Save on Foods Employee Reviews for Deli Associate in Edmonton, AB

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 1,194 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you stay a long time but it is a tough job
Deli Department Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 September 2019
The benefits are good if you stay for a long time since everything is based on seniority. There is more job security if you stay for a long time. The job is also unionized.

Some of the managers are good some are not. Most of the coworkers are nice.

Always cutting hours though so sometimes the workload is too much for the amount being paid. There is a big disparity in the amount of work between departments. Some departments are really easy are some are overly stressful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demeaning coworkers
Deli Department (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB24 August 2019
At first the job was great. Then as time went on a co worker made me feel horrible about myself. She made me feel like i wasnt good enough. Things had to be absolutely perfect. Made one tiny mistake and she went on a huge rant. Management sucks. Scheduling sucked. I wouldnt reccomend working for save on foods. Thank god its just a job and thats why i left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with good benefits
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB20 February 2019
-average 7hr days
-slicing and weighing meat for consumers
-creating deli trays and dips for shelves
-positive employees
-good dental benefits
-poor management
Pros
good coworkers and positive vibe
Cons
management seemed unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 January 2019
overall horrible first job, they did not underrstand that a student had to balance work, school, and family and you would be penalized for it. management was awful.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place with kind staff
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 August 2018
The work there was fine. After all it was my very first job so I do not really have many complaints about it or the people. Some I didn't get along with mind you a would rarely interact with them any way, but I cant really complain.
Pros
close to home
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and easy-going employees
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 April 2018
I worked in the deli, so my job consisted of keeping the deli stocked and presentable for customers, as well as cutting meat for customers and cleaning/taking out the garbage to the compactor.
Pros
It was a job
Cons
I did not enjoy working in the deli (more focused on school (G12) and sports)
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 December 2017
The staff was great to work with, it was a great experience learning different departments. In the Deli there is some hard work to be done around the ovens and closing the stations. In the Eccommerce department it was a very physical job walking up and down the aisles multiple times in a shift sometimes having to lift heavy items.

I learned where every item is in that store and when things were ordered it was a good experience and the staff was like family.
Pros
free lunches on wed.
Cons
union and wages
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun filled place too work
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2017
great people. good workplace. great staff. honourable job offers. i met lots of great people and enjoyed working here. i learnt alot working here. i would work here again
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job.
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 September 2017
its a great first job, the people are super nice and caring and it is a very easy job to learn. You get to meet people of all ages which is pretty cool.
Pros
get reward points
Cons
not enough breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli girl, hot and cold, slicing, cleaning and customer service.
Deli worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 March 2017
Ran hot and cold side of the deli, cleaning and operating slicing equipment. Taking orders and good customer service was a must,
Stocking and refilling all items. Logging your products and wastes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 October 2016
Job wasn't fun or anything, often were rushing to finish days work, forcing the job to be rast paced, environment and co-workers were good though
Cons
Often called in, often understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience with customers
Department Specialist (Deli) (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2016
good job to improve on customer service/satisfaction, multitasking skills were used a lot, energetic place to work at especially with fun out going people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 November 2015
Positive co-workers and management very challenging everyday because there's lots of customers. Also i learned that you have to be patient to people. The most enjoyable is meeting new people everyday with smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good work environment with flexible scheduling
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 August 2015
I believe that save on foods limits itself by paying its employees bad wages. They want people to provide quality customer service to people for a wage that is not worth dealing with bad customers. I do believe that save on is a great start up job with lots of friendly people that provide a good work experience.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
save on foods
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 March 2015
Was a great company to work for.Very helpful great people to work for, didn't like we didn't get any discounts, liked everything was online etch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and fun workplace to gain experience.
Deli Specialist (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB1 November 2014
Save-On-Foods was an interesting place to work which provided an excellent work environment with friendly and supportive co-workers that challenged me to expand my knowledge of the workplace.
Pros
Benefits, Good hours, Flexible.
Cons
Low wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 4Report

See more Save on Foods reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save on Foods. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 1,194 reviews
5283
4395
3274
2125
1117

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture