLERK (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB22 April 2017
The people are good, and has the potential to create a good staff, however the management is very poor.
Note, that this is some select managers, not all of them. This review can only comment on the CO-OP Liquor Stores.
The CO-OP will shift their managers around the stores, and this can be very disruptive. Most importantly the company does not check up on the managers. This lets the managers get away with behaviors that most companies would not allow.
The managers can be abusive to the staff. Some often don't understand the job, and push off the work onto the supervisors.
The overall work is good. If you get a good manager, then the job will go smoothly. It can be a fun job, and the staff due to the small size becomes very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB20 February 2015
Great management, great team, excellent work environment and employer ethics and very caring about employees. Flexible hours and shifts.
Pros
Excellent management
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 8Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Country Co-op. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 9 reviews
52
42
32
21
12

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.2Culture

South Country Co-op Reviews by Location