Seasons Retirement Communities
2.9 out of 5 stars.
Get weekly updates, new jobs, and reviews

Seasons Retirement Communities Employee Reviews

Job Title
Location
Showing all 145 reviews
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Finally managers that listen and care. Working at Encore is happier and more positive. New GM empowers staff to be confident in their jobs! Good communication with staff. Fun place to be.
Pros
Fun, teamwork, support from managers
Cons
Bad communication beyond the home.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
4 February 2021
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to read you felt working at Seasons Encore was a positive experience, with great support and lots of fun! I would love to understand more about your comment about communication beyond the home. At a minimum during the pandemic, Seasons updated staff, residents and families weekly, and we have just invested in a new communications platform. I see that you are a past employee but if you had suggestions for improving communications, we would be interested in hearing them; you can email us at inquiries@seasonsretirement.com. If not, thank you for your service to our residents. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors. Sincerely,JenniferEmployee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
The staff are all there for one reason and it is the residents. They all care about providing the best care to the residents and also building bonds with their coworkers. As a fun manager, i am a certified recreational therapy assistant. I have a lot of support and encouragment from other staff members who make me feel proud of who I am and what I do for the residents.
Pros
The residents
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
29 January 2021
Thank you for your review! As a Fun Manager you plan resident activities that are meaningful, interesting and of course fun! In particular, we appreciate the important work you and your colleagues have been doing this past year to ensure residents are connected and engaged while remaining safe. I'm so glad to read that you feel supported and encouraged by your team. Thank you for your contributions to Seasons! Sincerely,JenniferEmployee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Seasons is an okay place to work in general. I was very excited to work for this company until I got about a month in and started having a hard time going to work because I dreaded the ignorance here. There management sucks as I have never worked at a place where all of management with the, exception of one or two people, not having a degree in any form; Medical field or not. They will work you as much as they can and the more you do for them the more they expect from you with little to no reward. They also cater to people who have been there for longer (IF THEY ARE GOOD OR NOT). Its very sad as the patients are the ones who suffer from the lack of management. Don't expect much from this place and learn how to say NO as they will work you as much as they can.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
26 January 2021
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you had a negative experience. I have to challenge your claim that only one or two leaders have a degree at this home: In fact, all of our service team leaders hold either a degree or a diploma in their related area of expertise. Regardless, Seasons believes in promoting skilled, dedicated team members. A degree or a diploma isn't the only route to growth within our company. Further, we follow our collective agreement when it comes to seniority. Perhaps that is what you witnessed when it comes to staff who have worked there longer. In any case, we wish you all the best in your career path. Sincerely,Jennifer Employee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
What a great team and even better residents. Working at Seasons is fulfilling. Sure, the job can have its challenges, but the people you work with and the relationships you form are superb. Definitely recommend.
Pros
discounted lunches, great culture
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
25 January 2021
Thank you for your review! I loved reading that you feel fulfilled by your job and that you scored the culture so highly. In your role you are an ambassador for our company. Thank you for the important work you do to help new residents and their families navigate this significant change in their loved one's life. Sincerely,JenniferEmployee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
If you’re looking for a work place that under pays and throws their staff under the bus look no further. The turn over rate is insane as they pay management minimum wage and expect them to do everything. Head office will throw anyone and everyone under the bus to ensure they are covered. They will threaten your job with no back up information and then act shocked when you quit. They truly care more about making money then they do about any of the residents in the building.
Pros
None
Cons
No support and under paid
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
21 January 2021
I'm sorry to read that you had a negative experience. Your account is not in keeping with Seasons corporate culture and the supportive work environment our team members tell us they love. Without more detail we can't look into your claims further, but your feedback is appreciated. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.Sincerely,JenniferEmployee Services
Rate your recent company
Share your experience to help others
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I worked at Seasons as a guest attendant for a little over 3 years while in university and then some. If you have a passion for helping others, an easy going attitude, and a lot of patience, then you could love this job. My co-workers are some of the most compassionate and extremely hard working people I have ever met and worked with. The jobs its self can get busy, physically demanding and you're always on your feet, but that can be a good or bad thing. Call ins/vacations/open shifts are very common so there is always opportunities to pick up hours, which is perfect for casuals and a bonus for ambitious part/full timers. The only downside to that was that call ins were last minute sometimes. Building meaningful relationships with the residents was personally my favourite part. There is such an opportunity to make a positive impact on others while also being positively impacted yourself. I couldn't stress that enough if I tried. The residents are what make this job so enjoyable, and someone's bound to make you happy every shift. Stress between workers and management in this job is inevitable for everyone working together in the imperfect system that health care is, but for the most part everyone is really just trying their best. My advice to any staff member is to please take care of your health first, whatever that looks like.This job was a stepping stone in my career path, and was absolutely perfect for me. It brought me out of my shell, strengthened my communication skills, and gave me many transferrable skills that I continue to find beneficial to me now. They also - more...
Pros
Building meaningful relationships, free food sometimes
Cons
last minute call ins, sometimes understaffed
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
18 January 2021
What a wonderful description of your experience at Seasons and how it shaped your career. Thank you for the positive review and for the important contributions you made while at Seasons Amherstburg. We wish you continued success. Thank you,JenniferEmployee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I have been a long time employee at Seasons Dufferin Centre ..I love my career here....it's not just a job it's a second family...food is my passion...from going from working in restaurants to working in retirement homes... retirement is much more rewarding and I enjoy every day I come into work,yes it is hard work, but the rewards of making the residents happy are endless. So if you don't like hard work this isn't for you but if u enjoy making people happy and making lasting friendships with the staff and residents . Come join our team...Seasons is a great place to work...You get out of the experience what you put into the experience 🍰
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
18 January 2021
Thank you for your positive review! I loved reading that you are a long time employee who loves their job in dining services. Food is an important part of our residents' experience at Seasons. Thank you for being passionate about the important role you play at Seasons Dufferin Centre. Sincerely,JenniferEmployee Services
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
They rarely paid overtime. If they did it was hard to receive ( sometimes taking up 3 pay periods to get). Rules were constantly changing ( not just Covid related) Was told we were using too much PPE. Ended up supplying my own as I refused to be limited to the number of gloves I used and never having them on weekends anyways.
Pros
The residents are great.
Cons
Little pay, management allows bullying, limits to your PPE.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
30 November 2020
Thank you for your review. I'd like to address some of your concerns, as what you describe is not in keeping with our operational standards. Overtime is paid in accordance with Alberta employment standards / the collective agreement. I'm sorry that you experienced a delay. We take the procurement and management of Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) supply very seriously. While it may be true that PPE is considered very valuable and is stored appropriately, Seasons team members enjoy an ample supply and are not to be refused if they asked for more. I will ensure this remains the case at the location you cite. Thank you for your feedback. We wish you all the best. Jessica
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I was hired as a Guest Attendant in Memory Care and was grateful for the amount of training I received. The training allowed me to be successful in my new job and I love working here!
Pros
Residents, coworkers
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
9 November 2020
Thank you for leaving a review! Yes, Seasons provides ample training in order to best prepare our team members for success. I'm glad that this was your experience and that you love your job! Thank you for the important contributions you make at Seasons Amhertsburg!Sincerely, Jessica
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Working with staff was great Management runs on fear based model disciplinary actions just happen in which you are totally unaware of you are made to sit in open forey for everyone to see you and humiliated then called in office You are then suspended and have to grieve it many things are little and should be handle by manager and not taken to disciplinary measures
Pros
unless u are managers pet there are non
Cons
no encouragement / fear based control
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
1 November 2020
Thank you for leaving a review. We want to foster an open, welcoming work environment; I'm sorry to read that you feel otherwise. We appreciate your feedback as it gives an opportunity to reflect and make important improvements. We wish you all the best.Sincerely, Jessica
Help us improve!
Is Indeed your favorite place to learn about companies?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND SEASONS BELLE RIVER TO ANYONE. The managers are clueless as to how to manage. New hires quit before the start working. All they care about is filling their empty beds and collecting rents. Staffs wellbeing is zero to none in the managers eyes. This home is ran under a dictatorship. They offer lots of services to your loved ones just for them To sign the lease. Afterwards no promises is carried out from the managers. The residents are always complaining about how the HWM promised something and never followed up on it.
Pros
Great residents! Through half of the residents are not retirement home appropriate.
Cons
Clueless and Terrible Managers
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Nothing is consistent and enough bad managers to make it difficult (think yelling). Some managers from different departments will act as if they're your direct manager. Also the people there can be pretty catty and unforgiving. People would push their jobs onto you. Not many people take responsibility. One day you'll be told to do something one way and the next you'll be yelled at for doing it that way. It can be so frustrating. Many employees are taken advantage of and work past what they're paid and often denied that deserved pay.
Pros
Head manager is a godsend, Residents are obviously the best part, There's some staff there that will make your whole day, Regular hours even if you're casual, If part time or full time you will get a set bi weekly schedule, Also, theyre pretty innovative with how they've delt with covid.
Cons
Working late often out of your control, Some bad managers, Cliquey work environment, Inconsistent rules and instructions.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
28 October 2020
Thank you for leaving a review. We appreciate team member feedback as it helps us grow as an organization. We have shared this with our onsite management team and we wish you all the best.Jessica
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I found management to be lacking experience and overall professionalism. Inappropriate jokes and lazy managers. But the senior and staff were great but over worked.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Terrible manager and low pay
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
As someone who's been working for 6 yrs I'm very shocked at the amount of bad reviews given by current and past employees. Nowhere is perfect and there's always room for growth and improvement but overall Season's has been a great place to work and the residents are well taken care of. I see my colleagues going above and beyond to provide the best care possible. I'm proud to be an employee of Season's Retirement.
Pros
pay
Cons
The amount of days worked to days off could be better. 12 hr shifts for hca's should be considered
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Toxic management team! Poison to your soul! Don’t even apply, you will be miserable! Worst company to work for! Feel sad that the residents are stuck living in such a poorly managed facility .
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
20 August 2020
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. I see that you are no longer an employee at Seasons. I wish we had the opportunity to address your concerns while you still worked with us, especially given that we have a new Management Team at this location. It appears that the greatest majority of our negative Indeed reviews are from past employees, and not our current employees who were recently surveyed and helped us achieve Great Places to Work status. That is helpful insight that we will investigate further. In any case, we sincerely wish you all the best in your future endeavours.-Reanna.
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
When your hired they will be talking about there Disney theme and base there company on Disney. In the hiring package it even asks what disney character are you? Who doesn't like disney at any age right? Well that should of been a red flag. Everyone gets online training thats it once a year. But no actually job training for managers. You'll be asked to do things you have no idea how to do. When you ask the GM or corporate for help with more training you get mistreated after that for going behind the GM. The GM favorite words are "figure it out" . The culture about seasons isn't what they make it out to be i worked 15 + years as a HCA and never once seen so much Neglect, lies to cover up stuff. If you are really in need of money , your health is more important then a job there. Only sad thing is the residents pay the price im sure thats why most staff havn't left.
Pros
Residents staff
Cons
abuse
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I treasured working with Seasons and maybe some people will not agree, but their higher management are so humble I am so blown away. You can talk to their CEO and COO without feeling intimidated and I think that's what sets them apart. It is a domino effect that go down to their local management in each sites. Everybody from the management to the housekeeping will try their best to help residents and their families and overall I don't have anything but positive things to say regarding this company. Work there when given the chance, I think it's an awesome place!
Pros
Good, healthy and fun working environment
Cons
They can improve regarding staff development, particularly as the health sector is always evolving.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
31 July 2020
Thank you for the positive review! I'm so happy to read that you would recommend our company to others, and that you feel Seasons has a great team culture. We wish you all the best. Sincerely, Reanna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Very poor management. I really enjoyed the residents. Went from housekeeper to cook and then to aide. You can work your butt off, and you won’t be appreciated from management. When I changed from cook to aide ( after working for almost a year at Seasons Ponoka), without explanation tried to cut over $1.00 off an hour, from my salary. I quit the same moment. No regrets on my Side.
Pros
Close work from home
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
28 July 2020
Thank you for your review. We recall this situation, too, despite it occurring more than a year ago. It is true that different roles in our company pay different wages, and that we are bound to adhere to our collective bargaining agreement when it comes to our wage grid. Regardless, we welcome team member feedback as it helps us grow as an organization. Sincerely,Reanna
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
It sounded like a dream come true. They sounded like they had all the similar beliefs about their resident care as I did. Until I started working there and realized that if you couldn't speak up for yourself as a resident, or if you did as a staff, you were treated like garbage. I fought for weeks for a resident who needed help, who never got it. With all the things going on in LTC I was not wanting to be there when the ministry came in and wondered what was going on, why I was stating they needed to see a Dr. yet were not providing one. IF that were my family member, I would figure out how to hold the whole Seasons community responsible. Who is over-seeing these homes? Also, almost never getting a break as we were too busy or understaffed, being told we had to stay if our replacement didn't show, and on-call management not answering their phones ever when we called after hours with emergencies or issues, that is irresponsible and dangerous. NEVER did a manager answer the phone when we called after hours. So do not waste your time, as you will not be respected, nor are the residents and it will break your heart.
Pros
The residents, many of the other PSW's and housekeeping
Cons
Poor lay, poor union rep.
Was this review helpful?
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
Always understaffed you get harassed basically to come into work they will not stop calling you. Employees are nothing but ignorant the wellness centre staff are RUDE house keeping is RUDE kitchen staff think they own the place the GM is AWFUL. The pay is terrible for the amount of work you do cant believe people with 0 nursing school are giving MEDICATION.
Pros
The residents
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
30 June 2020
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to read that you feel you had a negative experience. It is true: We expect a lot from our team members, as we believe our residents deserve the best care and customer service. It is our goal to provide work-life balance, however we are grateful to all Seasons team members who have stepped up during this unprecedented challenge to our healthcare system. To be clear, Seasons ensures all unregulated care providers are adequately trained in safe administration of medication at the time of hire and annually thereafter, including hands-on training and an examination to secure certification. I'm sorry Seasons was not the right fit for you; we wish you all the best. Sincerely, Jessica
Job work-life balance
Salary/Benefits
Job security/advancement
Management
Job culture
I typically work either 4 or 8 hour shifts and they are the perfect amount of fast-paced to make it enjoyable but not stressful. I've really enjoyed my time at Seasons and the bonding moments with the residents always remind me why I love coming to work. Management is supportive and always there to answer any questions you may have and other team members are always happy to help.
Was this review helpful?
Official response from Seasons Retirement Communities
16 June 2020
Thank you for your positive feedback! I'm so glad to read that you love coming to work and that you feel supported by the management team. Thank you for all you are doing to keep our residents happy and safe! Sincerely, Reanna