SOLAR BROKERS CANADA Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
manager had a bad attitude
Lead Generator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 December 2017
work place was the same everyday , no change no change of tasks or any other ...
we always had to read a paper , same paper everyday for different people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Company For an Aspiring Sales Guru
Senior Broker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 November 2017
I have worked at Solar Brokers Canada for over 3 years. It has proven to be the ideal company to get my feet wet and learn sales from the bottom up.

I started as a Lead Generator learning how to prospect, handle objections and the art of negotiation. Then I became a mid-level agent learning how to prefect the art of relationship building and perfecting my tonality/pitch to capture clients attention over the phone. To date I have worked my way up to becoming on of the Senior Sales Agents aka a "closer" and I love it! I make great money, while helping my clients save money and the environment.

I couldn't have asked for a more rewarding career and industry to be in at such a young age and early stage in my career.
Pros
Intense sales training boot camps, great company culture and coaching. Work hard, play hard environment!
Cons
Commitment to learning, growth and over coming challenges, People who excel here have no problems stepping outside of their comfort zone, must work your way to the top
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lead Generator/Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 November 2017
I liked working there for the time I was there however I didn't like that they didn't train me to be in charge of the entire sale cycle. I wanted to close my own deals as I felt as though I was the most qualified to do so.
Pros
Good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Company to work for
Junior Broker/Lead Generator (Former Employee) –  London, ON27 September 2017
Don't pay you ontime or the right amount.
Scheduling issues (always changing and no advanced notice).
Never get a response to emails and questions.
EXTREMELY unorganized.
All in all a terrible place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Culture, Favourtism, Gossip Girl In the Office
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 June 2017
Lousy upper management . Lots of advice but zero ability to listen or reward for hard work - just more criticism. There is the most horribly gossipy young woman who works there and sort of manages the office. She stirs up so much trouble for no reason and gets away with it. The company is doomed. Solar City has gone online and Ontario Solar doesn't really exist. Good luck in the unemployment line folks.
Pros
no such thing as a free lunch
Cons
nice if you paid what you promised
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work atmosphere with great and dedicated people!
Information Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 January 2017
A typical day for me would be clocking in and starting with phone calls while preforming data entry at the same time until I clock out. You learn quite a bit on the job, how to interact with people that actually want to know the information you are providing and learning the organization data system the company used to keep track of all there clientele. While at the same time getting feed back from management on how to improve.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Management sometimes had problems.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No mileage and use your own vehicle! All commission
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2017
If you want to lose $$$ by using your own gas and vehicle to useless appointments this is the job for you.
I went to several appointments and the folks thought the solar system was free! I guess the phone people get $$$ if they book an appointment even if they are not qualified.
Guaranteed you will hate the bosses'. A pair of mouthy idiots! You will want to punch them out!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced, Ever-Changing Work Environment with Ambitious Company Goals
Senior Sales Broker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON7 January 2016
Lots of help/training available for new employees.

Fun, Caring, Intelligent Staff, Hyped-up Sales Team

Great Place to learn and grow.

Smaller company with big goals: leads to occasional office distress.

Opportunities in Call Centre, Sales, Admin

For it's size, SBC displays pretty good transparency with executives/management.
Pros
Lots of Freedom and Responsibility
Cons
If you need to be heavily directed/bossed or micromanaged, SBC is not for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture and management
Senior Broker (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2015
Amazing company to work for through the solar boom and the excitement and dedication of management is the perfect recipe to mentor employees.
Pros
High Pay, Culture, Openness, Advancement
Cons
Need to be Self driven, 100% Comission ( High )
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, supportive environment to work in
Senior Broker (Former Employee) –  Toronto18 December 2015
There is nothing better than working with a team of ambitious, motivated people with common goals. I learned a great deal while working at Solar Brokers Canada, not just about the industry but also about myself. Because the management encourages the entrepreneurship, my ideas where always heard and I was give the space and support to try to bring them to life
Pros
Leadership, positive culture, good pay
Cons
Minimal Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Opportunities
marketing communications (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 December 2015
A truly entrepreneurial company with a ton of young talent - starting at the top. Probably one of the most collaborative and supportive places I've worked in my seasoned career.

The leaders have great vision and even greater drive to achieve extreme growth in the near future. They foster a true "reap what you sew" culture and encourage everyone to live up to their best and to become successful in the process.

Great place to work!
Pros
generous leaders, flexibility of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Lead Generator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2015
Fun, Supportive, Productive place to work at. Advancement is in interest if you perform at your best. One of my best jobs ever !
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Centre
Lead Generator (Current Employee) –  20 Eglington Ave West Toronto ON4 June 2015
I enjoy talking to various different clients everyday and informing them about the Ontario's Free Solar Program. Working with my co-workers is intriguing because we all are different and have different experiences when it comes to the call centre. The hardest part of the job is when people hang up on you or use inappropriate language when they feel bothered by the informative calls.
Pros
Advancement
Cons
Tedious at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 May 2015
I totally agree with the previous comments about the management style. The two upper level managers have the worst people skills. They think they are too smart but have no work ethics and are overly aggressive for no reason.

WORKING THERE SEEMED VERY FISHY.

I met many people from the industry later who had similar opinion about them and the company. Wish I spoke with them before joining this company.
Pros
No Pros
Cons
Horrible Management, Low Pay, No work ethics, Bad company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Junior Broker (Current Employee) –  Mississauga6 May 2015
Co workers were great and fun to work with
Tagging and hanging clothes got a little repetitive after a while
Benefits were good (50% off discount)
Was never really busy so you got to really focus on your customer service
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solar Brokers Canada
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2015
Good experience, learned etiquette over the phone and vocalize myself better. I got the chance to enhance my skills in an environment, learning team work skills. Fast paced environment helped my to be better in my multi-tasking skills which is good for any representative.
Pros
Easy job
Cons
Bring your own laptop and headset
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work at
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Scarborough31 March 2015
-Learned how to deal with customers
-explained product to potential clients and arranged for bookings
-friendly work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Co-workers - Terrible Management
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2015
I joined the company with high hopes, as many things were promised (Training, Advancement, Compensation). But nothing was provided ever. There are two upper level managers, that have differing opinions at every turn which makes it really hard to do your job. One of the managers has really poor people skills, overly aggressive and has pushed more than a few employees to quit without realizing it. There is potential here, but something with management needs to change.
Pros
Nice at first
Cons
Poor Management, Do No Respect Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Telemarketer (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON17 July 2014
Overall Great experience the men and women of Solar Brokers are really amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Telemarketer (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON26 December 2013
call people answer questions
book appointments
just learn how to not take things personal
Pros
everything
Cons
some of the people you call
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOLAR BROKERS CANADA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 21 reviews
56
47
32
22
14

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

SOLAR BROKERS CANADA Reviews by Location