Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in Edmonton, AB

Found 42 reviews matching the search See all 2,163 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very charitable company
Production Worker, (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2016
Lots of quotas to make on impossible deadlines
Company did a lot of charitable work with the community
Worked overtime on a constant basis when quotas for the company were not met
Pros
Good shift times
Cons
Bad management and safety practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production: overworked and underpaid
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 July 2016
A high-stress, extremely corporate and toxic work environment.


Words by my co-workers:

"I can't imagine another company that would put a bag of donations above someone's safety."

"Sometimes I just go home and cry."

"I have never felt so under valued and under appreciated."
Pros
benefits
Cons
stress, safety, physical health, mental health
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work and underpaid
customer service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 May 2016
its hard work your underpaid and no one cares about you. i hated working for the company. i loved the work but always hearing your not meeting the goals all the time and if your group keeps it up you will be fired was not fun. if you missed the goal by 1 or 500 you got told that weekly. I was the only one on my side meeting my goal as i printed my own tags and could see what i was doing every day. I still got this speech.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Designated cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2016
They are overall pretty great, they do as best as they can to protect and serve for the community and they are know for their astounding amount of volunteering work.
Pros
lunches, meeting new people
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers fun and easy to work with
Salesclerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 January 2016
Cash handling
Debit and credit transactions
Organized products for customer ease
Cleaned and maintained high traffic areas
Provided helpful information to customer
Assisted with finding items
Received and allocated donations
Pros
Fun and busy environment
Cons
Benefits available to fulltime staff only
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 December 2015
In a days shift one must handle cash, maintain the store clean,accept donations,solve queries of customers.I learned to handle cash and I learned managerial skills from my managers by observing them at work in how they deal with customers.Co-workers are good.Hardest part of job is standing outside in cold at times to accept donations from customers.Most enjoyable part is the food that sometimes the management provides.Getting proper hours is another problem there.Job working hours are flexible which is very good if you are a student.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2015
Was a relaxing work environment.
Staff was great to work with.
I had very flexible hours

Cons- Working evening I was shorted hours to 11 hours a week due too students working and not having enough hours to give me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good
cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 November 2015
I made a lot of friends. I learned how to talk to people and work as a cashier. There was a friendly environment, but there was a case of stealing and some mistrust.
Pros
Friendly Enviroment, made lots of firends
Cons
Some Mistrust, and sometimes bad supervison
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Community involved
operations (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 November 2015
Was a great opportunity for getting to know my community.
I was involved with the Community Donations Center and was cross trained to work in operations.
They are very flexible and a great team to work with.
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
Managment Shifts and schedules where inconsitant. ex 11hrs a week. then 20hrs the next.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Job That Never Gets Old
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB25 August 2015
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
employee (Former Employee) –  edmonton, AB28 July 2015
from my experience, employees are really nice, there's always something to do, but always the 3-4 same tasks over and over.
although only two of the managers are nice and the other ones are really rude.
Pros
?
Cons
on-call shift (you have to call them so not paid if they dont need you), for closing shifts you have to stay an hour later. Store really disgusting and unsanitary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provide good hours and benifits
Production Team Member (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 July 2015
The schedule is good for people with children. Overall it is hard work with a small wage. The work is based on a daily quota so it is a lot of fast paced repetitive work. There are quarterly bonuses based on sales and a Christmas bonus. After one year employees receive two weeks vacation. The busiest time of year is Halloween and you will be expected to work some Saturdays.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace environment
team member/sales associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 July 2015
-flexible hours
-There's usually something to do so you don't get bored
-Great team members
-Cool benefits
-Hardest part is working at the donation center and having to lift really heavy furniture if no one else is able to help.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
late hours during halloween
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with no stress
team member (Current Employee) –  edmonton .ab.ca2 June 2015
Customer handling is the main part that one can learn.Management and co workers communicate less being a student this is the best job to do
Pros
flexible working hours
Cons
salary was less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no fun at all just hard work
sorter (Former Employee) –  edmonton20 May 2015
people were nice friendly if I as to stay in the city I would stay there I recommended too anyone for a nice stay . its really nice not to be around all the noise .
Pros
everyone was friendly
Cons
not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work fast fun and proffessional
Quality Controller (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 December 2014
I loved working at Value Village I took pride in making the store organized and the staff there where all great people to work with I really enjoyed working with the public and had many regular customers, I was very impressed with how the management worked closely and caringly with the staff overall review It was a great experience
Pros
many extras cake, lunches bonuses, discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Cashier, Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 April 2014
This job is alright if you are about having some fun in your work life but their salary isn't very high.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers are very nice
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 January 2014
It is a fun place to be and co-workers are very helpful.
it is a nice workplace and the co-workers care about you.
Pros
supervisors provide free lunch on sales day
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always fun working with co-workers
Part time sales clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 December 2012
*Tuesdays Seniors sales day.
*Learned to use cash machine and learned to scan items or merchandise.
*Always be polite to customers and always call supervisor for difficult customers.
*Friendly co-workers.
*When customers complains about pricing high yet still they buy it.
*Meeting a lot people and having a quick talk while scanning the items they buy.
Pros
having free meals at work site provided by the company
Cons
overtime work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time is so precious at work
Production Staff (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2012
learned how to priced and the brands of clothes and shoes. I get along with everyone at work so even though the job is hard I still manage to enjoy. If i have problem I can just go see any supervisors or go to the office. Tiring but fun at the same time.
Pros
get discount as a staff
Cons
salary takes time to increase
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 2,163 reviews
5447
4580
3606
2268
1262

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.2Culture