Safeway Employee Reviews for Clerk

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt Ill Prepared, and expected to do things i didnt know I had to
Floral Department Clerk (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB5 September 2018
enjoyed having all different types of flower to work with and build arrangements, but i was expected to do things i wasn't even taught how to do. I was let go for poor reasons and wasn't warned before hand i was missing what i was, zero chance to excel. felt like no one wanted to be there working it wasn't a good atmosphere
Pros
build the arrangements and price them accordingly
Cons
days felt long, coworkers were distant, no life in the workplace no passion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Company to work for.
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Airdrie, AB20 August 2018
They will suck the life out of you. Expect too much out of their employees and managers are jokes! They don't respect time off and they don't show recognition.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start an learn from
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 August 2018
A good place to start out with lots of things to learn. Managment is nice and is understanding if you do need time off as long as work hard. You will be working a lot of different shifts in different departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biased Management
Curtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 August 2018
Most of the elderly workers are racist, management was very biased towards the elders. Most of the co-workers believe they have power over the youth, but at least the bathroom was kinda nice.
Pros
nothing
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst experience I had
General clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC6 August 2018
Poor work culture
Treating employees like assets not human resources
Very poor HR management
Poor salary scale
No supervision on employee's satisfaction and staff retention does not matter at all.
Pros
None
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disrespect From Management and Union.
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sardis, BC27 May 2018
Neither the store manager, nor the union protected me after I was harassed by other employees. I've never seen anything quite like it before. Major lapses in leadership all around. No wonder the staff turn over is huge at this location. It's a revolving door for a very good reason. Just not worth the stress for what is essentially a permanent part time job with no future.
Pros
None
Cons
Refusal to abide by WCB regulations and provide a safe, harassment free work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was a good please to work
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB25 April 2018
I was a clerk. My day was running the paperwork for the pickers and then getting independence ready for delivery. Running tags for all product answering phones. Tacking care of the office
Pros
good people
Cons
being let go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its alright
Curtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  Canmore, AB22 April 2018
this job is kinda alright i mean if you like picking up garbage cleaning up dropped food or juice or eggs but again its alright to work here just wish breaks where longer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained lots of retail experience
Clerk in Charge (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC23 March 2018
Overall, I have gained the experience what customers truly want from a retail store. As a Clerk in Charge, I learned how to balance out conflicts between the employees, and how to provide better customer service by working here at Safeway.
Pros
Stat pay
Cons
Waiting to long for benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated it
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC7 February 2018
Worked for a few months and hours were eliminated completely with no explanation. Attempted many times to find out why but kept getting no answers and was just redirected to other department managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sevice Clerk (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC6 February 2018
The workplace culture is very friendly every coworker is very helpful when customer or employee needs help to find the item always have an assistant close by.

I learned how to wrap gift basket at florist department and how to write raincheck for item not in the shelve when it is on sale for customer to take it later.
Pros
Employee discount
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for part time
Coutesy clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 December 2017
every safeway/sobeys is different so cant really be all too biased, they all have there short comings and benefits, hours are always terrible unfortunately
Pros
easy work
Cons
bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a good working area
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 November 2017
Possibly an easy job, employees are great and job management is good and hours are sometimes good basing on what type of work time you choose. Work hours are terrible during this time of year
Pros
None
Cons
Midueam hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC16 October 2017
typical day at work when the stock are out.
i learn that time is money
excellent people
its workplace culture
demanding customer that not all things done instant all need process
when the job done and customer happy that what they needs from the store got it and they come back do business with us
Pros
free parking lot
Cons
long standing hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting job for High School Students
General Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 September 2017
It's a good first job while your in High School, but i wouldn't make a career out of it. I've learned a lot of helpful skills and valuable knowledge about the grocery store industry
Pros
they are understanding of students, and believe school comes frist and don't force you into ridculous schedules
Cons
Pay is not worth the amount of work you do, espically if you have a lot of skills, but no pay raise
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was a great first job !
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB4 August 2017
-great staff
-great working conditions
-fantastic management crew
-quality service
-uplifting environment
-equality
-health code up to par
-Great benefits
Pros
Great management
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has some solid people, but the pay, advancement, and expectations poor..
GENERAL CLERK / PRODUCE (Current Employee) –  Burnaby Heights, BC1 August 2017
Worked there for a year and have gotten a raise of $0.20 which is ridiculous this day and age!

They expect so much but lack the staff to do the job.

Only redeeming factor is that I had a few good coworkers that knew the struggle as much as me.
Pros
Can have decent coworkers
Cons
low pay, irregular hours, little to no advancement, high expectations with little feed back.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway was in many ways a great place to work
Sevice clerk customer sevice (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC17 July 2017
But Safeway did not pay very well for sevice clerks and to advanced to become a cashier was not easy thing to do.asa sevice clerk I could get 40 hours but a cashier I could only get 20hours and I would of lost all my benifits .so I stayed a sevice clerk .after a long while l left the job so could get a job as a cashier.
Pros
I liked the customers and liked the job
Cons
The pay was very low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good part time job,Bad full time.
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC10 July 2017
Pay is of course very low and raises are infrequent and negligible. My personal experience has been positive because my schedule has been very easy to move around for school.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Bad Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Wages
General Clerk (Current Employee) –  Prince Rupert, BC4 July 2017
The new collective agreement has horrible wages. After 2 years of full time hours, I was only making $12.20 an hour. It's an industry where customers have no respect for workers, and believe if they throw a temper tantrum, they will receive either free product or a gift certificate. This is based on over 25 years in this Industry. The old contract at least had a living wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,265 reviews
52.5K
43.1K
32.9K
21.1K
1788

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture