ServiceMaster Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Barista (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC23 May 2018
I do light jobs for them occasionally and the people are amazing and the hours are nothing I can complain about. I enjoyed working with them a lot and would recommend
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Cleaner/General laborer (Former Employee) –  Cornwall, ON22 March 2018
owner is great salary is good for what it is if you like cleaning this is the place for you great co workers also .....................................
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 March 2018
Worst place i have ever worked at. Full of drama long hours. You wont be paid your over time the people in the office are 2 faced. You are treated like garbage you will work so hard and not once be told your doing a good job. They will use you till you stick up for yourself then bash you. Over all this place is a joke. And god forbid you have something going on in your personal life as there will always come first ! Do not work here. Unless you enjoy being treated like dirt
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Office staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
physiacl and rewarding experience
Labourer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2017
This was a highly physical and mental job. we were suited up daily because of the smoke dangers. I learned to work with every type of individual from all over the world and enjoyed the experience.
Out of 700 employees i was one of the last 60 to remain in Ft. Mac. until the job was completed..
Hardest part of the job was suiting up and having to break every 2 hours. which included removing all outer wear and when returning repeat the procedure. Was very time consuming for the company.
Pros
Bus every day to work and return
Cons
Job ended
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hours and Flexible Shifts
Commercial Office Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON6 October 2017
A good place to work. great supervisors and co workers. easy, flexible hours but working alone can be a challenge when you have a lot to get done in a short amount of time. sometimes you feel rushed and pushed to very high standards.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Working alone, lots of work to do in a short amount of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work..
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Hamilton Corner, ON28 July 2017
Everything sucks about this company. The management is not people friendly..I hated working there I quit and never go back.. Stay away from this company.
Pros
nothing
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good copany
Restoration Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB3 July 2017
i like them a lot, place to stay while out of town, and the suoervisors are very good to work with. made a lot of friends there, i highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente labora amigable con actividades de camaraderia y sociales benefactoras.
Gerente de Servicios Area Salud (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta Canada30 May 2017
Haber trabajado durante casi doce años para la empresa de servicios ServiceMaster Inc. de Canada, resultó ser una muy extraordinaria y memorable experiencia en los ámbitos de crecimiento profesional, personal, humano, laboral y social. Haber contado con la oportunidad de conocer, compartir e interactuar con distintos tipos de personas como compañeros de trabajo de diversos razas, países, orígenes, culturas, religiones, lenguajes y mentalidades.
Como gerente de area a cargo de la operaciones de un promedio de setenta compañeros de trabajo ocupando puestos de trabajo en distintos centros de salud, clínicas y oficinas alrededor de la ciudad de Calgary, logré descubrir y desarrollar una invaluable experiencia en autogestión como la clave absoluta para gestionar las operaciones y los servicios de un equipo humano de trabajo, descubriendo que: "Los clientes no están primero. Los empleados están primero. Si uno atiende y cuidada de sus empleados, ellos se harán cargo de nuestros clientes." Decirlo y escucharlo suena muy bien y elocuente, on obstante experimentarlo y practicarlo produce una enorme satisfacción y un profundo aprendizaje y descubrimiento que dice mas o menos así: Un manager debe descubrir cuanto antes que solo es posible manejarse a si mismo, para recién desde ahí poder influir positivamente en las personas y sus acciones.
Trabajar para ServiceMaster fue sencillamente una experiencia de gran aprendizaje y crecimiento personal y grupal con compañeros de trabajo que lograron permanecer en sus puestos de trabajo por mas de once años junto a su jefe y a su compañía alcanzando
  more... un verdadero éxito en la disminución de los niveles mas bajos de rotación de personal en el rubro de los servicios de limpieza y desinfeccion de clínicas, centros de salud y oficinas.

Muy sinceramente,

Daniel Orellana Fernandois
  less
Pros
Presidente y Gerente General
Cons
El Rubro de servicios de limpieza es muy adverso, sensible, mal apreciado, mal mirado y generalmente muy mal administrado y liderado.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC18 April 2017
Good Teamwork. Management is approachable. Lots of variety working at various sites. Supervisors are readily available, Like the fact that the cleaning is environmentally friendly.
Pros
Always busy so time flies.
Cons
Most of the employees are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Janitorial Laborer (Former Employee) –  London, ON6 February 2017
Had a really great experience working with at Service Master! My Uncle gifted me the opportunity to work with him and unfortunately after around 6 months, I returned to Sarnia to finish with my education.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Restoration Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 December 2016
fun job keeps me busy most of the time, good crow and managment on-call 24 hours 7 days a week. learned alot at this company good team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Main focus is the 100% zero accident. With Safety experince in Basic Occupational Safety and Health(BOSH)
Facility Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Philippines30 December 2016
Start the day with a prayer and a list of things to be accomplished like Deliverables/To do list. A pattern where you can start your day smooth and manageable. And lastly, be thankful after a long day of doing things right.
Pros
Better Salary
Cons
Will be temporarily separated with Family
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of leadership
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB15 December 2016
un organized, lack of leadership on their part, inconsistent. the wage was not competitive and there was no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work for this company
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB25 August 2016
Me and along with 4 other people got fired for bringing up health and safety issues. When they found out I took pictures of toxic clue that was used on the work site, then the same day i was sent home.
Pros
Good pays, fun work
Cons
terrible management, do not care about safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perhaps the worst company I have ever worked for
Crew Chief (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 August 2016
Service Master Edmonton hired a huge amount of employees to complete restoration projects that included cleaning up high schools in Fort McMurray.

The management was unorganized and incompetent, treated the labors like animals and fired about 2 people everyday. I can confidently claim that there was no one in the company that actually appreciated the way this company runs. If there is no other job out there, perhaps it is worth it then. Otherwise, don't waste your time with these guys.
Pros
You have a job, when there is no job out there.
Cons
Too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
light duty cleaning adequat hours
Cleaner/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC15 July 2016
the people you work with are nice and easy to get along with,not pushy or bossy. the gymes are easy to access by city transit
Pros
have time do things during the day.
Cons
short shifts, good for pay supliment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good friendly enviroment
Reception/Service Co-ordinator/Admin/ACSO (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON22 September 2015
Loved working at ServiceMaster!! It had some issues, as all companies have, but it was a great environment to work in. Everyone there was incredibly friendly and easy to get along with! Shortly after me starting there I already felt like I was among friends!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Player
Part-time Administration & Receptionist - P.M (Current Employee) –  Head Office, Mississauga9 September 2015
ServiceMaster is a very busy business with many different tasks such as dealing with the public in emergencies, management know they relay on me to act professional at all times, co-workers are busy and often need assistance. I enjoy my job and was hoping for more hours.
Pros
great team to work with
Cons
Part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love the people here
Crew Chief/ Service Team (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 July 2015
great work place great work environment bosses are great at accommodating the staffs requests very hard working people here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place To Work
Building Maintenance / Disaster Restoration (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON13 March 2015
Always something to do, good management as well as good hours they treat you good if you do your work good with transportation and a variety of work areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at ServiceMaster. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 573 reviews
5162
4169
3137
241
164

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture