Schlumberger Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job day
Completions Technical Sales Engineer (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB30 October 2017
My day starts with checking emails and arrange my to do list and start doing out for meetings with clients. either for coffee or lunches. Then, come back to work on the proposals for next day submission. During the meeting, I get more info about an integrated work with other product line where I can feedback my management for actions. I believe is the hardest part of the job is how to line up meeting and get the client accept my invitation for meeting. Workplace needs to be team work and this culture varies from team to another.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and great learning opportunity
Operations Controller (Former Employee) –  Canada25 October 2017
Company was great for investing in employees by sending them on training seminars to assist with understanding the company and the culture during the good times.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for advancement
Field Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB11 October 2017
I worked there for 34 years and saw many changes through out the company. Overall it was a great place to work even though the work was hard and you were away from home quite a bit. Benefits were good. I even got retiree benefits. I met lots of people from different cultures and backgrounds though this company. Their commitment to safety is excellent. I would work with them again if offered the opportunity.
Pros
Good saleries, good people
Cons
Long hours and away from home quite a bit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, lots of hands on learning
Senior Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL10 October 2017
Schlumberger provides a great opportunity to start your career and jump in feet first. They demand a lot, however, and in the recent downturn, have expected too much of those who are left. This culture will likely shift as the oil and gas market stabilizes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work with.
Bulk Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB25 September 2017
As a huge international company, you are just a number to them. Pays very well, has a safety culture, they provide everything you need to perform and complete the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Senior Drilling Engineer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Several Locations23 September 2017
as a global organization, Schlumberger scores high.
it offer immense amount of training, and works on developing its employees.
career is not limited to what you do. you can work in different locations/functions.
Pros
good salary, good training
Cons
work-life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global big company with multi-culture
Cost Accountant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2017
learning is more about deep than broad in the accounting field. Lots of internal control in place, team work, and cooperation are very important. Cross training for supply chain, project management, currency hedging, international banking, inter company transaction and internal pricing, etc.
Pros
Global culture, cross field learning, safety is always number one, balanced life is highly valued.
Cons
some training not accounting related but essential in big corp
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a fun working environment
Global Training Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  London, UK11 September 2017
Productive and a fun working environment with lots of opportunities to travel and work in different places all over the world. Diversity is well encouraged within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great training, Good people
Field Completions Engineer (Former Employee) –  Aberdeen City24 August 2017
Some great people at the company where I was based, training was fantastic, second to none, however they take your pound of flesh to pay for it, and work life balance is almost non-existent for long spells, you do get well paid for the work it has to be said.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
PROCUREMENT ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee) –  Red Deer County, AB11 August 2017
Decent Company, working with some great people. Plenty of training resources available, and lots of advancement opportunities.

The volatility of the market creates lots of uncertainty for the future, and unfortunately affects many aspects of the work/life balance, often requiring long hours and working from home just to get the job done.
Pros
Excellent training resources
Cons
Long hours, Volatile Market
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance, good money
Senior Field Engineer (Current Employee) –  Grande prairie9 August 2017
No work life balance, good money If your ok with the lifestyle. Typical oilfield environment where work can be sporadic at times but i have been steady for long enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and safe work environment
Completions Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 July 2017
Being proactive is key to excelling in Schlumberger. Safety is of utmost important in performing any task given. One great thing about Schlumberger is you can always count on the support from your team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for careers
Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Whitecourt, AB27 July 2017
Schlumberger provides great benefits along with above average pay.
The downside is the difficulty having a home life with a young family. Always travelling but you get to see some very nice places and neat experiences.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Human Resources Intern (Former Employee) –  pakistan26 July 2017
Everyone was very welcoming and ready to teach you. The company is pretty goal oriented so there's always something to do but all managers are very supportive and team members are very efficient.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
High Stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profrssional, attractive and challenging working environment
HSE Manager (Former Employee) –  Soyo, Cabinda17 July 2017
Getting transfers overseas is exciting, in same time challenging where is to hard to settle and implement SLB culture where it is absent. It is also hard when we are limited with ressources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Service Delivery Manager (Former Employee) –  Midland, TX5 July 2017
Very competitive workplace with excellent diversity programs. Employee progression is taken seriously. Excellent training program for employees. Good benefits package and adequate compensation. Good management style but with a very top heavy structure. Employee motivation can be improved.
Pros
Good products and services with well trained personnel
Cons
too much management and the employee sometimes becomes a number.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Production & Economics Engineer (Former Employee) –  Venezuela29 June 2017
Excellent training and work environment. Travels were required most of the times. Excellent relationships with clients. Nice and intelligent people working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Good company !
Supply Chain Internship (Former Employee) –  Calgary, Alberta Canada27 June 2017
Team work was an excellent experience for myself. It was a pretty good opportunity for getting general experience in the field and applying policies and procedures in the work and projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A balanced, respectful workplace
Electronic Field Technician 2 (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB25 June 2017
I have a had quite a few different and varied jobs before I started at Schlumberger. Using that experience as my reference point, I rate Schlumberger in my top 3 of best jobs that i have had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Equipment Operator 3 (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB19 June 2017
As a big company Schlumberger has many benefits but also a few drawbacks. The movement of its managers in theory is good but in practicality can cause upheaval and chaos. In the time of working there employees were treated well and enjoyed their jobs, however that had not always been the case. Just part of being a number in the big machine
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Schlumberger. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 4,358 reviews
51.7K
41.6K
3752
2196
199

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture