SkipTheDishes Pay & Benefits reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad support service. It's just not worth it
Courier (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 September 2018
1. Very expensive to start it.
You have to spend $75 to buy the bags that meet the requirements. If you have your own bag, they will turn you down for any reasons! BECAUSE THEY WANT TO SALE THEIR BAGS SO YOU OWN THEM SOME MONEY ALREADY.

2. Very bad support team
the lines are always very busy and you just wait forever and it will hang you up.
even when someone pick it up, they are very rude and doesn't help you at all.
I lost my bag on the first day, but instead of giving me suggestions, they froze my account immediately. So basically I can't do anything unless I purchase a NEW BAG, which means I have to spend another $75 to meet their "standards".
So, DO EVER LOSE YOUR BAG, otherwise you just lose money and asking for trouble.

3. Very less pay, lower than minimum wage.
If you work for one shift, you are likely to get 5-6 orders. If you do the math, you will find that you earn from 12-13/hr, which is lower than the min, and you have to spend money on gas, and it doesn't look good on your mileage either.
So you are really rely on tips, but some people they just don't tip!
I got 2 out of 5 didn't tip, every high percentage.

4. Time is not flexible
They say is flexible, and you are your own boss that kind of thing. But the truth is not like that AT ALL!
You have to pick your time slot before you start, and it's 3 hours minimum for each shift! What is that?! I thought people would do it because they want to do it whenever they want!
YOU HAVE TO PICK THE SCHEDULE AND CHECK IT ON TIME.
which means when you have some emergency to deal with, you have to call
  more... them and cancel your shift (remember the long wait calls?), and you CANNOT do that very often.
When you want to cancel a shift, you have to give them 48hr notice in advance. again, what kind of rule is that? IT IS NOT FLEXIBLE AT ALL.

It's just not worth my time and effort, you have to purchase the bag first and then you can start, what an unbelievable rule.
  less
Pros
nothing
Cons
expensive to start, rude support team, not flexible, little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
own schedule
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 September 2018
I like skipthedishes over dominos and pizza pizza. because we can choose our own schedule and also earn good money. Even we can enjoy our own music, where as in uber, you have to put music according to customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Pay
Courier Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON8 September 2018
You're basically treated as a freelancer, as you have to provide your own car and gas, as the company doesn't subsidize the cost for gas. They basically make you rely on tips. Don't ever take this job, work for Uber Eats if you want a good salary.
Pros
Chose own hours
Cons
Terrible Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to work when you are free
Food delivery driver (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK29 August 2018
Good to work when you are free and earn some extra cash, you have to book your schedule a head before. overall its a nice way to spend your free time. great experience!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money is low and they have false promises
Alberta (Driver) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 August 2018
The hours typically are very short or extremely long. The pay out is low and completely up to the tips you get. Also gas your use to drive around is no reimbursed at a real time rate.
Pros
None
Cons
Pay for own gas, Hours vary wild
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good experience
Courier service (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 August 2018
A good place to start work in Canada. It gives you a great experience and opportunity to understand better about a Canadian based business environment.
Pros
independent work
Cons
No fixed salary
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Food Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 August 2018
Good place to work and be your own boss and choose your ownt time to work in the week, when ever you are free you can book an extra shift and earn some cash.
Pros
Self supervisor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for extra money
Courier Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON5 August 2018
iam guy in brampton got 1.8 l car good in gas i accept my partime job is not per hour its per delivery yes we lose time sometimes to wait orders wait for 2 hours but i accept that skip is not busy everyday all depend on the time you get lunch time is good dinner is not bad as well take note this is only extra money for your pocket if busy you gain if not you lose time some costumer give tip some is not if ur lucky you get 8-10 bucks tips + transit pay and for maintenance just change your oil in time your car still good shape and please guys dont complain about the gas if ur car is dodge charger honda accord v6 hyundai genesis i seen it some skip drivers the worse thing i seen is audi a4 2.0t dont be stupid using this car with premium gas
Pros
your the boss / no rushh
Cons
no stable salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible work culture
Success specialist (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB16 July 2018
More like #skipsowhite #skipthejoboffer if you are not a white or Indian person, your chances are any promotion/ advances are zero to none. The managers are deathly afraid of the supervisors who basically run the show and treat the agents worse than the garbage at the roadside. There are no raises given even after working for a year and you can kiss any work - life balance good bye as you are expected to work any and all shifts given, regardless of your availability.
Pros
Still waiting to see one
Cons
Your joy and life will be sucked out your soul
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, but a little incoinvenient at times.
Courier (Former Employee) –  Sarnia, ON14 July 2018
Skip The Dishes is a decent job. The pay was all right and getting all set up as a driver was easy, however some things they did, I didn't agree with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent and Easy going
Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 June 2018
A good place that allows you to be independent and allow you to go at your pace.

Learn about lots of destinations and neighbourhoods within Winnipeg, along with knowledge about lots of restaurants
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance, horrible management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 June 2018
The only good part of the job is the people you work with. Hours of operation are constantly changing with no notice and are expected to work which ever hours they choose. They ask you to submit your availability 3 weeks in advance, but you often don't get your schedule until the week, or sometimes a few days before. Management is a complete mess. They expect employees to go above and beyond but give absolutely no incentive to do so.

