SCHOLASTIC CANADA LTD. Employee Reviews

Showing all 9 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment but busy!
Bilingual Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON13 May 2017
It's generally busy because the call volume is generally high. I was trained on all skillsets and I am working on advanced tasks along with assisting supervisors.
Pros
Cheap books and employee store
Cons
Being late by one minute is a big problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON3 February 2017
I enjoyed working for scholastics because I was always keeping busy there was always something to do. the people in the workplace were very friendly and the work was not hard it was just very competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Order Services rep (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON19 November 2016
I was a contract(seasonal) employee for short term but really enjoyed working here.
The employees and managers were very nice and helpful .
Pros
great work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best part time jobs
Order Desk Clerk (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON21 August 2015
Supportive management who are flexible and work around school. Interacting with customers and being able to help them was the most satisfying part of my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, safe and family oriented environment
Line Support (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON22 July 2014
A typical day is monitoring levels books and other educational stuff for picking and shipping. Drive forklifts to get boxes of books in bulk. Coordinate with co-workers in setup or teardown of monthly chosen items.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company not growing, only sustaining.
Traffic & Customs Specialist (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON14 May 2014
Company not growing, only sustaining. They will not offer advancement, or gainful employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Book Fair Sales Consultant
Book Fair Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Canada9 December 2013
Disfunctional management. Right hand doesn't know what the left hand is doing. Each branch office makes up their own rules. Great having summer, xmas and spring breaks off.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
Management does not appreciate talent unless it is inner circle
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Markham, ON28 April 2012
Scholastic is a fun place to work. People are friendly. It is a place where I do actually look forward to going to work. Great atmosphere and I enjoy interacting with the customers every day. The hardest part is you have to be very flexible with the hours as you are expected to work different shifts including evenings and Saturdays. The best part of working here is having our summers off.
Pros
have summers off
Cons
night shifts and saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SCHOLASTIC CANADA LTD.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 9 reviews
53
43
31
21
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

SCHOLASTIC CANADA LTD. Reviews by Location