SNC-Lavalin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large engineering company in Canada / worldwide
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON10 June 2018
Every day is an enjoyable day at work!
There is not much focus on employee development and growth;
Management has several VPs in Business Development who bring in no business!
Workplace culture is healthy and productive with good work-life balance;
Hardest part of the job is work planning - because of last minute surprises.
The most enjoyable part of the work is flexi-time and work sharing between colleagues.
Pros
Great Work-life balance
Cons
Poor opportunities for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great time
Consultant, New Business Development (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 June 2018
I enjoyed my time at SNC-Lacalin a lot. Exciting work, great people. Many different skillsets at work on many different projects. I will miss working with my colleagues at SNC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy place of work
Bilingual Deskside Support Analyst (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON3 June 2018
I worked for this great company on 2 deferent occasions.
On both occasions, I so much enjoyed working with my colleagues, management and users.

This company was acquired by BGIS in 2016, where I worked as a contractor for a year and half.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
envirement de travail agréable
superviseur électricité (Current Employee) –  skikda-cherchel-rhoud nous hassi messaoued30 May 2018
j'ai bien souhaité de travaillé toujours avec snc lavalin dans le reste du monde pour avoir plus de technique professionnel
Pros
bonne compagné
Cons
peut de repos
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive environment
Senior Electrical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON16 May 2018
Preparing full construction packages including scope of work, for construction DWGs, standard details

Attended meetings, as necessary, and liaises with various stakeholders to coordinate resources, determine project criteria, and provide information as requested.

Leading maintenance electrical projects (numerous) from conceptual sketch and scope, up to construction (and/or demolition) drawings and all pertaining calculations, deliverables, enquirers, quotes, scope of work and entire construction package.
Pros
Friendly workplace
Cons
Work slow down
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sound good
Structural Designer (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 May 2018
Pretty nice engineering firm, friendly, flexible and freedom. Not much work assigned, easily can be handled. The Method of Project management is very good.
Pros
no
Cons
some time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment at SNC-Lavalin Nuclear Inc.
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 May 2018
I've learned a lot about different departments as I have worked in every department.

Management is not always proactive but are reactive to business issues. It seems as though it is ok to put money into fixing problems instead of preventing the problems.

The workforce is stretched and there is little to no communication from the upper management down to the working group.

The hardest part of the job is working with a management team who don't use the strengths of their team to their full potential. It frustrates the employees who want to do good work. There is no accountability for people who don't perform as expected. They are not reprimanded for errors, instead the work is forced onto the workers who perform well.

It has been rewarding to see the what can be accomplished when people work together.
Pros
Flexible Work Schedule
Cons
Lack of Management Support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong culture
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 April 2018
The branch I worked for performed poorly from the clients perspective. The Dept heads, in general, abused their positions. They were usually the last to arrive in the morning and first to leave at the end of the day. With this example a lot of the staff wasted hours everyday playing online games, waiting at Tims, and wandering the mall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
impersonal
General Superintendent (Former Employee) –  expat29 April 2018
SNC Lavalin is to much big I guess, it's impersonal, was good before with old school, but they change all management and now they are same as lamb, no back bone, not truth
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and management in Calgary was outstanding
Senior Technical Specialist Hydrogeology (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 April 2018
Managed a major client portfolio with about six to ten people working in our group of which all were outstanding. Work life balance was good and enjoyed the mentoring part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant Prior Position
Property Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NB20 April 2018
I loved working for this company who focused on customer satisfaction while always adhering to safety work practices.

Good atmosphere, excellent communication with upper management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Property Manager (Former Employee) –  St. John's, NL18 April 2018
This was a part time job working when the weather was good as the position was an outside position.

Company worked on a contract basis and if the didn't get a contract your job may be in jeopardy
Pros
friendly
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly complex environment
Senior Structural Designer (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON15 April 2018
Working in SNC-Lavalin is very challenging. All levels of work requires high degree of 3D modelling that are being viewed by inter-discipline before it goes to the client.
Pros
flexible time
Cons
long hrs of driving
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good EPC Company
Engineering (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Canada11 April 2018
I joined during a busy time with many projects. I worked in a great department with great people. People's experiences will all be different, but I have positive things to say about SNC. The benefits are good, compared to WorleyParsons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possibilité d'avancement à la hautreur des efforts fournis
Analyste à la paie (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 April 2018
SNC-Lavalin a grandement contribué à mon avancement professionnel et je leur dit merci. Je quitte principalement en raison du délai de transport.
Pros
Sentiment d'appartenance
Cons
Travail en ''silo''. Il n'y a pas beaucoup d'interaction entre les départements.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work
Senior Structural Designer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 April 2018
Snc-lavalin is a nice company to work with. We work 5 days a week and 8 hours per day. The working enviroment is nice and people here are nice. Just no project now.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bon endroit pour une carrière
Chef de discipline- Gestion des matériaux (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC29 March 2018
Bonne liberté de travail dans un milieu où les dirigeants vous donnent les outils pour vous aider à progresser dans votre carrière.
Cependant la durée de l'emploi est basé sur des projets. Donc pas de projets, il y a grande possibilité de mise à pied.
Pros
Bon endroit pour connaitre et approfondir son travail
Cons
Pas de projet = mise à pied
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In challenges lay opportunities
Manager, Logistics and Materials Management (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB26 March 2018
SNC is a project oriented company which means that all work activities must be looked through the lens of scope, schedule and budget. This can be frustrating for some, but it is also a driver for focus with emphasis on delivery. It is not for everyone, but those who enjoy pushing themselves and grow faster than industry should look towards SNC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional environment. Provide project guideline to follow. provide adequate training. Appreciate hard work.
Retired from Project Management (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON25 March 2018
Manage Building Interior upgrades, replacement or renovation projects.
20 to 30 projects per year.
provide diversity of project.
Provide assistance as required.
Provide training required as you progress. Allow for additional project to improve or advance.
Pros
Manage our own time
Cons
Manage our own time assistance provided aid required.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrewarding job
Health & Safety Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON21 March 2018
No recognition for doing your job, or doing something above and beyond.
Company had silos, that were very hard to break into.
Upper management could be unreasonable at various times.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Non stop reporting when an incident occurs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SNC-Lavalin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 953 reviews
5370
4329
3167
253
134

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture