SMS Equipment Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 68 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!!!
HR (Current Employee) –  Acheson, AB27 September 2018
SMS is a great place to work! I have the opportunity to work with people from across Canada and everyone is so great to work with! Would recommend to anyone! Over the last 4 years SMS has made so many changes and is always working on becoming better! Great place for advancement and development!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB19 September 2018
Current heavy equipment tech at the Fort McMurray branch, been here a year, have worked for a few different departments, although management is a bit unorganized at times, the atmosphere is good, I enjoy working with most of the people here, we get things done safely and try to have a laugh along the way, the wage is more then fair and always seems to be some overtime available. I dont plan on leaving here, and with the autonomous trucks and other divisions seeming to be busy as well, I hope to be here for the long haul.
Pros
Great wage, overtime availability, benefits and rrsps
Cons
Sometimes unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work With Great Pay
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC23 August 2018
A good work environment, with minimal stress, and knowledgeable coworkers. Comfortable working conditions; they are willing to accommodate if you have any problems.
Typically a calm work environment, but it can quickly change with foot/phone traffic coming in all at once.
Pros
Teaching Environment, Pay, New Office Building
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The branch I was in was terrible
hd mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 July 2018
You couldn't pay me enough to go back. Mandatory overtime even if your wife was pregnant and had a emergency C-section. You are just a number, they do not care about anyone at all.
Pros
None
Cons
Some good co-workers if they didnt quit already
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walking on egg shells type of atmosphere
mechanic (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 July 2018
Did not enjoy 1 Minute of working here management especially the Edmonton branch service manager need to get a grip on reality.
Money was good but not good enough to stick around. Very high turn around rate of people. I would not recommend this sms location
Pros
some of the mechanics were good to work with
Cons
to many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
WELDING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB5 June 2018
Lots of mining work.great team environment. tons of heavy welding and gouging. Safety is important, management is disconnected and a little wet behind the ears.
Pros
flexible shifts.
Cons
Working outdoors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counterproductive - hard to climb the ladder
HET (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB30 May 2018
Feel like you're going backward. Management are really difficult to deal with. Employees and frontline supervisors are pretty reasonable with the exception of a few.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
favouritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs a major house cleaning, starting with management
Parts technician (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 April 2018
It doesn't matter what you know or what you can do, its all in who you know!
There is little upward hiring. Most of the senior positions are filled from outside the company.
Pros
good salary
Cons
Constantly micro-managed by managers who don't have a clue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical management blunders
Wheel motor shop (Former Employee) –  Achesson23 March 2018
Achesson branch. Super bad culture. Supervisors dont do any actual work. Few doing the work of many here. Management is old boy club type. Crowded and dirty. Borderline unsafe due to amount of people and traffic. No procedures. Reviews focus on the one thing you may have done incorrect and will come up everytime. No positive reinforcement. Bad vibes. HR is disconnected from workers. Hard to access HR.
Pros
Big company. Other opportunities within.
Cons
Soul draining.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potentially a good company
Parts (Former Employee) –  Eastern Canada31 January 2018
This could be a great company to work for if they could get a few things organized in management. I observed that employees for the most part were not happy with their situation. There is a lack of training and guidance and respect for the emplyees opinions and concerns. This leads to a large emplyee turn-over in all of the Eastern branches.
Pros
Working for an OEM.
Cons
Lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport

Want to know more about SMS Equipment Inc.?

Ask a question
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
IT Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB24 January 2018
Liked the fact that it was a small company and you could interact lot of people. My only issue was it depended on oil and gas. With the changes in economy there came lot of lay offs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace environment
WAREHOUS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2017
I loved working here but the job was oilfield related and not very stable. The day to day tasks kept me busy and I enjoyed the fast pace environment. Driving the parts truck and picking and receiving were part of the daily tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 August 2017
Nice place to work, room for growth. Interact with many different people from all over Canada. Hours are flexible, overtime sometimes required. Lots of company functions.
Pros
Helpful staff
Cons
Unprofessional managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment/co-workers.
Tech / Service Shop Laborer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 August 2017
Great place to work for heavy duty industry. Quality machines and good techs working on them. Yard is pretty messy once it rains and super dusty when its dry.
Pros
lots of appreciation to employees
Cons
dirty!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible IT Management
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Acheson, AB26 July 2017
IT Management that plays favorites and manipulates people is the culture. Take a pass if you want team spirit or career advancement. Unless you are an absolute beginner it's best to spend your time and energy elsewhere for IT work.
Pros
Free parking m
Cons
Horrible IT management and culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Journeyman Parts Technician (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 June 2017
It was okay working here. Sometimes it felt like if you made a mistake that was pointed out immediately. But if you did something right, that was never acknowledged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay was great but that was it
WAREHOUSE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB9 June 2017
Pay was great but that was it. The place was ran by immature, moronic warehouse wanna be techs. They did not know how to receive or pick orders and was always hiding behind the union.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment w/t nice office space
Sales and Warranty Administrator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 March 2017
SMS Equipment is a fast paced environment that relies on specific personalities to move quickly as the company evolves. The time lines for deadlines are crucial.

The best part about SMS Equipment would be seeing how Heavy Equipment is managed from arriving from the factory to shipping it out on delivery to the customer. There are many steps to making sure satisfaction is met and allows very little room for error. This is great for customer demand and competition amongst other dealers. When I worked for SMS Equipment - I felt a sense of pride seeing the equipment on the road or on job sites, knowing how hard it really is to get them there.

The hardest part about SMS Equipment was meeting the demands of so many people with little to no acknowledgment. Working long hours to meet the demands of departments without compensation.

SMS Equipment does have some of the best managers you will have the pleasure of meeting - it was a difficult decision leaving for a healthier career path.
Pros
Office Space
Cons
Uncompensated hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good work environment.
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Wabush, NL23 February 2017
as a warehouse clerk, i was responsible for all shipping and receiving. my day would start with checking e-mails and notifications. also, i would frequently be in contact with our suppliers and customers, so a good communication skill was required.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was lots of room to move up
Manager, Welding/Shovels/Light Duty (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB16 February 2017
I worked there for 17 years it was a great place to work and it offered me lots I did my welding trade there and moved up the ladder very quickly the pay back then for management was a little low but a great place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMS Equipment Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 68 reviews
514
424
315
28
17

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.0Culture