Second Cup Employee Reviews

Found 352 reviews matching the search See all 402 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no job security
Manager (Current Employee) –  Canada13 February 2019
Only franchise locations. Corporate stores are anomalies and if closed or sold, you are no longer required. You are taking over stores that are underperforming and are expected to make a profit where none is possible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON3 February 2019
As a franchised company, it can hard to write a review. My experience was poor because the franchisee's, however, someone else might have the nicest franchisee, creating a better experience.
Pros
Free drinks before and after shift
Cons
short shifts, low pay, minimal room for growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  North York, ON1 February 2019
Heat up new coffee. Clean and keep everything organized, management didn't show up that much. Learning all the different drinks and recipes, drinking some good coffee.
Pros
meet new people everyday
Cons
working staff changed often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for Students
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gatineau, QC31 January 2019
Went from Barista to assistant manager in a mater of a few months working there which felt great and showed that hard work pays off. Shop environment depends on owner. Mine was great and did her best to be flexible with everyone's needs and schedules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical day at work
Barista (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON30 January 2019
A typical day would consist of serving and dealing with customers. My manager was strict and did not provide me much training but I still overcame it and proceeded well with my job with the help of co-workers. I liked the hours because they were on weekdays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illegal Work
Barista and Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON28 January 2019
The person who hired me decided I would work there for 2 weeks without pay. When I found out I was allergic to the smell of coffee I was immediately fired instead of position switch.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Streetsville, ON21 January 2019
Really fun and good experience. management very bad depending on the franchise. learn various skill of communication, customer service, and customer engagement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uplifting environment and amazing coworkers.
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 January 2019
The Second Cup Coffee Co. is an amazing work environment, with very exceptional managers that represent very ethical work places. In my two years with the company I learned many things about customer service and the interesting form of latte making. The most amazing thing about Second Cup is definitely the customers and building relationships with your regular customers, as well as the amazing staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Barista (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON12 January 2019
When I was hired the franchise changed ownership and the new owners were terrible. Leaving food out too long, asking too much of undertrained employees and just general incompetence.

11/10 Would not work there again under that management.

The other staff however were both supportive and wonderful, both to other employees such as myself and to the customer base.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Terrible Management/Owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rollercoaster Pace with Free Coffee during your shift
Barista (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 January 2019
I have worked in various locations in Toronto and the GTA, so I have worked in both fast pace and slow pace environment. It is a good first job because they were flexible with the schedule when I was in school. The downside is at slower pace locations, I would be working by myself. This meant I sometimes would open or close the store alone. The only good part I like, is the coffee I get to drink during my shift.
Pros
Free Coffee (During Shift)
Cons
Long Hours, Working Alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Coffee Agent (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON11 January 2019
Conflicted reviews regarding franchises and corporate views on how things should be or could be done in regards to product and staffing. Franchise staff is treated in an illegal and unethical manner and corporate knows of this but refuses to act.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON20 December 2018
is a good place to work according to the owners!!
a good amount of hours, discount on food, free drinks, part time, full time , everything depends of the owner
Pros
choose part time/ full time / free drinks
Cons
not even 50 % Discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and productive environment that rewards attentiveness and quick thinking.
Barista/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 December 2018
Working at Second Cup was a very rewarding experience for me for the brief time I was there, however the work in a coffee shop could be a bit stifling at times. I found that the people I worked with were very kind, however, and always lent me a hand with any questions or mistakes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Barista (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB1 December 2018
it is a good place to work, work hour is flexible for part time job, this job require a little coffee skill that can work on the espresso machine, and also need communicate skill to talk with customers.
Pros
a fun place to work
Cons
less paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
don't work here
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON20 November 2018
Conflicted reviews regarding franchises and corporate views on how things should be or could be done in regards to product and staffing. Franchise staff is treated in an illegal and unethical manner and corporate knows of this but refuses to act.
Pros
none
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Barista (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC14 November 2018
great environment, nice people
learned how to prep food and drink
its manageable
workplace is usually nice and fair
always working solo by yourself during a shift while doing everything
making drinks, and drink the creation i made
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medicore
Manager/Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON11 November 2018
Overworked employees, very lazy management, employees expected to work 12-14 hour shifts with only two break sessions. Favoritism plays a huge role in the cafe.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
organized and friendly circumstances with co-workers.
BARISTA (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 November 2018
My owner of the workplace was so friendly and he taught me very kindly. Not only that fortunately, I had a very much supportive co-worker who trained me well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What you expect
Barista and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON4 November 2018
You get what you expect
Store staff is friendly
You get free coffee
People are helpful
Flexible work schedule
Overall good place to work
Average pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocrity
Supervisor / Head Barista (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 October 2018
They are saying it is second to none, but the management is just a second. You will be enjoyed why they cannot beat the other coffee brand. They have to change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Second Cup. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 402 reviews
5125
4131
392
231
123

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture