Sanjel Energy Services Employee Reviews

Found 35 reviews matching the search See all 48 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oilfield atmosphere
Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Estevan Sask21 November 2018
This company was fine at first but became a buddy buddy business of backstabing staff. would not recomend anybody for a job there. no class.There company sold.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad company
drvier (Former Employee) –  Fort St. John, BC19 October 2018
these guys will work you and dump you, everybody in there cushy jobs wont give u a chance, terrible place to start out, a lot of fakers and bad management racists in the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Business
Consultantt (Former Employee) –  Canada10 July 2018
Sanjel is no longer in business. I should not be giving an opinion of the company.

When I was there, it was a good company. Some good talent. end of
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Bulkplant Operator (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB4 July 2018
everyone was friendly and welcoming and treated me as an equal. unfortunately I was laid off when step energy bought sanjel and let everyone go to hire their own..
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
oil insdustriy
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 June 2018
They have a awesome safety record. It was enjoyment to work on all the different types of oil field service equipment. They had a good in house training program
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exellent company to work for ,very rewarding,great environment, great people
Driver ,operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB11 May 2018
A call out could be a typical 8 hour shift or could be a 30 hour physical and mental grind . Learned the operation and goals of a oil rig .The management of Sanjel were very focused on safety and efficiency so you always knew the company put your safety first and that all work was well organized,this meant the crews were confident and worked closely together.The hardest part of the job was definetly the long grueling hours but it could also be the most enjoyable part of the job working with a bunch of great people and heading back to the shop for a bbq and talking about what we accomplished that shift.
Pros
Good benefits, good company, good people
Cons
No travel allowance
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean equipment
bulker (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB19 March 2018
great equipment and training program. well paid for the amount of physical work you have to do. awesome work atmosphere and a good schedule good opportunity to advance in the company
Pros
well paid
Cons
long day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Lead Operator (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB11 March 2018
Gave me lots of experience. Always push you through all safety tickets and training
Room to advance
lot of travel
consistence schedule
...............
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
Field Hand In-Training (FIT) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 February 2018
job sucked pay was terrible bunch of thieves and drug addicts , dont waste your time with this place unless you like working for pennies and staying up for days at a time
Pros
free ppe
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liars and bad management
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Edson, AB19 November 2017
These guys lie a rip you off every chance they get and when you confront them about it they show you the door and still ding you for equipment that you returned when you leave
Pros
None
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same old attitude
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Esrevan26 September 2017
New ownership, but I can't believe they left the same idiots running the company that drove the old Sanjel into bankruptcy. You will only get ahead if you give.....! The leadership cannot take criticism, it's do as I say or else. They fire people for the sake of firing. So many good quality employees were either fired for no reason, or quit because they were so unappreciated.
Pros
None
Cons
Extremely poor, weak management at all levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Horsepower Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB21 September 2017
I had a great time working there and I won't hesitate to go back and work there again. the only reason I am not working there is that the type of work we were doing is not available anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Alberta born company
Electronic Technician (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB24 May 2017
I thank Sanjel for the opportunity they gave me to get my foot into the door of the oil and gas industry. Unfortunately the market of 20015/16 had them have to sell of the Frac side, which I was a part of, but I'm sure the cement guys are still just as great as ever.
Pros
Think big and play safe.
Cons
Some managers were not management material and got away with unsavary behaviour.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoied!
Bulk Plant Operator (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB21 April 2017
It was a very good place to work. I had fun working for Sanjel. People were friendly, safety and health are major topic of everyday meeting. Low commodity prices took my job away.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company did not survive the oilfield downturn
Bulker/operator (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB18 January 2017
N/A. The company was great until it laid off all the employees as it filed for Chapter 11. Cementing was difficult due to irratic work schedule and not knowing when the phone would ring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Oilfied Company with the Normal Problems
Truck Driver, Oil Field Worker (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB20 November 2016
Well meaning management and visionary team directors did their best with the teams they had. Could have been run better on the office side when it came to paperwork. Submitting receipts and food allowances was not easy for all employees and little help was given. Logbooks were a pain, long hours annoying, cab company distasteful at times. Outdoor work cold and dangerous. Enjoyed the team environment, learned a lot about the oil field industry and the people that make it tick. Was struck by the constant battle with drugs, alcohol abuse and pornography regardless of company regulations. Very little morale in teams I was on. Only stayed 3 months due to the hours away from my family. Found the short stays with my family between weeks on were not enjoyable as everyone was used to living without me. Saw the effect of long term work on other coworkers families and decided to quit.
Pros
Moderate Pay, Work parties fun!, lots of freedom
Cons
Long hours, Loss of family life, Cold and Dangerous Work, little office help, poor morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Purchased by Step Energy
Data Van Operator (Former Employee) –  Clairmont, AB5 November 2016
Sanjel was good to me an an employee,

I moved back to vanouver before the Step Energy purchase.

Great guys to work with. Managers tried to make you feel part of there tem and understood your experience was valuable
Pros
good company
Cons
Industry is at a low spot so the work wasnt consistent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Critical well supervisor (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 September 2016
good
lots of hours
good co workers
busy
safety
away jobs and home
flexible
steady pace
efficient
long days
some short
challenging but learnt a lot from co workers and company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once upon a time it was a fun place to work
IS purchaser and help desk analyst (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2016
The company was good to work for when I started in 2010 and it was great until the end of 2014. The company was growing by leaps and bounds and then things changed in 2015. By 2016 the whole company was pulled apart and sold for parts.
Cons
Extra duties and no recognition for job well done
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Junior field electronic technologist (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB6 September 2016
The people were very friendly and help each other. I learned a lot from the technical tasks I had. Very nice place where you enjoy working.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sanjel Energy Services. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 48 reviews
514
415
313
21
15

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture