Shell Employee Reviews

Found 916 reviews matching the search See all 5,828 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Project Accounting and Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 January 2019
I learned a lot. I got the experience of JDE, QuickBooks, SAP - SERP, SharePoint, etc.

Fantastic work culture, I enjoyed a lot working with several groups globally. The hardest part of the job is get led off due to all worked offshored.
Pros
Workplace culture, work life balance, perks, etc
Cons
Most of finance/accounting work has been off-shored, Company didn't think about local staff and quality of work, just think about saving money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell Canada
Wellsite Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Alberta15 January 2019
Shell Canada
Supervise and plan projects in wellsite completions and interventions activities in Alberta with
focus on safety, people and productivity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped with management
Gas Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  Montréal-Ouest, QC13 January 2019
Working at shell was a great experience. I was the service attendant and managed the booking for the mechanics. Really taught me time management and organization. I need to be fast and efficient when working as a service attendant. At the same time being the mechanics secretary. The hardest part of the job was pumping peoples gas and checking their car fluids during our cold winters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over all very good
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB12 January 2019
very good company. I like the company very much but right now company sold to other company. Current company very good but the area is so remote, I would like to move some better place. Either Toronto or other cities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 January 2019
Depending on the area you work, global opportunities can be limited. Shell offers a competitive employee value proposition. Shell provides opportunities to move around within the company.
Pros
Salary and Benefits and Work Life Balance
Cons
Non-Stop Reorganization and Restructuring/Slow to make decisions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was pretty good, for a while
Night Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON7 January 2019
Honestly, it was really decent as far as min wage jobs go. Simple, easy. But, then we got bought out and laid off a week before Christmas. Independent ownership is pretty unreliable, it seems.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an ok place
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Parksville, BC3 January 2019
The owner is sweet but hired the wrong person to manage her 3 locations. It would be a better place to work if it had better policies when dealing with workers and emergency time off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC3 January 2019
Overall it was a good experience. I had the opportunity to meet and work with great people.
I would recommend this place to anyone .
Moreover it has a great work culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Maintenance (Current Employee) –  Saskatchewan1 January 2019
over all it is a good place to work

flexible working hours to accommodate schedules and home life
work culture is safe and caring
promote healthy living for employees
Pros
great compensation
Cons
n?a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Sites Operations Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 December 2018
Was a great place but shut down production. Excellent cross training and utlization of staff.

The owners were getting older and as they pulled away from the business it lost a lot of sales.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very postive
Customer Service Representative and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC25 December 2018
great company ,great atmosphere , team work ,team building , great skills improvement .learn new techniques , own by kanburg Enterprise corp . they help employee to excel in career
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Sales representative (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC21 December 2018
fun working at this loc ation, owner was great and knew pretty much all the customers. working with team give me great oppurtinity to understand other and knowing customers opens me new relations with cutomers and get to know them
Pros
flexible schedule
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great for the most part
Shell (Former Employee) –  Campbell River, BC20 December 2018
loved working there while I did. great staff, great customers, get to learn lots on the job, always something to do and can pick up shifts if open schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company.
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Ajax, ON16 December 2018
Well manared and official company. i enjoyed alot with shell too.
that was my first job which gave me basic skills even way of handling responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for.
Finance and contracts (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB14 December 2018
Shell career was very rewarding and challenging. The opportunity for development were excellent and they covered a portion of tuition for advanced studies and other courses.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
competitive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 December 2018
Being big and global it offers unique opportunities but also introduces challenges.
Generally very good co-workers and direct managers or supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting
Gas Station Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sol Plaatjie, Northern Cape12 December 2018
Wonderful place and fun environment full of new faces everyday enjoyed the job and everyday was a joy attending my work and very flexible hours to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the staff and bosses where friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coaldale, AB11 December 2018
Typical day, depends if it was the opening shift or closing. if it was morning you would have to open the car wash and start coffee, turn on pumps and all tills. There wasn't anything hard about the job. my favorite part would be joking around with the regular customers
Pros
free pizza for lunch
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best company so far for me
CSU Handover and Completion Engineer (Former Employee) –  Geoje, SHI Shipyard11 December 2018
The best company I ever worked with. Hope to be a part of this working family again.

Benefits and compensation is at it's best. Very suitable to work in any environment, safety and care for employees is the best.

Hats off to SHELL.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shell
Westlock - cashier (Current Employee) –  Westlock, AB10 December 2018
Very stressful, not sure what all to say, it pays my bills... learnt new things like lotto and how to fixs things on the pumps. Always something to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Shell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 5,828 reviews
52.3K
41.8K
31.1K
2366
1290

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture