Siloam Mission Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling work
Communications Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB24 April 2018
The clients are everything at this place. Their stories, their resilience and their humour are both inspiring and enlightening. While it's difficult work, you will leave each day with a relatively full heart.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitorien duties
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 December 2017
It's amazing and fun, love to work with the homeless. Knowing where they come from and where they hope to go. Encouraging them to push forward to be their better self.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working all kinds of people..
Street Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 December 2017
I loved working with all inds of people.. .. the staff are great..They have helped me out when no one else would .. great bunch of people who do care..
Pros
Food and caring
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front line staff
Drop in Staff (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 October 2017
Poor staff training
Staff are left closing alone.
Staff are violant towards clients.
Confidentiality is not respected by management
Dont apply if you have a disability you will be treated poorly.
Staff are lazy and sleep on the job.
Food donations are plentyfull yet they ask for money youll rarely see juice or milk for patrons.
Staff degrade individuLs over walkie talkies.
Mental health patrons are turned away
Pros
Patrons train staff
Cons
Lack of proper training
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB11 April 2017
This volunteer position gives you great serving experience and opens your eyes to the culture. this position can become a paying position in the long run if you really fall in love with it
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Volunteer Environment
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 March 2017
A typical day volunteering was basically putting away donations into separate bins as well as interacting with customers who come to shop. The hardest part, as well as the most enjoyable, is interacting with the various people who arrive.
Pros
Very accommodating hours
Cons
Confusing management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, loud place.
Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 December 2016
Quite nice, lovely people, fun atmosphere like your welcomed there. The two chefs running it were really friendly and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB17 October 2016
sorting clothes to specific categories
nothing hard about sorting clothes
most enjoyable part was working with others
i learned that you can become friends with anybody when working
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and organize the basement with donated goods.
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB14 August 2016
I prepared and served lunches to the less fortunate. I learned what to do and how to act when a person is putting myself and others in danger, i also learned how to properly store things and make things look good. I found the most diffucult part was when you had to say no to a person when asked for more food. I enjoyed it when i seen people grateful and happy for the food they have recieved.
Pros
free food
Cons
long houra
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to help people.
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB26 January 2016
People are friendly at there, you will have a good time to work with others, and get experience about how is there work; but make sure you are not in the damage area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly services
Front Line Services (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba6 September 2015
It was a very safe experience and I felt very good to help others in need of food and clean clothing. It helped me open my eyes to the general public in the city of Winnipeg where I choose to live everyday.
Pros
Free dinners
Cons
Casual hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clothes sorting
helper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2014
sorting clothes colours. working with alot of new faces. only worked their for a few days as a volunteer
Pros
helping the community
Cons
waking up at 5am
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN workplace
Assistant (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 May 2014
My job is as an assistant to prepare food for the homeless people. I do a kind of things, such as peer potatoes, decorated cupcakes, and cut vegetables. The most interesting thing is finish operation flow with other Canadians. Indeed, I practice my English speaking and make friends. Moreover, the homeless people are always friendly. I am so happy that I can help them.
Pros
free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced place!
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 May 2014
(Full Time)
-I process donations made by donors, make thank you phone calls, print receipts for special situations, process Gift In Kind donations, sort, organize and open mail on a daily basis, entering proper donor information in our database, checking processed work for coworkers, making phone calls to ensure correct information and also listening to their feedback and making any changes for donors (re; amount of mail, receipts to be mailed, etc)

What I've learned;
-Office/Administrative skills
-Customer Service
-Supervisory skills
-Accountability
-Building trust among coworkers

Management;
-Dealing situations with respect and courtesy
-Correct volunteers with the right administrative procedures with respect
-Keep volunteers on track

Coworkers;
-Very friendly people, encouraged me to step out of my comfort zone, have lots of patience, have taught me lots of office administrative skills, respectful.

Hardest part of job;
-Motivation when mail gets slow (ie; less processing, finding other things to do around the office)
-Dealing with upset donors

Enjoyable part of job;
-Work events; building relationships
-Learning new administrative skills
-Work changes day to day
-Working with coworkers & volunteers
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours due to work events, motivation
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
VOLUNTEER, TRAINING & MEMBERSHIP (Former Employee) –  winnipeg, MB14 July 2013
they were nice, the people are accomodating and fun to be with.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A local charitable organization that serves the homeless population of Winnipeg.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Manitoba7 May 2013
Worked 8-4, Monday to Friday.
The best part of the job was working with the staff, volunteers and patrons. The worst part of the job was the inside politics. The staff were awesome and I was blessed to work with them. I learned that I believe in and love to support charitable organizations but that it is often more difficult to work for the organizations than it would appear from the outside looking in.
Pros
Great working atmosphere and wonderful people!
Cons
Difficult working with people that do not hold up the organization's values.
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Siloam Mission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 17 reviews
57
44
35
20
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.6Culture

Siloam Mission Reviews by Location