Skyjack Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you have no life.
WELDER (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON18 April 2018
im going to be straight and honest. skyjack is a great place to work. i enjoy the time spent working with quite a few of the employees as well as most of the supervisors. as long as you keep your head down and do your work, youll never have an issue. my problem though, is that i agreed to help the manager and am now losing out because of it. the management they have on the afternoon shift is nothing short of a joke. they have no idea what they are doing. if you are going to check the place out, stay away from the afternoon shift or keep your head down and do as everyone else does.
Pros
benefits, easy and high paying work, great characters
Cons
working hard gets you moved to places with less people meaning more work you dont even want, management looks at you as a tool and not an individual...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay but takes a toll
Lead Hand (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON25 March 2018
Not my kind of job management is very cutthroat not very open to hourly employees about sales and projections, advancement minimal, poor air quality, mandatory overtime every Saturday all summer l.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Stressfull enviorment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay and some pretty cool employees.
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON13 March 2018
Mandatory Saturdays suck but other than that its an alright place to work. A lot of nepotism there and pretty much everyone that works there is from out of town due to their high turnover rate.
Pros
Decent pay
Cons
Mandatory Saturdays are common
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of overtime
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON13 March 2018
Overall the work itself wasn't bad but they had us working every Saturday for mandatory overtime, even on long weekends or having us come in 2 hours early every day.
Pros
Opportunity to advance
Cons
lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
career and goal orineted
Material Planner (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON8 March 2018
Eliminated unnecessary step in the procurement process, significantly reducing receiving errors and overdue items, arranging materials as per demand/
 Responsible for Vendor relation and doing the site visits, Managing Supplier scorecards.
 Working with Vendor for VMI and MRO Materials and price Quote’s and negotiating the quotes as per cost and value
 Tracking of daily shipping schedules, in accordance with customer demands, open communication with suppliers and making supplier performance reports quarterly
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to Mandatory Saturday's
Paint Unload (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON12 February 2018
Everyone is anticipating the meeting before we start work, and let's face it if they could make us work 7 days a week they would at Skyjack and I would say get out while you still can before you end up with health problems down the road with the horrible weld fumes, propane, asbestos and much more in the air. If you don't work 48 hours a week at skyjack we'll you can kiss your employment goodbye.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Horrible work conditions, mandatory overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible safety awareness
Painter (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 February 2018
During my stint there as a painter, I was instructed to spray a bunch of recalls, out on the floor. There were numerous employees around and the paint contained Isosyanates. Which is a controlled substance. I had to inform the supervisor that this was illegal to spray in an uncontained area and that I wouldn’t do it with so many people around. I was asked to leave the premises at that point. Terrible management with no regard to employees welfare.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything about the place
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great products, great people, poor management consideration
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON2 January 2018
Skyjack builds great machines. Skyjack also puts a lot of attention to customer requests and reacts quickly to address issues. You feel proud of your company.

The people are great. They don't work against each other but together. You can feel that they care about their work, they want to do a good job and they want good relationships with their peers.

The upper management shows no gratitude and little respect for employees. They say or promise a lot of things and then it never happens or they do the opposite later. You feel that nothing is ever good enough. I had great bosses, but above them, it seems that the sense of reality disappear.
Pros
Salary, colleagues, customer oriented!
Cons
The upper management shows no gratitude and little respect and makes impulsive decisions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
laid back workplace
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 December 2017
Skyjack was a very laid back, yet productive place to work. the employees had tremendous morale and were extremely friendly. furthermore, skyjack was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON5 November 2017
was challenging at time. job was interesting learned lots about electrical components able to weld, paint, build scissors lift from start to finish. nice hours days.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Welder (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON4 October 2017
The job itself was ok, decent training, better than most companies, pay and benefits are average. Management are completely clueless and there is no job security here whatsoever. Skyjack used to be a great company to work for before Linamar took over.
Pros
great co workers
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment is a joke
Assembly Line Worker (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 August 2017
How can a company as big as linamar be so oblivious to what goes on in their factories ! They have the worst time managment skills I've ever seen. All the machines that use propane are not built to the propane code becase they don't use sealant approved for propane which you think would be common sense ! Can you say recall ! I really hope they wake up and listen to what their employees tell them.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Managment, hot work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment
Machine Builder (Current Employee) –  Guelph, ON1 August 2017
Skyjack is a fast paced competitive environment where had work is rewarded. it is physically demanding with tight deadlines, your performance is continuously monitored.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people and good people
General Labour (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON24 July 2017
worked night shift from the day i started to work there to the end, i always kept working even when i saw others slacking because there was less management on night shift. I have complained about it but didn't do nothing so i just kept working and picking up other's work loads so i would stay busy. Very hot working beside a oven working over 500 degrees with only a metal fan to cool us down that was one the most hardest things about the job. i enjoy how i worked because my time for work would pass by really fast.
Pros
time flys
Cons
heavy work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON19 July 2017
There was nothing about the job I did not like. Some of the people , like a lot of places had poor work attitudes, but was manageable. Reason for leaving, too far from home, lacked quality of life.
Pros
good hours
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Assembler (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 May 2017
Employees are great but the management has no idea what they r doing. They lay everyone off from August until March. I would not recommend this job if you r looking for security if you want summer work only then be ready to work 3-11
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady Work
Welder/Fitter (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON9 May 2017
Work Steady make your numbers. but foremen push for more which is ok. But as soon as company has there machines they do lay offs. An u have to wait till they pick up again no security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wages, joke management
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON6 April 2017
The wages are fantastic for what you do workwise. Management, most supervisors, and even HR are a complete joke. Have to bite your tongue and keep your head on a swivel and trust no one here, they'll hang you out to dry the first chance they get.
Pros
Wages
Cons
Bosses SUCK
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very good place to work
Manufacturing Engineer (Former Employee) –  Plant 1 Guelph7 March 2017
Was hired for a job I never got to do. Supervisor was not very nice.
It was an extremely hideous working environment. If you have an education, do not work here.
Pros
There is nothing good about this place
Cons
Its a Soviet Era Gulag
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy company with too many layoffs and black fridays
Welding Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 March 2017
Room for advancement, competitive wages and benefits. Did not enjoy watching good employees walked out. Workforce is above average, upper Management is below average.
Pros
wages
Cons
layoffs
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Skyjack. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 75 reviews
510
416
324
212
113

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
2.5Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.9Culture

Skyjack Reviews by Location