Soho House & Co. Employee Reviews

Found 10 reviews matching the search See all 162 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool workplace awesome clientelle
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2019
great place to master your craft and make connections. Good management and clubs throughout the world, lots of room for growth, i would highly recommend for excited young staff looking for a new home
Pros
staff meals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dose not get any better
server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 February 2019
This place is amazing. Every aspect within running a restaurant they excell greatly at. There are tons of opportunity to advance your career within the company.
Pros
staff, guests, atmosphere
Cons
stairs and uniform is far to heavy for patio servers throughout the summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Head Receiver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 March 2018
SOHO house is a great company, so much fun working with SOHO,
learned alot to store and organize the kitchen, but just a bit too far away from my home by that time....lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alright work life, good benefits
Cook (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 December 2017
Soho House Toronto is a good place if you’re starting out and looking to learn. However, that being said if you have lots of experience your salary will not reflect it. If you feel like you deserve a raise you will only receive one after their yearly review and only if they feel you deserved it. (Kitchen)

HR is a hit or miss. They will always have their door open to help you but sometimes takes a little long to get back to you. It

People who work there are always friendly and nice. Depending what department you are in depends how many hours you may work. Overtime is usually unlikely.

Moving up is unlikely. However, you can move within departments of the company and will always train.
Pros
Family meals, staff events and parties, health benefits after a year
Cons
Lack of hours, lack of advancement, lack of pay, lack of management support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and organized
Server (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 December 2017
by far the most organized restaurant I have worked for. For the most part everything is though of, however the uniforms are suffocating especially in the summer
Pros
free food
Cons
the uniform
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social and stimulating
Membership Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 October 2015
Soho House will suck you in in the best of ways. If you are a right fit, the people and the product will become not only your work, but your life. Despite the stress and occasional banalities of the job, Soho House has provided me with many opportunities that I would not be the same person today without.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Job
Head Receptionist / Concierge (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 July 2015
This job was absolutely fantastic.
I was a concierge/ Personal assistant to many different cooperate level individuals during day shift. (As it was a shared work space for members in the Arts)

I was also a receptionist and host during the evening hours where i would run and set up/ take down members events with management.

The most enjoyable part of my job was networking with tones of different people in the city every day.
Pros
People
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great and fun place to work.
Audio/Video Specialist, Digital Projectionist (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 May 2013
A typical day as a digital projectionist involves acquiring special keys from the film providers, obtaining the film which is contained on a hard drive and injesting the contents onto the cinema's servers. It's a security filled process but a relatively straight forward one if you have a certain technical knowledge base. Once that process is over and done it, it comes down to a matter of inspecting the film for any problems and preparing the overall theater floor for guests. Cleaning the grounds, filling the glasses with water and making sure a certain comfort level is met (lighting included) is all part of the job. Once guests arrive, greeting with a smile and enduring everyone is comfortable comes next before playing the film and adjusting the lights.

The management has been extremely helpful and they're always flexible with my schedules as a student.

One of the hardest aspects about the job came when unexpected technical problems arise. Not having the right keys to activate the film, or having a movie suddenly start skipping are issues that require you to stay on your feet and calmly find a solution.

The best aspect about the job is being able to watch many of the newest releases for free along with the guests.
Pros
You get to watch films for free
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work with a great team.
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 January 2013
I learned a lot with Soho house, extensive training. So for that reason I work with an Amazing team; however, unfortunately as of Januarry 2013 they have decided to drop all Bartenders and Servers wages by more than half!! This is the reason I must look elsewhere for a permanent job....
Pros
great team work.
Cons
starting wage has now been cut by more than 50%
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report

See more Soho House & Co. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Soho House & Co.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 162 reviews
554
455
329
211
113

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Soho House & Co. Reviews by Location