Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere and people
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee) –  Bowmanville, ON17 April 2018
Making sure everything is tidy and presentable. Cashing customers out. Awesome customer service experience. Amazing management.
Great staff. Great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
moving backwards
Management (Current Employee) –  Durham, ON17 April 2018
Expectations do not fall in line with labour provided. Consistently cutting back on labour hours and raising expectations. HR department is not concerned with matters unless it could lead to legal action being taken. The ownership and store management together ultimately make or break the workplace environment regardless of corporate core values.

Employee compensation in regards to wages and benefits are terrible. Training is not a priority as there is not enough labour allocated for training hours.

Year after year the standards/initiatives move away from benefiting the employees at store level.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning expierance
cashier duties (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC17 April 2018
i learned to work with the lotto machine
a typical day was learning to understand the daily customers

learned to work with cash register

i really enjoyed being a cashier because i got to see different people and get different opinions on different items on that was being sold
Pros
enjoyed working with people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON17 April 2018
Assisting Customers with day to day purchases any questions.
I have much more about the retail business.
Management was very accommodating to explain situations.
Lifting heavy items
Making sure each and every customer was satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and enjoyable work experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Leduc, AB16 April 2018
Caring for customer needs is the first priority. Other duties include tags, stock, and minor cleaning. The environment is very welcoming and accommodating, it was a great first job experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management and environment
Cash Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hamilton and Toronto16 April 2018
Management depends on the stores. overall it is great with schedule durring school. A friendly work environment. Staff is great, and it is a great place for a part-time job.
Pros
Great staff, flexible schedules
Cons
Doesn't pay very well. Hours can be unfair at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Pharmacy Manager (Current Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON15 April 2018
Super busy pharmacy to work at, but you have a great team to work with and it's very well organized. Everyone helps each other out to get everything done, so even when it's crazy, we can still get everything done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Shoppers
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON15 April 2018
Shoppers Drug Mart was the first job I got when I was in High School. A typical day at work was not always busy but would always be fun. I got to make new friends and enjoyed my surroundings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, BC15 April 2018
the management was helpful but not that helpful. I wish it was a little more hands on learning. I also wish that the staff wasn't so harsh on new learner.
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Merchandiser/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS15 April 2018
i had a great experince i learned how to stock shelves and price items and check the orders to make sure they were right i never had any problems they were great people
Pros
it was a very good experince
Cons
wished i could of been hirred full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good part time job
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON15 April 2018
decent part time job, nice benefits, Long hours and poor management in my opinion. My shifts always interfered with my personal life, and to be honest I just got bored of that job, thats why I didn't last very long there
Pros
long breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No future
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Welland, ON14 April 2018
Not offered full time, no benefits, no pay increase no matter how hard you work or good you are. They show no appreciation for good employees never give thanks for good work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 April 2018
A typical day at work was to stock shelves and clean. I learned how the job market work. The hardest part of the job was to organize shelves that were messy. The most enjoyable part of the job was that the work was not hard at all.
Pros
sick days
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 April 2018
You learn a lot about retail, how to work machines and how to merchandise. You learn to put customers first and learn a great deal of customer service skills.
Pros
Fun staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was great!
Cashier/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Gander, NL11 April 2018
Loved working at Shoppers Drug Mart! My fellow employees (except for some, that were a constant annoyance) were absolutely fantastic. I learned so much while I was there and I thank them for the opportunity.
Pros
Great Commradory
Cons
Management using workers to their advantage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work experience
Cash Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 April 2018
This job has helped me deal with a lot of customer issues and helped me learn different problem solving tactics. It also helped me gain confidence in learning a lot about the different products we sold.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was good
Beauty Advisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 April 2018
I liked it a lot, enjoyed my time. Only reason I left was because a new manager took over and found that work became not enjoyable due to last minute schedule changes ect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working employees
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON9 April 2018
My job was to set up the store because it has not been opened yet. You had to be very organized and responsible for everything because there was risks involved building shelves.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees are not very friendly
Cosmetician (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON9 April 2018
There is a lot of cattiness behind employees that have worked there for long periods of time. They try to claw their way to promotions that they've been promised for over 5 years at times.
Pros
flexible
Cons
people
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-op placement
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON8 April 2018
i was placed here on a co-op position. it was very informative and i truly learned a lot. it provides great hands on experience for those who wish to pursue this industry
Pros
experience
Cons
very strict
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shoppers Drug Mart / Pharmaprix. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,941 reviews
5941
41K
3652
2184
1123

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture