SOCAN Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2018
SOCAN is overall a pretty good place to work. Hard working people that go above and beyond to produce on managements expectations. Good employee engagement activities run by the Social Committee.
Pros
Great people and exposure to the music industry.
Cons
No opportunities for growth; come few and far between and are typically very political
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with lots of ammenities
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON30 April 2018
Great company.
Learned a lot
Workplace culture is good
Had great social activities
Has facilities to balance work and health
HR always willing to assist in areas of health and wellness
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work /life balance
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2018
SOCAN is a not-for-profit company that collects and distributes royalties on behalf of songwriters in Canada. This is an excellent place to work for work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'd think twice.
Licensing (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2018
-Office politics plague this company.
-Management is toxic to the employees in several departments.
-Experience at this company doesn't translate to other industries.
-Once the Honey Moon is over. It's paper pushing like most places.
Pros
Free Coffee, Ping Pong, Gym
Cons
Management is killing this place
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON19 February 2018
Ok job always had the hours always told when u needed to be in for what u were doing that day or night never not told what to do trained on everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be 6-7 years ago.
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 January 2018
Culture changed under new CEO. Trying to be a for-profit company when they are not. Management is weak at best and growth is nearly impossible. Not a bad place but I'd consider something else,
Pros
Free Coffee
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive
NETWORK ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 January 2018
Socan is a very progressive company when it comes to Technology. They will spend the money to invest in in technology and training for their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work From Anywhere and Earn If You're Successful
Singer-Songwriter (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 August 2017
You make what your music allows you to.

Strong infrastructure and decent resources.

Access to opportunities and venues.

Mandatory for all Canadian artists.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Singer/Songwriter (Current Employee) –  Toronto19 September 2016
Socan has always been amazing to be a part of. I am a registered songwriter with Socan. I have participated in Song Camps and many writing opportunities with Socan.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, not a good place to work.
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2016
People work in silos. Work is not challenging and lacks creativity. Managers treat staff as if they are easily expendable. Executive staff does not change, stifling upward movement and professional development for all other employees.
Pros
Nice lunchroom.
Cons
Very poor management. Very stressful environment for a non-profit music company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport

Want to know more about SOCAN?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are better places to work
Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 April 2016
Little to no room for advancement. Work is not very challenging and is not very relevant in other industries. Not the best managers, either.
Pros
Nice TV in lunchroom. Ping pong table.
Cons
Management favors certain employees and are unfair to others. No room for professional growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok workplace
Av Identification & Verification Clerk (Former Employee) –  North York, ON14 January 2016
Good place to start in work force. It is an industry where you can use your bilingualism skill. we deal a lots with Quebec and quarterly dead line to meet. Every summer we have picnic and company year end party where you can mingle with CEO and other celebrities.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Data Base / ETL Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 January 2016
SOCAN overall is a good place to work. The people who work there are generally helpful and co-operative. The management is reasonably competent and I believe that they are leading the company in the right direction.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm concerned about the future of this company; its leadership, primarily.
Licensing Rep (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON14 May 2015
I would think twice about working for this company.

They are stuck in the 2000s. Great company under Andre LeBel. Current CEO has done nothing except get rid of hard-working, long-time employees. Very weak Executive Team.
Pros
4 day work week for some employees/summer hours (for some)
Cons
Zero job security. Low Wages. Benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 59No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome job
PC&IS Controls (Former Employee) –  Proctor & Gamble Belleville, ON16 April 2015
As a contractor this was a great job. I was able to further my electrical knowledge when installing new equipment. Friendly accommodating employer. organized .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work. They have a gym for the employees and table tennis, too.
Accounts Payable Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 July 2014
It was a pleasant and enjoyable place to work. The people are very nice.
7 hours a day. 4 day work week in the summer.
Pension Plan.
I learned Epicor software.
Very diversified.
TV's everywhere!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for profit company with 4 Day work week for most jobs (all jobs for Summer)
Project Manager - II (Current Employee) –  North York29 June 2014
Good Company to work with, however it will take some time to reach the corporate culture it is trying to attain.
Pros
4 Day work Week (summer for all), Christmas Week Off
Cons
Taking too long to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Genre d'entreprise
Agent de licences (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC4 January 2014
Entreprise avec un but noble pour les auteurs , compositeurs et éditeurs de musiques.
Pros
Semaine en qhatre jours de travail.
Cons
Pas beaucoup de chance d'avancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Équipe exceptionelle
Représentant Interne Développement des Affaires (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC15 July 2013
J'ai eu l'opportunité de travailler avec des gens formidables qui pour certains sont devenus des proches amis.
J'ai énormément appris sur le droit d'auteur et sur la politique d'entreprise.
Il manquait juste de possibilité de formation et d'opportunités de carrière.
L'environnement de travail était une priorité pour la compagnie et l'ambiance qui en découlait était exceptionnelle.
Les objectifs de vente étaient très difficiles mais j'ai su me dépasser pour les atteindre et rester en tête dans les résultats individuelles et ce à chaque année.
Pros
Esprit d'équipe
Cons
Formation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
TEMPORARY RECORDS MANAGEMENT CLERK (Former Employee) –  York Mills4 July 2013
Overall and excellent workplace with great management.
Longer hours but you get to choose to work 4 days a week. I had my Monday off and overall job was not too stressful. Unfortunately, I was hired as a temporary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOCAN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 21 reviews
54
410
31
21
15

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.4Culture