Sofina Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Products are fresh and every workers wear gloves
Employee (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON28 March 2018
I learn that you l need to cooperate with your co-workers and be a team player. The hardest part of the job is when there is a breakdowns and the most enjoyable part is when there is a Feast
Pros
Sanitary
Cons
Break downs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an ideal company to work...one bad supervisor!
Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 March 2018
Working here is ok. The worst is dealing with bullies that do not accept changes and diversity. No proper clean source of water in the canteen. Safety is not really emphasized. A lot of disgruntled employees still working there which is really annoying.
Pros
Good hours and schedule.
Cons
No work for about a week when it is very slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and efficient work place
Food Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 March 2018
Great place to work; Friendly environment with good people. Lots of room to advance and training opportunities. Excellent management team for the most part. Good job security.
Pros
3 different shifts
Cons
Cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 March 2018
Very nice place to work.Very understanding employer and friendly people inside the company. Will recommend this company if you want more benefits..They are also a family oriented company..Most of the people in there are related to each other..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible bosses at hatchery
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 February 2018
The management at the hatchery plant is a nightmare .direct manager is a maniac. He seems like a drug user.treats employees like fricking slaves....swearing and shouting is a daily rutien ...co workers are not great people as the are very much slaves...they need people that had education for mangment. I only lasted 3 months before I was forced to quite...working at the hatchery plant really sucks.
Pros
None
Cons
Cheap pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working space
Sofina foods (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON15 February 2018
Had many friends who also worked there. They are all welcoming. Some jobs were harder than other jobs. Salary was great. Many hours. Usually started at 6am to 3:30 to 4pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and learning curve
Production Accountant (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 February 2018
Work place full of energetic people, but the senior management was not team player, leadership skills were missing in most of the leaders. Overall it is good company to learn and leave.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packeing line worker
G labour (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 January 2018
Packeing and food cold and enjoying working there ...they pack bacon there and i also work ham there i really like to work there my 14 years....tx pz .
Pros
Free 15 min break
Cons
Over time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grateful for the opportunity
MAINTENANCE CO-OP (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON22 October 2017
Family-like culture among colleagues, Very accommodating, amazing department Director.
Working and staying here requires resilience by nature of being in meat industry. A lot of opportunities for improvement.
Pros
Free coffee and tea, pretty good in-house cafeteria, really good Director, catered work to utilize and expand skills, given a lot of important independent work, safety equipment provided
Cons
slaughterhouse, scents, low wage, a lot of required gear on plant-floor (hair net, hardhat, lab coat, boots, etc)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC21 September 2017
Very organized entity with strong support for staff and management. Plants are unionized so it is critical to be alert when dealing with staff. Long term plan in view with flexibility to adapt to quick market changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Labor
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON21 September 2017
For a food industry, there are occupational standards that are important to be met and as an employee, it is important that those standards are made personal. SOPs save lives, time, money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good salary
Packager / Cleaner / Sanitation (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON19 September 2017
it is a living salary job. I've learned a lot from the two different departments i have worked with. And dealing with different kinds of people. Management is alright as they leave an open communication set up. The most fun part of the job is once you've learned the method needs to do the job, then they will let you do it with very minimal supervision.
Pros
bonus provided from perfect attendance
Cons
old employees are mostly rude ( unionized)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heavy work load
Plant Worker (Former Employee) –  Wynyard, SK2 September 2017
The typical day at work was exhausting because you need to stand up for eight hours a day. I learned to be more cautious and aware around the work place. The management was easy to deal with the situation in the workplace. The hardest part of the job is when they sent you to the hot and messy area. I enjoy the benefits of the company.
Pros
Over time
Cons
Standing for long time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!
National Account Manager - Retail & FoodService (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 August 2017
Great company, good people and plenty of room to grow! I would recommend this company to anyone who loves the food industry, wants to work at a growing company and is flexible with an ever changing environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to get you involved with the work force.
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON4 August 2017
A very good job with very good pay. Hours can be a bit rough but very good over all to begin a work ethic. Introduces you to the world of an adult and if you are an adult the pay and benefits excel just as much as if you were a student. Rate it 8.5/10 to work
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Early/long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at all
Distribution Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Rexdale, ON8 May 2017
new logistics management team looking for much higher expectations and having no clue of what's really going on on the floor making it harder for any associates to get the job done.
Pros
none
Cons
long ours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not fun at all after we were bought out by Sofina Foods that's for sure
Distribution Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON22 March 2017
I understand when a big company buys a small one, no ones job is secure, changes were expected to happen and unfortunately I was the unlucky one...is like in any sports team a new coach is hire as soon as new management team is in place.
Pros
No free lunches
Cons
yes...14 to 15 hours a day to be specific
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and work
Supply Planning (coop) (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 February 2017
Good place to work and learn. Opportunity to use ideas and learn from higher management. Lots of opportunities to grow and move to higher positions. Top management very receptive and open to new ideas. The senior management is also very approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a company that treats me very well, gave me the opportunity to learn a lot and gain a lot of experience
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 February 2017
I am very responsible, honest and very eager to progress, and I follow the orders as they tell me.
I learned how to handle the forklift and I gained a lot of experience in this, I learned to understand people and understand their needs, I learned to make orders and to locate the products in their place, to make inventories.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intense workplace with little work life balance
TRADE MARKETING MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON19 January 2017
Lean operation requires individuals tasked with multiple rolls leading to long hours and little work life balance.

some great small teams, however, more people required to properly carry out projects to success.
Cons
long hours, lean operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report