Seneca College Employee Reviews

Found 293 reviews matching the search See all 303 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seneca college is a fun place with strong relationship between students and the professors. Occasionally events are organised with student counsel.
Lsb assistant (Former Employee) –  North York, ON15 May 2019
Seneca College is a fun place. I was a full-time student at Seneca College by the time I applied to the position as a coop student. After I got the position, I start working with some of my professors and that is really uplifting! I got some friends from the professors from Seneca management!
Pros
I have got free lunches and flexible working hours
Cons
weekely work hours are short
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helped introduce students to college
SMILE MENTOR (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON1 May 2019
This was an interesting volunteer experience as it helped me build both my interpersonal and leadership skills. The experience also helped me become more comfortable with working with people.
Pros
Free celebrations
Cons
Not enough time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 April 2019
Great place to work. Management is excellent . The working environment is good for new comers. Supervisors helps a lot. There is a chance of growth here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great semesters
Educator (Former Employee) –  King City, ON5 April 2019
Overall Seneca is a great employer.
But, each semester is Different as far as your individual teaching load. Huge inconsistency.
Some courses are very well developed with lots of material, texts, assignments, and tests to start with. But some have almost nothing. Class side can vary from 32, average to huge double loads with 86 students. Which makes grading impossible.
Generally, 2 or 3 courses in one program sometimes 3 different courses, 5 sections, across 3 programs.
Very little to no team meetings or strategy.
Pros
Autonomy in your course, great time off
Cons
Little teamwork, or none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I just study here
Seneca Civil Technician Program Student (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON31 March 2019
Seneca Civil engineering program is very good program, they provided very good courses which are very practical and very useful for civil job market, and most teachers are very good to try to pass all his/her skills to help you for your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun easy student job
Office Administrator (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON21 March 2019
seneca is a truly underrated institution. the school really cares about its students. so much thought is put into making all students have a comfortable and safe time on campus. the work is simple and easy to do with minimal supervision and guidence.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student of all ages
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 March 2019
Giving lecture, preparing and grading test papers and schedule.
Number of Student in each class ranging from 15 – 30
Managing student problems related to course and personnel issues
Pros
Meet different types of people around the world
Cons
Resolving Conflict among student
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Student Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 March 2019
Recruiting new prospectives, promoting program options, answering general inquiries and phone calls. Representing the college at events and on a daily basis helping fellow students with any questions in any way necessary.
Pros
Great experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a excellent opportunity for personal growth
Survey room Monitor (Former Employee) –  seneca college6 March 2019
• Responsible for the distribution and collection of survey equipment
• How to do the job better and be familar with the workplace culture
• Assist students with the management of survey data
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with students on line
INSTRUCTOR - ON LINE (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 March 2019
Most enjoyable is helping students get through the course material. Seneca supports the on line instructors with IT help and admin help. Never has a problem getting a timely answer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great manager
Social Media Specialist (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON2 March 2019
Wonderful people to work with and the perks of working for a post-secondary education means flexible hours and work/life balance. Also got a gym pass for free.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people, flexible
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 February 2019
Straightforward work with a supportive team. Understanding of the needs of student workers. Convenient location and hours (for peer tutors. Good job for students.
Pros
Flexibility, Supportive, Meaningful work
Cons
Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a volunteer advisory role
PAC committee member (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON26 February 2019
Seneca takes advice from external stakeholders to help determine if the programs they are offering make sense to the industries that they are targeted to support.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for full timers
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON23 February 2019
Seneca College is an excellent place to work. The people, environment and culture are all focused on the pursuit of education and knowledge sharing. It is an environment best suited for full time rather than contract work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun pace to be
LAB TECHNICIAN (ASSISTANT) (Former Employee) –  North York, ON4 February 2019
People whom I worked with were kind and caring. they would explain and assist through the tough times at the job. a lot of pressure of the tasks would get lowered by the supervisor himself. he would keep us talking and working at the same time and one would be eager to show up the next day.
Pros
fun people to be with
Cons
demanding job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional workplace,great people
Facilitator/Outreach Specialist (Current Employee) –  Vaughan, ON31 January 2019
Not easy to move into permanent if on contract part time.
great people and work place,very professional.
There is professional development and access to all type s of learning methods.
Great employer if can get permaneent
Cons
hard to move to full time positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good educational institution
Professor (Current Employee) –  70 The Pond Rd, Toronto, ON29 January 2019
A college with a generally positive working environment, well-equipped technologically, yet offering little job advancement. A typical day at work involves holding lectures and interacting with students , as well as exchanging ideas and sharing views on literature and business communications-- this is the most enjoyable part of the job. The hardest part is applying for teaching contracts every term.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seneca is great
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 January 2019
The lab assistant program at Seneca is great as it helps students not only to make some extra money, but to apply their knowledge in the same classroom helping other students
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PSW Clinical Supervisor
PSW Clinical Preceptor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON12 January 2019
First time working with Seneca and in this role. I had a great coordinator who was very supportive and available if I ever needed her. Even for a PT position, they offered pension.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Working off hours to mark or prep for students
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i was a student
Volunteer and Special Projects (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2018
my college experience was great. My instructors we amazing, I learned a lot and made friends during my stay. I would recommend anyone go there to learn.
Pros
good education.
Cons
so difficult profs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Seneca College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 303 reviews
5150
4111
335
26
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.2Culture