Safeway Employee Reviews for Deli Associate

Found 139 reviews matching the search See all 11,015 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good experience throughout
Deli clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON24 February 2019
supportive co-workers
buzy most of the time
learnt a lot like how to deal with customers
how to present yourself, being patient and professional behavior.
made good impression with many regular customers.
delivered customer satisfaction to the fullest.
Pros
free lunch for few days
Cons
short shifts at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive yet its boring
Deli Department worker (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 February 2019
safeway is a great place to work, but in my place in deli department was kind of stressful, because of my coworker that almost all of them is not helping each other to get the work done, but the management is pretty good. have a higher salary and every sunday I get an extra a dollar per hour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Deli-worker (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 February 2019
Was part time. learned great customer skills. Learned how to set up a deli, slice meet, weigh out salads, close the deli at end of shift. most enjoyable part of job was dealing with customers.
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Deli department (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg14 January 2019
The manager I had for the deli department was never there when we needed him and he tried to make us save on food by going against food regulations I tried to make complaints and lost my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first job
Deli Clerk / Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC7 January 2019
Safeway is a great place to work if you have never had a job before. The department managers are great, but they do the best with what they are given. Upper management expects too much and they never provide enough hours or training to complete the expected tasks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
DELI WORKER (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC8 December 2018
a typical day would be coming in taking out garbage, doing whats on the production list, serving customers hot food, slicing deli meats, serving salad, wiping windows, counters, and doing dishes while following foodsafe guidlines. i made a lot of friends which made a good team to work around everyday.
Pros
in Mall, by skytrain and bus, fast paced, team orientated
Cons
Busy, can be hard on body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Retail
Deli Clerk/Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 November 2018
About what you'd expect from a retail outfit. Somewhat the attitude of asking for the moon but giving you a bucket to get there. People are good, upper management is out of touch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON8 November 2018
The environment was good but the scheduling was bad and management was slightly lacking, Booking time off was difficult and management did not have a contact unless they where at work
Pros
Friendly Environment
Cons
Bad Scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work schedule very flexible
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK29 October 2018
I've learned many things at the deli such as learning how to cook, bake and providing customers of what they need in the deli. They are very professional when it comes to job management; they will take care of you and you're schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safeway
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB21 October 2018
did not like walmart as it was not a god learing experenice I only worked 2 a week and did not have fun but it did teach me to be fast and to be friendly
Pros
good money
Cons
bad employes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environement
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 October 2018
I worked in the deli in which I learned how to prepare food and interact with costumers. The workplace environment was very welcoming, I got along very well with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli clerk
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB11 October 2018
this is a wonderful place to work; my co workers were very nice and helpful. you are always busy and when u are not you can usually find something to do like cleaning up different areas of the deli
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Atascadero, CA14 August 2018
On my first day of work, I did an 8 hour shift which was no big deal, but I wasn't trained by my manager on how to do my job. Continuing with the job I wasn't trained on how to do any of the tasks asked of me and I had to guess and use common knowledge on how to do my jobs, such as: Cooking, cleaning, organizing food groups, ect.
Pros
Very productive
Cons
Early mornings that I asked to not be shifted for, not trained properly, hard environment to work in
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff are very friendly
Deli Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC10 August 2018
Good Part-time job for students. There are many hours to go around and the stores are open early to late. There is always availability during holidays.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long days standing on your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun employees to work with
(Deli clerk) Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Quesnel, BC28 June 2018
Id say its a good place to work, but the Management is very poor on how they deal with there employees. Very rude and not knowing how to approach someone.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable environment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 May 2018
The job requirement were very enough to allow me to develop many new skills with respected food services. For example, one day I could be making pizza and the next day I could be serving a variety of meat and cheese to the customers.
Pros
Offered benefit packages and Union support
Cons
Limited work hours available
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB25 April 2018
good environment, lots of room to advance and learn, excellent training, great management team, great team members and customer relations, good hours and benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department heads were great but management sucks
Deli Worker (Former Employee) –  100 Mile House, BC23 April 2018
Needed emergency family days for personal matters and lack of daycare and was denied. But because I was already in the union they couldn't fire me .. Did not I form me of this and treated me unfairly until I quit. Also, the store manager never consulted with my department head to even see if the time off was possible. And would not allow me to speak to my department head.
Pros
Weekly paycheques
Cons
Poor communication
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Environment
Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 April 2018
Typical day of work includes serving customers without a break but it doesn't happen often.

The things that I learned working there were how to work in a team.

Working in a team I got to know more about the person I am working with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generic Deli Job
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Regina, SK10 April 2018
The job was pretty relaxed most of the time; although the management and co-workers pushed me to work harder and faster even though I was meeting all the deadlines.

The hardest part of the job was cleaning a few certain areas the were pretty much impossible to clean.

The most enjoyable part of the job was customer interaction. I enjoyed seeing all the new faces, and became familiar with the returning customers. I would memorize their usual order and would always chit chat a bit to build a bond.
Pros
Half hour paid break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 11,015 reviews
52.6K
43.2K
33.1K
21.2K
1882

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture