Sobeys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laird and Eglinton13 March 2018
The management here is awful if someone who's been there longer is treating as if your less than them and you speak on it they try to say that the other person been there longer so they take more into consideration what they have to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Canadian experience
Stock Management (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
- Mainting quality of the fruits and vegetables
• Monitoring temperature and humidity in the stockroom
• Organizing the display areas
• On the sales floor, keep unwrapped fruits and vegetables wet so that they stay fresh.
• Keep the fruits and Vegetables area in satisfactory condition, removing and replacing them.
• Responsible for keeping the area clean and secure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically & Mental Rewarding
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 March 2018
Excellent place to work, fun, rewarding, using your memory a lot which at great exercise for your mind.

Its was team organized and everything ran smoothly
Pros
Mental Rewarding
Cons
Short Lunch Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication
Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2018
Working at grocery store is fun and always you are communicating with customers and most of the time you will meet great people. Management is trying its best to help its employee but they are under the pressure of the Head office to reduce the cost and put pressure on the part time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor hours terrible management
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 March 2018
One of the worst place's ive ever worked, terrible hours, terrible hours, no benefits. long hours only perk is you get lots of breaks, would suggest lots of other places before here
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God work environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON11 March 2018
- Good work environment
- The Management does a good job overall
- Shifts can be a bit annoying because the weekly shifts aren't posted online.
- Lot's of tasks to complete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS11 March 2018
Work at sobeys while in highschool, the only reason I left was that they could not offer enough hours and I needed to make money prior to going to university. They were great to work for.
Pros
Career advancement opportunities
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on tge loction you work at
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 March 2018
The staff is good depending witch one you work at. When I was working there they would put me for work the days I requested off. They fired me over a doctor's note.
Pros
The management is ok supervisors at the time wasnt ok (depends on the liction)
Cons
Good place
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work in. Lovable and friendly staff and management.
Deli/Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Airdrie, AB9 March 2018
Fun place to work in. Staff and management are so caring,lovable and friendly. I always had a good times with my co-workers. Foods are so good and healthy.
Pros
Free samples.
Cons
Other staff are so grumpy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUsy place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wetaskiwin, AB8 March 2018
I only worked here part time and it was dealing with customers on a daily basis. Was very busy at times, I did cashier position mainly. So dealing with customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Erie, ON8 March 2018
workers are great so is the store owner
clean
open shifts
call in when people are sick
gained new skills
stocked a few shifts
let me learn by showing new things
Lotto training also
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Salad Bar Clerk (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON8 March 2018
Super awesome fun easy place to work with, management is wonderful and I absolutely love how friendly and helpful all the employees are as well as how easy it is to work in the given workspace.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not to bad for a massive corporation.
Assistant Produce Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB8 March 2018
Needs better pay scales, better benefits, but who doesn't. Decent people on top of the company as far as I can tell. Understanding, team oriented bosses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate workload, friendly coworkers, aggressive management
Meat Cutter (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL7 March 2018
Sobeys as a whole was a good job experience. Friendly and helpful co-workers made learning the job much easier. The benefits offer are very good. Micromanaging by some managers was very degrading and irritating considering a very manageable job.
Pros
Good benefits. Friendly coworkers. Flexible schedule
Cons
Micromanaging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Evnironment
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kincardine, ON7 March 2018
When working at Sobeys over a three year period I learned many interpersonal skills and greatly improved my communication skills. I was given many opportunities to grow as a professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
courtesy clerk/ cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 March 2018
It was a good job for me as a highschool student. However the managers weren't all that friendly. It is a good job if you are simply looking to earn some money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Safeway (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 March 2018
Was a good starting job I have had a good time but the store is closing I will be happy to move on but would of stayed there longer If I could have I had fun with it
Pros
Good schedule balancing
Cons
Pay is a little to low
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS6 March 2018
The management did not understand my schedule while being in High School. They continuously gave me night shifts when I needed to be up early for sports practices before school the next day.
Pros
Other staff were friendly
Cons
Work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Why do employees not get discounts?
Post Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 March 2018
Good enough working environment to get some extra cash but I couldn't imagine working here long term! I worked there a few months and didn't know anyone I worked with! disappointing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Repetitive and not very high paying
Courtesy Clerk/Floor Supervisor, Front End (Former Employee) –  Orangeville, ON5 March 2018
Not the most enjoyable or lucrative job, but good for High School students and part time work. I would not want to work there again, but I did not hate it while I was a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,209 reviews
5587
4797
3574
2150
1101

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture