Sobeys Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Deli Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2018
Friendly please, everybody work as a teem. Good Management.Very clean please to work. A lot customers to work with and make your day going. Packaging Technics.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB13 June 2018
It was an awesome first job to give me the work experience I needed. The hours were at times quite long and hard but it was a great way to learn new things and get experience in customer service field
Pros
easy to get time off
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay place to wrok
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB11 June 2018
good place to work, although they made be buy a whole 2 new uniforms 3 weeks before I was to quit. I worked there for over 2 years and only received 1 pay increase.
Pros
good people
Cons
no pay increase
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with Nice People
Assistant Category Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 June 2018
Working in a fast-paced environment, things can change hourly, very stimulating. Good business culture. Good Benefits too. Head office not down town which is a plus for me.
Pros
Benefits. Team.
Cons
Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good place to work at
Baker (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NS2 June 2018
nice employees but poor management team.
people know what they should do, but always slowly, not efficieny and productivity working attitude at all.
salary is not that bad.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is the worst place I ever work. Sobeys Pembina Location winnipeg
Grocery (Former Employee) –  Sobeys Pembina at fort richmond winnipeg2 June 2018
- Lack of safety culture
- Low salary earning below minimum wage
- No benefit
- No good management skills
- Lack team work
- Good food though
- Safety is at zero level in this location of Sobeys
- Gossips is at it high level
- Especially there grocery manager has no or little knowledge of safety procedures at work.
- No use of hand clove at there grocery department
- Very poor and unsafe cat to store and carry out their grocery out of the store causing potential drooped hazard to the customers on the aisle.
- Staff contribution are always neglected in terms of safety at grocery department
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for someone to start in the work place
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Amherstburg, ON30 May 2018
It was quick paced
Constantly organizing
Made new friends
Learned how to cut and place several different foods
Overall a happy place to work
Taking safety tests every couple months
Pros
Store filled with food so I could have many different things for lunch
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Operation Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON25 May 2018
Sobeys is a good place to work. Our facility is unionized and the pay rates are great. The management in our facility is a little bit uptight but the union work with them on daily basis to effectively manage the facility to the satisfaction of many employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there in high school.
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON23 May 2018
Working at a Sobeys in high school was mainly to save up for schooling. Management was okay, co-workers were good. Its an easy and satisfying job. Preparing meals and food is rewarding.
Pros
Samples of food.
Cons
Not enough people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high school
CASH OFFICE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 May 2018
working at a grocery store is like high school all over again, however heres my takeaway:

CONS
-extremely unprofessional environment
- the amount i got paid was ridiculously low and unfair considering my job was basically managing the front end
- absolutely zero benefits
- culture

PROS
-job security
- they work around your availability and offer very flexible hours
- they give you mats to stand on so your feet don't hurt
- I've made some memorable friendships and memories at that store
- lots of room for growth and job advancement
Pros
job security, growth
Cons
culture, no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work with, understanding managers,
Food service crew Deli (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2018
good company but I cannot see my self work there longer. I have no stability at work, no fix hour , they're not so strict when it comes to the part timer worker.
Pros
there is always free food in lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
HMR Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tecumseh, ON15 May 2018
I worked in the HMR department so I served customers and cooked hot food and those were my general duties besides cleaning and washing dishes after 7. It's a pretty easy job and shifts range from 3 - 8.5 hours which isnt too bad. Management could be a lot better.
Pros
good amount of breaks
Cons
stressful rushes of people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going flexible work environment
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB14 May 2018
Good night shift job, Flexible hours, Low stress work environment, lots of information about food and cooking. Lots of food samples, good management and employees.
Pros
low stress easy going work environment
Cons
physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was mostly a cashier
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kelsey drive, St. Johns3 May 2018
It was an okay place to work. Breaks were as minimum as they could get. They were fair with your schedule. People that I worked with were friendly and nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Customary Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 May 2018
I experienced good co-workers, respectable and flexible hours. I was taught my responsibilities and requirements quickly and reasonably. I learned a lot about working as a team
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work, unless you make a complaint about management
Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Glasgow, NS2 May 2018
I worked the majority of my career here. I loved my job and the people i worked with. i moved up the ranks easily and fairly quickly, but the pay was quite bad. I had to beg my boss for a raise after 4 years of service.
the work environment was `the old boys club` kind of environment. So if you didn`t have a thick skin, you weren`t gonna make it. After 5 years, I couldn`t take it anymore. I put a complaint into HR and they fired me for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable and challenging workplace
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Ottawa East, ON2 May 2018
show up on time, punch in, put on your uniform and head down to your cash and help people.
work hard,
customers are kind;
coworkers are great company and also kind
short hours
Pros
great team
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Fonthill, ON30 April 2018
Working with the public is great and the boss is really nice. Flexible work hours and great for taking summer vacations because they give you time off.
Pros
Sometimes free food
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
A la Carte Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB25 April 2018
good company to work for, competitive wages, fast paced learning environment, great management and team, great benefits, fantastic atmosphere, opportunity to grow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice workplace that kept me on my toes
Dairy clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB25 April 2018
simple and productive and the job always kept me on my feet.They did provide for lunch in the break room and all of my coworkers were kind and helpful.
Pros
provided lunch
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,294 reviews
5611
4830
3593
2154
1106

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture