Sears Employee Reviews

Found 2,564 reviews matching the search See all 25,585 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ploace to work
Parts and Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 January 2019
Very sad it closed I gave a good time of my life to them. Was a great place to work. People were great, Management were cool. Unfortunately the American screwed us all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON15 January 2019
was a good place to work if you like selling items such as kitchen ware and clothing. Was very slow for the majority of the time unless special sale days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My time at Sears had many ups and downs.
Sales associates (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE14 January 2019
Management were great for the most part, they were always willing to give extra time to show how to do a fold or open cash, or help.on the computer.
When I became a manager I made sure to check up.on the associates see how there day was going, give extra help, lend a ear or give a hug, gave high 5s when needed.
Pros
Managers were easy to talk to. Staff were all treated like family
Cons
At the end, know one knew anything, CEO would day something, and it turned oit to be a lie.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB13 January 2019
I cant say much about Sears as I was only there about 10 weeks before they closed. But the time there seemed like a family atmosphere enjoyed going to work
Pros
Family Atmosphere
Cons
They closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Storehouse/storeroom organizer.
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON10 January 2019
Minimum wage, sorting stock and organizing the storeroom. Had a manager change after the 1st month of work and the workplace environment rapidly went downhill. Went from having 3-4, 8+ hour shifts a week to 5-6, 3-4 hour shifts a week. Would come in, sort the entire warehouse/storeroom in 2-3 hrs, get sent to the floor to make sales and still somehow make 2nd highest in the men's section.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Relationship Executive (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, Canada10 January 2019
at sears i learned how to handle customers, time management, humbleness, how to stay energetic, how to work efficiently, etc.
the culture of Sears is quite friendly and helpful, motivational, fun to work with colleagues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working at sears
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 January 2019
i like to work at sears because my family know a person that work there and she works in children clothing my job was organging the clothes and puting hangs away and helping the costumer out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent job for what it is
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB3 January 2019
Sears is a fine job that never overstressed me and the managers were all kind enough. Sears stores were always a mess so there was always something to clean, but the customers were nice for the most part and management was kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jumped from a sinking ship
Clothing Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC3 January 2019
I loved almost everyone I worked with. Unfortunately, the writing was on the wall and people could see the crashing and burning of Sears Canada from miles away.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Terrible management on a corporate level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Sales Associate, excelled in customer service (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON2 January 2019
great place to work nice people long hours but not too bad according to breaks . good pay and just an overall nice place to work. Managment is very helpful for new employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment
Sales associate and cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 December 2018
It was fun having to communicate with customers everyday and as a very social and lively person i really enjoyed it plus my love for fashion made my experience incredible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entraide, esprit d'équipe
Chef ressources humaines (Former Employee) –  Sherbrooke, QC26 December 2018
Grande diversité au niveau du travail;

Coordonner la logistique d'embauche.
Élaborer et animer des ateliers de formation.
Mettre à jour les dossiers d'employés.
Effectuer diverses tâches reliées à la paie.
Répondre aux demandes des employés.
Répondre aux demandes du directeur.
Pros
Travail d'équipe, beaucoup d'entraide
Cons
Salaire
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Retail sales clerk (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC22 December 2018
Good company to work for, Worked in order desk placing customers orders. Part time 12 hours week. Good friends to work with. Sears closed out of busness
Pros
good company
Cons
went out of besness
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow together
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 December 2018
A typical day at work would include serving the customers with the best customer service you've got to serve them with.
The management was very supportive and pushed us towards the betterment of everyone in general.
We were trained very well such that we could work without supervision the whole day and manager to get good results in terms of sales and satisfaction.
Pros
very accepting and friendly environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job, good experience
Sales Floor Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON21 December 2018
Enjoyed working there but unfortunately closed down.
The work itself was typical, management didn't bother with employees too much but was there if needed
Pros
good work environment
Cons
break policy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work culture , very rude and abrupt ending
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON18 December 2018
productive , structured, cordial ,great work life balance great people to to work with ,before shutting down for business every one was confused , if ,how and when it is going to happen
Pros
co workers
Cons
job uncertainity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent people to work with, but below average work.
Receiving Associate (Former Employee) –  Pickering, ON17 December 2018
Work was tedious but the people you worked with made it workable.
Some managers were difficult to work with and made the culture and atmosphere for the day worse than if they were not there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working culture, while it lasted
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON15 December 2018
Very productive working environment. Heartbreaking to see so many people who worked at the company for all there lives out of a job due to the closing. Glad to have met many of them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company to work for
District Visual Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 December 2018
As District Visual Supervisor, it was amazing to be apart of the new reinventing of 10 Sears store across Canada. A typical day was filled with conference calls Financial review, product review department review, Visual etc... The hardest part of the job was enjoying it too much. The enjoyable part of the job was travelling and visiting all the stores, ambassadors, General Managers and Department Managers.
Pros
Expense paid for
Cons
Paper work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne energie
Maintenance et responsable (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC10 December 2018
la communication excellente , un plaisir a travailler , belle et bonne énergie,j'aimais mon travail
Pros
plaisir
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 25,589 reviews
55.8K
46.9K
37.1K
23.1K
12.7K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture