Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 April 2018
decent part time job, nice benefits, Long hours and poor management in my opinion. My shifts always interfered with my personal life, and to be honest I just got bored of that job, thats why I didn't last very long there
Pros
long breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No future
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON14 April 2018
Not offered full time, no benefits, no pay increase no matter how hard you work or good you are. They show no appreciation for good employees never give thanks for good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2018
A typical day at work was to stock shelves and clean. I learned how the job market work. The hardest part of the job was to organize shelves that were messy. The most enjoyable part of the job was that the work was not hard at all.
Pros
sick days
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2018
You learn a lot about retail, how to work machines and how to merchandise. You learn to put customers first and learn a great deal of customer service skills.
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great!
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gander, NL11 April 2018
Loved working at Shoppers Drug Mart! My fellow employees (except for some, that were a constant annoyance) were absolutely fantastic. I learned so much while I was there and I thank them for the opportunity.
Pros
Great Commradory
Cons
Management using workers to their advantage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Cash Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
This job has helped me deal with a lot of customer issues and helped me learn different problem solving tactics. It also helped me gain confidence in learning a lot about the different products we sold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 April 2018
I liked it a lot, enjoyed my time. Only reason I left was because a new manager took over and found that work became not enjoyable due to last minute schedule changes ect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working employees
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 April 2018
My job was to set up the store because it has not been opened yet. You had to be very organized and responsible for everything because there was risks involved building shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are not very friendly
Cosmetician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 April 2018
There is a lot of cattiness behind employees that have worked there for long periods of time. They try to claw their way to promotions that they've been promised for over 5 years at times.
Pros
flexible
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op placement
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 April 2018
i was placed here on a co-op position. it was very informative and i truly learned a lot. it provides great hands on experience for those who wish to pursue this industry
Pros
experience
Cons
very strict
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shoppers Drug Mart review of a typical workday
Assistant Front Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON6 April 2018
As an assistant manager I had the duties of managing a store and all the employees without what I felt was the appropriate compensation.

I was responsible for the multiple departments, all their stock and inventory. I had many roles within my job title including: receiving, supervising, merchandising, being a cashier in the front of the store or post office if needed. My job was to jump in wherever needed. .

The hardest part of the job was it was difficult to maintain a work/ life balance with the hours I needed to work.

The most enjoyable part of my job was the people I worked with.
Pros
Growth within the company
Cons
No work/ life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Pharmacist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON6 April 2018
· Counted pills and assisted pharmacist with preparing liquid medication
· Dispatched spoiled and expired medication
· Prepared and submitted weekly reports to pharmacist
· Analyzed situations or data
· Compiled and filed client records
• Provided superior customer service to clients in person and via telephone
• Attended to clients requests and concerns providing guidance and effective assistance
• Performed cashier tasks on daily basis
• Processed customer orders and performed data entry over the phone
• orders as per client’s request
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work experience.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Midland6 April 2018
Unfortunately due to some family and personal issued I needed to leave this job. It was a great work environment with good support from my co-workers.
Pros
Welcoming and fun
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with working with the public
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON6 April 2018
Very educational job, learned a lot about medicine and the needs of customers. Hands on training in this environment. The hours were flexible. All the employees got along with eachother. All tasks needed to be done on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very fun and enjoyable workplace.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC4 April 2018
I love working at Shoppers Drug Mart my fellow employees were very friendly and helpful the manager was an amazing person and I love working at Shoppers Drug Mart.
Pros
1 hour lunch brake
Cons
Strict management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productice, always have something to do
Cashier/merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON4 April 2018
The training did not exist for me when I was there, basically had to train myself,
employees are nice
managers are well they do their jobs to say the least
Pros
discount
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really enjoyed working with the public
Cosmetition (Former Employee) –  Fergus, ON4 April 2018
I really enjoyed helping others with cosmetic concerns. The training provided was excellent. The hardest part was standing on those concrete floors for eight hour shifts. Very hard on the legs. Also working until midnight.
Cons
working until midnight hard n legs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work atmosphere
Front Store Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 April 2018
I enjoyed working at the Westmount branch of shoppers, the employees were all friendly and easy to get along with, and there was the opportunity for advancement. The salary, however, is not all that great, and raises were usually very tiny, which is the reason I left.
Pros
Good work environment, good work/life balance
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for a first job
Supervisor/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Welland, ON3 April 2018
Almost all of the staff are great. The senior management team tend to restrict you from advancing in the business/get a position you want and hire outside, in a sense looking out for the company instead of their staff's needs. Very simple and straight forward job and easy to follow and do.
Pros
easy job, anything for the employees (like lunch day or smoothie day for staff week)
Cons
Senior Staff, short staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Cosmetician (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK3 April 2018
Not a very fast paced job
Coworkers were friendly
Scheduling was complicated
Best part of the job was getting to set up displays for the new products
Pros
creative workplace
Cons
working till midnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,992 reviews
5953
41.1K
3662
2191
1125

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture