Sobeys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, AB19 March 2018
It's a job, at a grocery store, there isn't a whole lot to say. Meat, bakery, courtesy, shipping and receiving, night time cleaning staff, all minimum wage or slightly above.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Cash Receivable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Stellarton, NS19 March 2018
good managers and coworkers. you never worried about job security. great benefit package along with understanding management.
i learned how to treat employees proper.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to Work, Not My Favourite
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Bedford, NS18 March 2018
Management was disorganized and not as supportive as desired. Pay was low and benefits weren't great. Met some amazing people but didn't really enjoy the work.
Pros
People I met
Cons
Pay, Management issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB18 March 2018
it was fun i didn't think it was too hard, people were nice and if i needed help i just had to ask and my mom worked with me so that helped. management was very great and fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB18 March 2018
working at sobeys is a fun well paced environment that keeps you on your feet. Working at sobeys has taught me time management and responsibility that will help me for my future.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  edmonton18 March 2018
a typical day could be busy or slow but always have something to do ,i learned how to do lottery and many more taskes .working at sobeys is a good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS18 March 2018
Amazing work place with lots of opportunity for improvement and promotions. Hard work is acknowledged and praised! A professional family environment is made by the supervisors and managers. Smiling and laughing is encouraged! Customer service is a main priority without compromising the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Cashier and Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 March 2018
It's a grocery store. They're basically all the same. If you have a good manager your job will be alright, that really depends on the store. They often try to flex with your schedule, which all minimum wage jobs should do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON17 March 2018
A typical day at work would be overseeing the self serve area to make sure people did not shop lift, overriding voids for other cashiers, selling lottery tickets, and scanning items. The hardest part of the job was standing up for so many hours in a row and the most enjoyable part of the job was the people i got to know while working there.
Pros
bakery
Cons
no discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place was a joke
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brandon, MB17 March 2018
Management were terrible. Way too much favoritism. Then I had a few health issues and when I went back to work after 2 surgeries, I was never treated the same. I couldn't work for a company that treats there employees like that.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to learn about grocery marketplace
Wholesale Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 March 2018
If you have every been interested in learning how your local grocery aisles are filled, it would be a wise decision to consider Sobeys as your next employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very relaxed
Produce Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB13 March 2018
you come do your work its an easy job and theres not much to it. if you plan to just go make money and leave you can. if you want to change something or progress not the place for you
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobey's Sherwood Park
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB13 March 2018
Was hired for Produce, but was told I was only going be in "Fresh Cut" for two weeks later found out that was untrue.

There's a huge disconnect between staff and management at this location. The employees that have been there for a few years stand around and talk to each other and basically do nothing all shift. It was very frustrating to see this because you see people working in the department you were promised not doing their jobs essentially "time stealing".

Very cliquey as well. Would avoid at all costs this location.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Too much work not enough help. Training wasn't efficient
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Laird and Eglinton13 March 2018
The management here is awful if someone who's been there longer is treating as if your less than them and you speak on it they try to say that the other person been there longer so they take more into consideration what they have to say
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Canadian experience
Stock Management (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 March 2018
- Mainting quality of the fruits and vegetables
• Monitoring temperature and humidity in the stockroom
• Organizing the display areas
• On the sales floor, keep unwrapped fruits and vegetables wet so that they stay fresh.
• Keep the fruits and Vegetables area in satisfactory condition, removing and replacing them.
• Responsible for keeping the area clean and secure
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Physically & Mental Rewarding
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 March 2018
Excellent place to work, fun, rewarding, using your memory a lot which at great exercise for your mind.

Its was team organized and everything ran smoothly
Pros
Mental Rewarding
Cons
Short Lunch Break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Communication
Office clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 March 2018
Working at grocery store is fun and always you are communicating with customers and most of the time you will meet great people. Management is trying its best to help its employee but they are under the pressure of the Head office to reduce the cost and put pressure on the part time employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very poor hours terrible management
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Niagara Falls, ON11 March 2018
One of the worst place's ive ever worked, terrible hours, terrible hours, no benefits. long hours only perk is you get lots of breaks, would suggest lots of other places before here
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
God work environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON11 March 2018
- Good work environment
- The Management does a good job overall
- Shifts can be a bit annoying because the weekly shifts aren't posted online.
- Lot's of tasks to complete
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS11 March 2018
Work at sobeys while in highschool, the only reason I left was that they could not offer enough hours and I needed to make money prior to going to university. They were great to work for.
Pros
Career advancement opportunities
Cons
Lack of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,204 reviews
5586
4794
3573
2150
1101

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture