SNC-Lavalin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement
Administrative Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON16 August 2018
Loved working for SNC. The environment was very friendly and the management encouraged advancement. Hardest part of the job was going home,lol Team work was abound with SNC. Someone was always there to help if you didn't have the tools to do so. Fast paced and challenging.
Pros
Amazing environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict
Building Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 August 2018
usual fed. govt. facility need tons of paperwork to get things done.
but great place to work if you dont mind the safety requirements.
must be done. again easy to get to work by train.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Contracts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 August 2018
It's a great multi-culture company with many good people. I was very thankful for being given the opportunities to grow in the company. I would like to work for this company again if there is a chance in the future.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
No
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people /multicultural environment
Finance Accountant (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON30 July 2018
Enjoyed every day while working with SNC. Excellent team environments. Financial team,Operation team and Management team
Weekly/ monthly meeting with operation team was enjoyable part of my job. When you know the numbers and make result out of it and explain it to team plus their helping feedback.
Pros
Enjoyed working-Excellent team environments, Financial team, Operation team and Management team
Cons
Sold out O & M Sector and had to move with contract to other comapany
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Analyste-programmeur (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC26 July 2018
Productive and fun place. From an I.T. it was particularly important to have the various teams (ie. architects+network administrators+analysts+programmers) work closely and together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Administratrice de projet (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC24 July 2018
Love my job at SNC Lavallin. Good work ambiance.
Work is very rewarding. Made my own hours and had the opportunity to work from home when my kids were sick.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Environmental Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2018
Great team
Great working hours
A lot of communications and meetings
Training/Development sponsorship
Constant communication from upper management
Care for their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health & safety
Property Service Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON3 July 2018
keep up with company policies, provincial and federal rules and regulations
provide training for all policies, perform daily, weekly, monthly inspections of various types
maintain open communications with all levels within the company and clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company to work
Project Planner & Scheduler / Project Controls (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 June 2018
Enjoyed my experience and learnt a lot of new programs.
Good learning of PM+ to understand and use. Good training.
Good location. Good Exposure to Project management
Pros
Learning excellent
Cons
Progression required
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ask for It and Get It
Administrative Professional (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON22 June 2018
work was easy - fun people, great place - relocation of office made it hard to move with the company. Lots of room for advancement and learning. Ask and shall receive!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on the role
Mananger (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON20 June 2018
The employee experience can differ based on the role. The company has gone through some difficult restructures and growth is slow.
Many high performers have left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large engineering company in Canada / worldwide
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 June 2018
Every day is an enjoyable day at work!
There is not much focus on employee development and growth;
Management has several VPs in Business Development who bring in no business!
Workplace culture is healthy and productive with good work-life balance;
Hardest part of the job is work planning - because of last minute surprises.
The most enjoyable part of the work is flexi-time and work sharing between colleagues.
Pros
Great Work-life balance
Cons
Poor opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great time
Consultant, New Business Development (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 June 2018
I enjoyed my time at SNC-Lacalin a lot. Exciting work, great people. Many different skillsets at work on many different projects. I will miss working with my colleagues at SNC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place of work
Bilingual Deskside Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 June 2018
I worked for this great company on 2 deferent occasions.
On both occasions, I so much enjoyed working with my colleagues, management and users.

This company was acquired by BGIS in 2016, where I worked as a contractor for a year and half.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
envirement de travail agréable
superviseur électricité (Current Employee) –  skikda-cherchel-rhoud nous hassi messaoued30 May 2018
j'ai bien souhaité de travaillé toujours avec snc lavalin dans le reste du monde pour avoir plus de technique professionnel
Pros
bonne compagné
Cons
peut de repos
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON16 May 2018
Preparing full construction packages including scope of work, for construction DWGs, standard details

Attended meetings, as necessary, and liaises with various stakeholders to coordinate resources, determine project criteria, and provide information as requested.

Leading maintenance electrical projects (numerous) from conceptual sketch and scope, up to construction (and/or demolition) drawings and all pertaining calculations, deliverables, enquirers, quotes, scope of work and entire construction package.
Pros
Friendly workplace
Cons
Work slow down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sound good
Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 May 2018
Pretty nice engineering firm, friendly, flexible and freedom. Not much work assigned, easily can be handled. The Method of Project management is very good.
Pros
no
Cons
some time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at SNC-Lavalin Nuclear Inc.
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2018
I've learned a lot about different departments as I have worked in every department.

Management is not always proactive but are reactive to business issues. It seems as though it is ok to put money into fixing problems instead of preventing the problems.

The workforce is stretched and there is little to no communication from the upper management down to the working group.

The hardest part of the job is working with a management team who don't use the strengths of their team to their full potential. It frustrates the employees who want to do good work. There is no accountability for people who don't perform as expected. They are not reprimanded for errors, instead the work is forced onto the workers who perform well.

It has been rewarding to see the what can be accomplished when people work together.
Pros
Flexible Work Schedule
Cons
Lack of Management Support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong culture
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 April 2018
The branch I worked for performed poorly from the clients perspective. The Dept heads, in general, abused their positions. They were usually the last to arrive in the morning and first to leave at the end of the day. With this example a lot of the staff wasted hours everyday playing online games, waiting at Tims, and wandering the mall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
impersonal
General Superintendent (Former Employee) –  expat29 April 2018
SNC Lavalin is to much big I guess, it's impersonal, was good before with old school, but they change all management and now they are same as lamb, no back bone, not truth
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SNC-Lavalin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 975 reviews
5379
4336
3171
254
135

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture