Sobeys Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perte de temps et mauvaise gestion
Entrepot (Former Employee) –  Trois-Rivières, QC23 September 2018
Je déconseille vivement Sobey's Trois-Rivières...

Immense perte de temps lors du processus d'embauche;

Le formation est longue et pénible pour la tâche à effectuer;

Les horaires sont de soirs et non flexible pour les nouveaux;

Panoplie de tests à passer dans une clinique, sois disant, pour vérifier si vous êtes "apte" à faire le travail. (Inutile pour ce type d'emploi)


Bref, je déconseille.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job really helps build experience in the workplace
Bakery, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Slave Lake, AB20 September 2018
This being my first job was great! helped me build skills in the workplace which ultimately has helped me. No matter where you are placed ALWAYS be good to the customer.
Pros
you get to bring home free stuff once in a while
Cons
raises don't ever seem to happen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 September 2018
Bad pay for the work done, looked down on from management, heard it has the highest turn over rate in Canada not a big surprise save yourself the heart ache and do not apply here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a great place to work with new management
Produce Clerk (Current Employee) –  Bridgewater, NS20 September 2018
Not a bad place to work, but they hire more people than they can provide hours for and the management is some of the worst I've ever seen. Not a bad place to start for a first job but would not recommend to anyone out of high school looking for a career or full-time employment.
Pros
Flexible scheduling due to lack of hours
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job not a career
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS19 September 2018
an okay place to work for a student as the hours were flexible and the staff were friendly.

It was hard standing all day whish would be expected as a cashier
Pros
flexable hours
Cons
open on weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB18 September 2018
A sales representative in the food industry. Serving peoples needs. Being polite, helpful and kind. I learned how to handle money in a fast pace setting. In the food industry, "the customer is always right" motto, so always be polite and helpful to make a sale.
Management was organized, responsible and productive.
The hardest part of the job is standing your ground to be polite to a cranky customer. The most enjoyable , on average most people are kind and I enjoyed serving and selling product to the public.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
cranky public.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring
Cashier/Costumer Service Clerk (Current Employee) –  Oakville, ON16 September 2018
basic job. no room for a raise or growth . management sucks and plays favourites very obviously. Only good for people who are retired or a very first job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of flexibility and poor workplace environment.
Grocery (Former Employee) –  Bradford, ON13 September 2018
The job was stressful for numerous reasons, too many to currently list at this time. New management, employees and workplace culture are currently needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job to work as a student.
Front-end Cashier (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON13 September 2018
Worked at Sobeys for roughly three years and did not find it a pleasant experience. Managers are generally rude, expect you to do above and beyond but treat you with little to no respect. If you had a bad experience with a customer they were not understanding of your situation. Would not recommend anyone to work this job unless you're desperate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family Like Environment
Worker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 September 2018
A typical stressful life in the office but we are guided by our very nice and supportive manager.

Every team member is treated like family, which you seldom see at work.

Overall experience, we are learning, and continuously learning new things on this side of the business
Pros
Family like environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working nights and meeting new friends
loader/unloading/order picker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 September 2018
i liked working at Sobeys especially nights , the time seemed to fly by and makes the days go quicker and I also liked the supervisors who worked nights.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace culture but understaffed
Sobeys Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON10 September 2018
Hours are cut all the time and departments are understaffed. Employees left feeling pressured to come into work even on off days to work. They do a good job at trying to maintain a friendly an positive work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 September 2018
good job bad management. bagging groveries is cool wrapping flowers is wet sometimes, carrts in the winter suck but eh is whatever.3/10 would work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 September 2018
good starting job but not leading anywhere, a lot of management and training flaws. more about scolding you for what you do wrong than appreciating what you do right.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the most supportive environment
Front End Cashier (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NS8 September 2018
There are some nice supervisors but I find that my availability is not always followed and I don't think I am very respected there. Other than that it was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team that cares about their employees!
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Orleans, ON7 September 2018
Sobeys gives you the chance to not only just have a job but develop skills in customer service and the department you work in. The staff and management are exceptionally amazing!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grande entreprise
Analyste Sénior Distribution & Logistique (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 September 2018
L'entreprise permet de se développer et permet de changer de département aux besoin.
Pros
Développement
Cons
Incertitude d'emploi
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work team
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON6 September 2018
Had a great time at this place of employment. The staff at this store works together to make a great team. Some days I miss working at this place. Great for students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Part time bakery associate (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK5 September 2018
Poor management. Rude staff. Horrible pay. Super unreliable.
I was working there while in my last year of high school as part time but the manager moved a bunch of people to starbucks when it opened and I was left to be the only one closing every single night until 10:30, even 11 sometimes. I started to fail school because when i would ask for less hours, they cut me down to one shift a week. When i asked for more hours they gave me full time hours with only two days off every week. It was very inconsistent. I ended up having to quit because of this.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring and unhelpful
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Acton, ON5 September 2018
Worked at the deli. my hours were all over the place and changed my hours without letting me know. The manager was never helping me with what I did wrong or explaining how to do something.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sobeys. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 2,415 reviews
5638
4867
3622
2171
1117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture