Sobeys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, unless you make a complaint about management
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS2 May 2018
I worked the majority of my career here. I loved my job and the people i worked with. i moved up the ranks easily and fairly quickly, but the pay was quite bad. I had to beg my boss for a raise after 4 years of service.
the work environment was `the old boys club` kind of environment. So if you didn`t have a thick skin, you weren`t gonna make it. After 5 years, I couldn`t take it anymore. I put a complaint into HR and they fired me for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and challenging workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON2 May 2018
show up on time, punch in, put on your uniform and head down to your cash and help people.
work hard,
customers are kind;
coworkers are great company and also kind
short hours
Pros
great team
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average cashier job
Customer Service/ Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON1 May 2018
Wasn't the best place to learn skills, it was a standard job and there was no culture behind the store. The most enjoyable part of the job was clocking out.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
Cranky customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Bakery Manager (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON30 April 2018
Good place for growth within the company
Great friendly environment to work in
Made some great life long friends from working here
Great upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was helping people bring their bags to their car.
Bagger stock (Former Employee) –  Pincher Creek, AB30 April 2018
A day at work was always busy, i would either stock the shelf's or bagging the customers car, i have learned how to put things into bags without the bag breaking,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Fonthill, ON30 April 2018
Working with the public is great and the boss is really nice. Flexible work hours and great for taking summer vacations because they give you time off.
Pros
Sometimes free food
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and educational workplace
Pharmacy Assistant/Student (Former Employee) –  Marystown, NL29 April 2018
I had worked with sobeys as a student during a work-term and it was a great experience in order for me to further my education and work towards my career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB27 April 2018
Was a very good place to work got me deli experience in the work field and communation and organizing skills, i highly reccomend to work with sobeys to get experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sobeys warehouse
Quality control inspector (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2018
good place to work ,people are great to work with,working night shift
is a hard on the system but you deal with it. cold storage facility dress warm .
Pros
good work environment to work in
Cons
different hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very willing to work with individual persons to fit their time schedule.
File Maintenance Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB26 April 2018
Great company friendly and very willing to train. Willing to work with an individual to help train them to become their very best. i would recommend this for a single parent or casual job
Pros
willing to allow to take break when fits your schedules
Cons
expected a little to much of one person to complete in one shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
an ok place
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON25 April 2018
I was an alright place to work. if you don't mind the smell of seafood. lol.
always busy, productive friendly atmosphere. Supervisors were always fair. Had the most amazing co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sobeys
Deli Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE25 April 2018
Serving customers
Responsible for cleaning, restocking and reorganizing deli foods
Slicing and preparing deli meats
Operated cooking appliances
the most enjoyable thing about this job was the people
Pros
lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
A la Carte Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB25 April 2018
good company to work for, competitive wages, fast paced learning environment, great management and team, great benefits, fantastic atmosphere, opportunity to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace that kept me on my toes
Dairy clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 April 2018
simple and productive and the job always kept me on my feet.They did provide for lunch in the break room and all of my coworkers were kind and helpful.
Pros
provided lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work, great people, not good work life balance
Seafood & Gourmet Meat Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Albert, AB25 April 2018
friendly and family orientated team but no raise since i started and expected to do other jobs that i wasn't hired for without a pay raise. Also told i wouldn't work evenings and am now expected to work any hours given to me without a raise or choice. overall love the employer and management but very little work-life balance. the paid stat days, holiday pay and benefits are good though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment as well as great job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB25 April 2018
I enjoyed my time as a Seafood Monger at Sobey's, Rothesay. The staff were second to none and the job was interesting. You would set your seafood table up with various colours and shapes.I took pride in it as everyone in the area soon seen.I would recommend this type of work to anyone up for a challenge. Presentation is everything , so good luck with that and freshness of course.
Overall this was a great place for learning and advancement within.
Pros
Great working enviroment
Cons
Seven day a week operation
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment, friendy staff and managers.
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lower Sackville, NS25 April 2018
I began working for Sobeys as a garden center clerk. I truly enjoyed my time while working there. It was a stress free environment and most customers were very pleasant. Hours were good. Food handling safety needs to be further enforced by management but employees do a good job staying on top of the safety of products in-store. Working in the garden center was very enjoyable. My job there consisted of assisting customers with finding the products they were looking for, sweeping and tidying up, and of course watering of all the plants on dry days.

While working as a produce clerk my job was similar to what I did in the garden center, helping customers, cleaning thoroughly, moping up any spills, rotating produce, discarding of the undesirable produce and taking care of the indoor live flower and plant displays.
Pros
Positive work enviroment
Cons
Constant replenishment of bananas
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli clerk
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fenelon Falls, ON25 April 2018
I worked here through high school as a deli clerk. They realied on me to show up when someone called in sick for their shift, to open and close the deli counter, train people, and treat our customers with respect. the harderest part of the job was to try and make supervisor, there wasn't any room to grow there.enjoyanle part of the job was knowing my supervisors and manager had my back if something bad happened with a customer.
Pros
getting paid
Cons
being called in when on an at home vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a part-time job but not for me
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON24 April 2018
The management at Sobeys definitely needed some work as they were not very accommodating. However for a part-time job it was easy hours, short shifts, and worked well while I was in high school.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience overall
OTC Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 April 2018
Loved the supervisor and pharmacy assistant. Very friendly.

Not very busy but it was a great way to get to know the customers one on one.

Very Routine based
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,251 reviews
5600
4811
3585
2151
1104

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture