Schnitzer Steel Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
CAR PAD OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC6 June 2018
If your not scared of hard work and getting dirty then this is a great place for you. Good pay and great benifits plus a solid group of people and great managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gained experience
Alberta - Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB14 November 2017
i worked for schnitzer steel for a coupple years and enjoyed every moment of it all the crews were really good to work with got to see al of the oil sands
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hinton, AB13 July 2017
Schnitzer is a great place to work. Good to employees with lots of room to advance. I learned more in three months about office work than I thought I could thanks to a great office manager.
Pros
Great wages
Cons
No job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers where very helpful
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack, BC22 April 2017
They no longer have employed long haul drivers everything is owner operator. Not sure what it is like now as they are a American company and no longer live in area to find out what it is like there now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and perfect place for work
Heavy Equipment Operator/production leader (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 February 2017
I loved working st pick n pull and it was really good place and safety was a good concern and they cared about the employes and we were like a familly and we did and get the job done the right way
Pros
Free lunches sometimes
Cons
Long hours and over time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exrtemely great place to work, miss that place
Parts Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 February 2017
Best job I ever had, I wish there wasn't so many cut backs and so many division that got closed without notice, was extremely sad to leave there.
everyone was promised job security, but a year later 300+ employees lost their jobs across Canada.
If i was asked to go back i would in heart beat.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Health & Safety Specialist (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC24 August 2016
Schnitzer was a great place to work (Surrey). Its too bad that the metal commodity industry isnt very stable, which did affect my employment. Management was good and culture was generally good. Wages could have been a bit higher, as my position was paid averagely compared to industry standard. This was a very enjoyable place to work and the people are fantastic. I was sad to leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company in a tough business
Regional Buyer (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC21 June 2016
A great company to work for in a very tough business. Despite market challenges the Management team is extremely supportive.

If you can handle a volatile market this is a great place to work.
Pros
Mentorship, Support, Challenges
Cons
Long Hours, Stress, Economic uncertainty
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good community of people to work with.
Journeymen Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Surrey BC10 June 2016
Good company to work for. Layed back mentality with most co workers. Could use some management structuring. The place is located on a section of property traded by a train track. Hard place to leave if you need to get somewhere on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady work
Supervisor/Heavy Duty Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 March 2016
-receiving trucks and loading trucks with materials
-processing and sorting materials
-organizing and starting the crew for work day
-love what I do so long hours don't bother me
Pros
paid lunches
Cons
to many cheifs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
need managers who know the industry !
former employee (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC2 January 2016
company has great potential, too many bean counters and no knowledgeable experienced managers, just over educated no experience managers.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
terrible managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overlooking Operations
Operations Manager & HSE Representative (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB11 July 2015
Responsible to ensure operations were ran effectively on a daily basis. Inexperience in the scrap steel industry was working against me along with minimum supervision and coaching. shortage of manpower and equipment did not allow our team to properly bid or complete a job in a timely manner which effected our ability to establish clientele.
Pros
Opportunity for work and contracts were readily available
Cons
Poorly managed, and insufficient resources to completed day to day operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challengeing and tons of experiance with lots of equiptment
Millwright Apprentice (Former Employee) –  BC23 March 2015
it was a good place to work but no balance between work and home was allways on call day and night but also a good company to work for good people and management
Pros
lots of hours lots of overtime free to modify equipment as needed
Cons
on call 24 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits but not a stable environment for a career
Transportation Dispatch supervisor (Current Employee) –  surrey13 January 2015
not to bad to work for but the only problem is that stability within the company is very bad. even if you do your job you could be without 1 due to company cut backs. the staff is good and work very hard to make the company money but the prob is that it is publicly traded so staff cuts are inevitable.
Pros
pay/benefits
Cons
stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding environment very flexible job
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 December 2014
Operate Heavy Equipment
General Labor
Very fast paced work environment
Very flexible hours
Family oriented team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great recognition for good work.
Driver/Operator (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 August 2014
It can be a challenging place at times, but they are never shy about providing you with the safety equipment and training that you require, and they will recognize and promote those that they think are deserving. They aren't the most generous with their wages and salaries, but they are at least average.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, bad economy
SCALE OPERATOR/ASSISTANT ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Victoria18 March 2014
Was challenged in ways I hadn't been before in previous jobs, office manager was fantastic. People at the location and in the company at other locations all very helpful.
Unfortunately the company is dependant on the metal market being strong to secure jobs so unless you have your Occupational First Aid Level 3 your job isn't a forever thing.
Pros
great people, fun clientele, challenging
Cons
clientèle can be very trying and stubborn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work and to bad they closed shop
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chilliwack18 February 2014
good place to work....long hours and high miles. Everybody there was good to work with..Winters can get alittle hard. Sometimes the Roads can be bad but other then that I injoyed driving
Pros
well looked after trucks and equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive,no fun job
Labour (Current Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC10 February 2014
This company is not a good place to work and for this im in search of other work.
Pros
there are non
Cons
under staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety minded company with agenda to down size
Senior Welder/Fabricator (Former Employee) –  Victoria BC13 April 2013
I very much enjoyed working in the steel recycling industry , being a welder fabricator it was like working in a candy store
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schnitzer Steel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 129 reviews
533
428
328
218
122

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
2.9Culture