Sleeman Breweries Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
AR (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC18 March 2019
The management in AR Is not the best, the ability to communicate and lead is very poor. The team itself is small, the office is also small. On the plus side you do get beer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work, Great People.
Maintenance/Engineering Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON10 March 2019
It was an absolute joy to work here, the work-life balance was superb, management was competent, and the benefits were very good. The workplace culture is centred around an attitude of continuous improvement.
Pros
Occasional Free Lunches, Free Coffee, Great People
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest people with respect at all levels of employment.
Junior Project Coordinator (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON15 February 2019
Productive, clean plant with a positive atmosphere. Rewarding place to work, management is experienced and intelligent. Recommended place to work for certain.
Pros
People
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere with really friendly people
Part-Time General Labour (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 December 2018
Always able to feel comfortable, friendly manager who was really relaxed. As long as the work got done there was never any issues.

Would definitely go back if commute wasn't an hour bus ride.
Pros
Really relaxed
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Environment
Junior Maintenance Project Coordinator (Co-op) (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON26 October 2018
Departments work well together. Departmental leaders are level-headed and trustworthy, and support one another when needed. Solid organization, that respects its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good job
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 July 2018
always on the go
was able to learn and operate every machine in the plant
overall the management was good there
they started becoming very safety conscious just as was leaving
Pros
free beer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-worker were very supportive.
Bilingual Accounts Associate (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 April 2018
Co-workers were very supportive. Largely self-directed training through the use of manuals. Workplace culture was changing during my employment from a "small family company" feeling to a large corporation culture.
Pros
Beer allowance
Cons
Job training was largely self directed through manuals - not hands on
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Delivery Driver Helper (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON12 February 2018
I worked as a delivery driver helper with a very kind co-worker I enjoyed my time there, Although I don't know how the job is in the long term as I only did temporary work there.
Pros
Positive Employees
Cons
Very Hot during summer
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement intéressant et plaisant
Conseiller Amélioration et Gestion de Projet (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC9 February 2018
Communications faciles avec tous les niveaux et opérations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon avantages sociaux
Manutentionnaire (Current Employee) –  Anjou, QC1 February 2018
Bonne experience de travaille formation pour sorte d appareilles et sur la sante securiter
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work, but management weren't so enjoyable
Material Handler (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON21 December 2017
The employees themselves were great and the work was fast-paced and enjoyable. But no matter how hard employees worked we were continuously told how we weren't' working "hard enough".
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 August 2017
I've been there for 2 years and I have loved my time with the company so far. The people, culture and environment is very good. The management promote continuous learning and are supportive of new initiatives you take on to make internal processes better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellente école de vie
Superviseur des inventaires (Former Employee) –  Dorval, QC et Laval, QC9 May 2017
L'oie du nord n'existe plus.
Elle a été crée comme division breuvage de ID Foods lorsque la distribution des bieres a été obtenue pour le Quebec.

Puis en 2000, Sleeman Breweries a acheté sont distributeur L'oie du Nord (et ses employés)

Vous comprendrez que de 1992 (ID Foods) @ 2006 (Sleeman) il s'agit pour moi d'un travail continue sans perte d'emploi.
Pros
Grandes possibiltés d'avancement dont j'ai profité
Cons
Quitter suite a l'achat de la compagnie, une entreprise que j'ai en plus haute estime et avec laquelle j'ai gardé contact.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough start but good job
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Vernon, BC25 April 2017
It's tough to get on full time but if you can make it through the on call time and into the union its a great paying job with great benefits. Company doesn't seem to have any loyalty to staffers though.
Pros
Union job great pay
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Power trip
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC5 April 2017
I worked there for an entire year. Long story short: Management is the absolute worst! They treat their entry level employees like they're disposable rather than coaching them to move up within the company.
Pros
pays decent
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Culture
BUSINESS ANALYST, IT and Project Management (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 May 2016
Excellent place to work! Fantastic culture and wonderful people. Very skilled individuals working collaboratively.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Équipe très dynamique et agréable
Aide-livreur (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC19 April 2016
Une des plus belles équipes de travail avec laquelle j'ai pu travailler!
L'emploi était dynamique, demandait une certaine interaction avec les clients et a fait de mon passage une expérience mémorable!
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Sales (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC3 April 2016
From the time you get in to when you leave there is always something to do, staff is friendly and helpful. Ive learnt that patience is key while working here, as someone who is consistently go go go I love to stay busy, when their is down time I will go and find other things to do to ensure I am staying productive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 9Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC20 October 2015
Horrible current manager who is covering a mat leave position. Swears, does not communicate well, no scheduling skills, not reliable and very speaks very rude .Overall the company has too much favouritism.
Pros
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An environment where everyone throws each other under the bus
anoymous (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 October 2015
Overall this is one of most political companies to work for. All senior management are men. Boys club mentality and immature egotistical managers that have no clue about their subject matter.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
Management is an absolute joke
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sleeman Breweries. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 31 reviews
510
413
34
20
14

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Sleeman Breweries Reviews by Location