If you don't mind having no personal life, and working in a highly disorganized environment, this is the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company ever
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON29 April 2018
No proper management
No structured pay. Call center reps wont provide a straight answer. Used to be good when it started with all the bonuses, now they are taking advantage of the drivers.
they pay 3.65 to maximum of $7 for a 20 min (11-14 km) drive. So think about how much gas you are spending.
Sometimes have to wait for 20 min at a restaurant and they wont pay for waiting. All they say is their system will monitor wait time and pay for it which never happened. I had to wait for 20 min once and 15 min many times. Skip team is useless to help with any questions. stay away from this company.

If you really want money, better go with UBER.
Pros
flexible shifts
Cons
terrible management, poor pay, long wait times between orders, knowledge of skip team is the worst
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy, flexible hours
Food Courier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 April 2018
The pay isn’t great but they let you choose your availability and never mess up which hours you want to work, easy enough job of you can carry cash and can stand driving around for a long time
Pros
Hours you work are exactly how you choose them each week, get paid every week instead of every 2 week
Cons
Don’t get paid by the hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glorified Call Centre
Partnership Success Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB27 April 2018
Skip likes to talk about "culture" and "fit" and being a "start up" and while those buzz words may get you excited about working for a growing company, they shouldn't.

Their on-boarding process is pathetic. They'll hire you for a job that sounds amazing but tell you very little about what it actually is. Then they make you go through a month of cross training in various other roles including live support which is a straight up call centre. Once you finally get through that and you get to the team you'll be working for, you still don't have any idea what you're supposed to be doing but you'll realize that the entire place and every role within is call centre related. (Unless you're in the cool building with marketing)

Benefits are basic and nothing to be excited about, the "culture" is dirty bathrooms, dirty work stations, a 30 min unpaid break for an 8 hour shift, but hey there's free oatmeal!

Don't bother working for this place unless you're young and just getting started. If you have any work experience in anything, go use it somewhere else where you'll be more than a number in a call centre.
Pros
You can wear whatever you want. Some guy was walking around the office barefoot
Cons
Some guy was walking around the office barefoot
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Payment is bad
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC19 April 2018
You drive a lot and pay for your gas as well as ware and tare and payment is low pay. you dive about 30 mins for 1 job and most give you about 2 dollar tips. this job is ok if there are close deliveries and good tips.
Pros
Make your own shifts
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible time hours
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 April 2018
Also, You can work whenever you want to make money,
Salary can be really low. this is the pros and cons

They also do not pay for the gas and salvage value for the car.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not happy with earnings
Courier Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON28 March 2018
They send you far away to pick up food and deliver food.
And only getting paid $3.50 - $5. You can make money if you get tip on top.
Delivered 6 trips - average drive was 10 to 12 kilometres and 20 to 25 minuets each trip and average pay was $4 each trip.
Think about gas money and car maintenance plus time you spend to pick up food from restaurant and delivery food to the customer.
Not worth it at all.
Another thing is they charge you $75 for delivery bag which is not even worth $25. And this is how they make money in front.
When I called them to quit and asked to return bag And want my money back ($75) they said sorry we can’t give you refund.
I said why you didn’t tell me that when I signed up with you and he said it’s our policy.
Cons
Long distance and time to drive. Car runs a lot compare to what you get paid. $75 bag charge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours, but meant to be a PART TIME job
Driver (Current Employee) –  Newmarket, ON22 March 2018
Skip the Dishes is a great way to earn a little extra cash. However you need to have an open mind, zero expectations, and a positive attitude. You won't make the same amount each week, sometimes you won't get tipped, but on a whole its a pretty cool little side job. You do need to have a pretty decent data plan, and a fuel efficient car. While working for skip you do need to be reliable, be personable, and have patience. On a whole I like the job and with the right attitude it can be fun!
Pros
VERY Flexible Hours, a good way to earn some extra cash
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Worth It!
Courier Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC19 March 2018
The only positive thing about working for Skip the Dishes is the flexibility of the shifts.

Just the start up costs of joining Skip is heavy.... You'll need:

Your own car and be able to pay for gas out of pocket
Smartphone with at least 2 gigs data
Pay at least 150$ for 2 delivery bags BEFORE getting a single shift

The pay is commission based that is calculated ONLY for the drive to the customer. !So your effectively only earning money for half the effort that goes into each delivery!. The tips you receive from customers is on average half than you would normally get at a similar job. The pay rate between deliveries of similar distance tends to be random.

At best on average you'll get 1 delivery per hour. Only getting more on rare occasions or the 1-2 "busy" days of the week.

The Operators on the Courier "Success" Team are terrible at their jobs. If you have a problem expect to wait 10min or more just to get their attention. They constantly mix-up information and tend to be quite rude when drivers do things "Exactly" as they supposed to.

This company has many divers already (Hundreds PER City). At one point I heard that Skip had almost 300 drivers in my city alone. Which limits extra shifts in the area.

Conclusion:

Low Pay
Pay for your own gas
Limited extra shifts available
Incompetent Operators/Dispatchers
Minimum 150$ start up cost

NOT WORTH IT!!!!
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Terrible Pay and extremely rude Operators
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SkipTheDishes. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 103 reviews
520
423
313
216
131

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.3Salary/Benefits
2.3Job Security/Advancement
2.4Management
2.7Culture