Sears Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail productif et agréable
Conseillère à la vente (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC20 May 2018
J'ai adoré mon expérience chez Sears.
Les employés de la succursale sont rapidement devenus comme une seconde famille pour moi et c'est ce qui a été le plus agréable dans ce poste.
Parfois certains clients étaient un peu plus exigeants que d'autres mais ces situations étaient bien gérées.
Ce qu'il fallait faire en tant que conseillère à la vente durant la journée :
Service aux clients selon leur besoins.
Placer les vêtements minutieusement avec rapidité.
Pros
Bonne ambiance
Cons
Courtes pauses
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sears
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON19 May 2018
Is was a good job while it lasted the company went down hill in the last few years. Sears went bankrupt last year so this company no longer exists...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON18 May 2018
It was a god experience overall
Meeting new clients everyday
Learning experience was good
Culture of the workplace also good
Hardest part was - it was commissioned sales
Enjoyable -- god interpersonal relationships
And sense of satisfaction when goals were met
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was ok to work there
Customer Service And Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC16 May 2018
Most of the staff was friendly
The manager didnt really care and were often rude
The hours were not consistant and were often changed
We were mostly under staffed due to the amount of people not showing up half the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 May 2018
company that had no clue what direction it was going in. weirdest customers possible and some of the most uneducated workers to be in one job that should never be working in retail
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor
Merchandise Flow Analyst (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 May 2018
poor environment, poor salary, poor culture, not great benefits, not a great work/life balance, quite a bit of pressure and overall not a great company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON15 May 2018
While working at Sears, I learned how to work under pressure. The work environment at Sears, namely in the department in which I worked was very fast paced. Which I found to be the most enjoyable part of the job. Working in a fast paced environment taught me the importance of collaborating with my coworkers in order to get things done in an orderly fashion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Warehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK13 May 2018
I liked working here. lack of hours. loved people who I worked with. Only down side was timed when packaging products for the customers. never know how many hours your going to get.
Pros
fun
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB13 May 2018
nothing I can say matters any more because the higher ups ran the company into the ground. they had a great discount of 25% on almost everything but they shout down
Pros
great people
Cons
shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall it was a good job
Shipper/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Ottawa West, ON12 May 2018
Work was okay worker were nice I loveedmovimg fridges and other heavy objects off of the trucks and placing them on the floor for Buyer to pick them up
Pros
1 hour lunch
Cons
Co-op placement no pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C'était la place pour travailler
Vendeur, caissier (Former Employee) –  Place Fleur de Lys12 May 2018
Mauvaises décisions administratives ont causé la perte de Sears.
Pros
Ambiance générale
Cons
Mauvaises décisions administratives
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
compagnee sur le declin
chef de maintenance (Former Employee) –  Québec City, QC11 May 2018
aucun respect pour leur employee meme ceux qui travail depuis plusieur annee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale Associate
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Thornhill, ON10 May 2018
Before I joined Sears I had no experience with selling products to customers, however when I got involved with selling products I enjoyed my job and I learned lots of experience working with other people such as sale associates with high degree of knowledge.Overall, I learned lots of crucial skills.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced energetic place to work, always something to do.
Replenishment/ Visual Manager (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NS10 May 2018
Sears was a great place to work and cut my management teeth, lots of support and help when needed.
Things could change at the last minute, keept you on your toes..you always need a backup plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The co-workers were the best!
Merchandise Presentation Team Member (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON9 May 2018
We were each assigned our own specific area, which we merchandised to store standards, with planograms wherever possible, to incorporate them into the area.

I learned to work individually but also as part of a team, when we had to reconfigure an area or do inventory or do the markdowns for Clearance, then remerchandise it.

Some management possessed real people skills and others did not have a clue, as to how to be team leaders and bring out the best in staff.

For the most part it was a wonderful place to work because we loved working at Sears and were all proud to be part of the team.
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Weekly signing, which sometimes did not have the correct information.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work with lots of summer BBQ's
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC9 May 2018
I had the pleasure of working with a fun, and professional team. I learned a great deal about excellent customer service during this time with Sears. The management at this time was very supportive and professional with all Sales Associates. I enjoyed working with customers in the bedding, bath, housewares, lighting and drapery departments. I became very adept at helping customers with their re-modeling and redecorating needs.
Pros
Summer BBQ's, Christmas dinners, Thanksgiving dinners and pizza lunches were enjoyed by Associates and family members.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing
Associate Store Manager & Senior Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON9 May 2018
They killed an amazing business. This used to be a company that everyone could trust. It slipped away because of an owner that no longer wanted a business...just the money.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'entreprise a fermée
Caissière et conseillère à la vente (Former Employee) –  Bruno, FR8 May 2018
Emploi étudiant agréable
Mais l'entreprise a fermée ses portes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sale associate in Modern Shop (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON7 May 2018
Always a great day working at Sears. Room to move up or stay exactly where u are. hours are great and you have a balance between life and work. too bad they are closed now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
out of business
Catalogue Agent (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB6 May 2018
Overall it was an alright place to work at. Got paid well and the hours were good. Got paid a little late a few times because direct deposit wasnt a thing there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sears. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 23,349 reviews
55.3K
46.4K
36.5K
22.8K
12.4K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture