Save on Foods Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
CASHIER AND GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee) –  highgate kingsway burnaby8 March 2018
work is perfectly managed by manager.
team work and punctual.
outstanding management
workplace environment is perfectly good and friendly.
the most enjoyable part is that they celebrate every festivals with party.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
GROCERY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Wingham, MB7 March 2018
Save On Foods is a diverse food chain, I learned quite a lot about customer service and a being a grocery clerk. It was very enjoyable because they have a great staff but sometimes management can be a little confusing and overall I had a great time!
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good family friendly place
Baker (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 March 2018
It was an overall good work experience still wish employees hours were up but also have to respect the planning and Decision of the managers tiem sheet.
Pros
Free food once and awhile
Cons
Not enough work hours and hard work for the time given to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to look for both semi and permanent work
BAKERY CLERK (Former Employee) –  126 Kensington Blvd, Saskatoon, SK S7L 6V72 March 2018
My typical day at work was signing in and then throwing away what product went bad that day. I then went and gathered the product needed to fill shelves for the day, and went over what cake orders were done or needed to be done. Then I would start making the popcorn, and periodically throughout the day serve customers and make popcorn bags.

I learned many valuable decorating, time management, and personable skills.

The management was all kind and understanding, they did their best to help you do your best.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
Not enough hours for everyone at the time I was working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a good job full of fun and also dedication but it was quite far away from my home
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC28 February 2018
I loved the job but it was too far away from my home due to which i left the job.and in the end i would also like to mention that if u have to respond to my resume,please email me because sometimes my phone doesnt work.Moreover i made many of my friends there .They were all cooperative and i also learn to work hard.The hardest part of the job was when we dont get the breaks on time.The most enjoyable part is to help others at job and also have fun with them.
Pros
sometimes free food from bakery
Cons
we dont get sometimes breaks on time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice small stint
Store Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK28 February 2018
Worked in the graveyard shift. Ease of work, no pressure, nice teammates. Great management and always understanding. Nothing much to learn but as worked for short duration cannot much say about learning that may happen in a long period.
Pros
No work pressure
Cons
No free food as promised, less hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli cerk
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC26 February 2018
My typical day at work was a full shift, 8-2pm . I learned how to price and slice the deli meats and provided best customer service to the customers. The workplace was very busy and fast paced .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always rushed
Clerk (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 February 2018
pros
tons of hours
great management

cons
bad shifts due to long commutes they constantly short change my shifts only getting less than 5hrs of sleep in 24hrs period of time.
even worse wages and very insulting pay raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 February 2018
good customers , and coworkers , union workplace so not exactly a good place , did have trouble switching departments though it was not allowed , i ended up being fired for trying .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i liked the work in deli and did learn alot as far as meat and cheese.and food safety
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  aidrie ab23 February 2018
i liked working at this company and had good experiences with co workers. management seemed a bit unapproxable. i enjoyed making party trays and helping the customers with their needs and wants.
Pros
dealing with customers
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of places to work
Assistant Grocery Manager (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB18 February 2018
nice lunchrooms
lots of room to move up in company
lots of training
decent hours
uniforms
able to move to other cities.
lots of customer interaction
long term employees
Pros
nice lunchrooms
Cons
old boys club
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place, not great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC17 February 2018
Most customers are good, but you get some real jerks. Management pretty good. It's a good first job but not somewhere where you stay very long. Try not to get stuck facing.
Pros
flexible hours, good coworkers
Cons
having to stand for long periods of time, really busy rush times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work when customers are chatty and helpful
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC14 February 2018
The hardest part of working at save on foods was when I did not know where something was or when someone was having a bad ish day and it effected everyone.
The fun part was meeting new people and learning the environment and doing my job to help others
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poorly paying job, with very random and inconsistent hours.
Personal Shopper (Current Employee) –  British Columbia13 February 2018
This is minimum wage job and benefits don't kick in until you have worked here for a year. You also have to pay 30 dollars every month because it s union job. Hour are constantly being cut so Save on foods can make more money. In doing so, people with the lowest seniority have zero hours. If you do get hours they re very inconsistent. Shifts will switch fro graveyard to a 4 am shift to an after noon shift. They do not seem to care about you life outside of work.
Pros
provided lunch food. you have request time off.
Cons
Poorly paying job, with very random and inconsistent hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
Restaurant Clerk (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK13 February 2018
They don't work with your availability hours. I got fired because i was always late which i was put on 7 a.m. shifts which i wasn't available for. I was a hard working employee for them but they just don't care about your home life.
Pros
good food
Cons
not enough hours and not very courteous to employees needs
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job but not many hours
Front end, cashier (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB12 February 2018
The job was easy and the work atmosphere was good but I didn't get near the amount of hours I'd been promised. They also told me I'd be able to transfer to another store when I moved but when that time came they told me I had to quit and re-apply in another city.
Pros
Very flexible
Cons
Not many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laborious and Productive
Grocery Stocker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB11 February 2018
- Working here for one year.
- Face items on the shelves for each aisle.
- Working only on the weekends.
- Fast paced workplace.
- All tasks must be completed on time.
Pros
Flexible work schedule.
Cons
Many tasks to complete in four hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace with great staff and managing team
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC10 February 2018
typical day is usually busy, with long lines of customers. Learning all the codes and knowing how to work the register are key. all employees and managers get along well together. Hardest part is standing still for long periods of time. most enjoyable part is getting to know the customers and having conversations with them as you go through they're order.
Pros
friendly work environment
Cons
long periods of standing still
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made coming to work fun
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB7 February 2018
Save on Foods gave me a work experience like I hadn't had before. With a management that actually cared about your well being to friendly coworkers, coming into work never felt like a chore. The customers are usually very nice but the few bad eggs are easy to deal with because the managers care about you as well as the customers.
Pros
Free food, wonderful break area, and flexible hours
Cons
Inconsistent hours, schedule changes from week to week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
E-Comm Shopper (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB7 February 2018
Amazing staff, easy to get along with. Great work environment. Department managers are awesome, manager and assistant manager are great. All other staff are welcoming and friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save on Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 682 reviews
5181
4233
3155
266
147

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture