Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Cashier, Clerk, and Bakery (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC12 December 2018
Good management, union so the pay was good. This was years ago so I do not know what it is like now. We were a very busy store and so the time went by fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment.
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC8 December 2018
work in safeway give me new opportunities in my life beacuse i just move here from different country and it give me opportunity to deal with different kind of persons and how to deal with persons in a friendly manner give me chance to express my views in front of people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
DELI WORKER (Current Employee) –  New Westminster, BC8 December 2018
a typical day would be coming in taking out garbage, doing whats on the production list, serving customers hot food, slicing deli meats, serving salad, wiping windows, counters, and doing dishes while following foodsafe guidlines. i made a lot of friends which made a good team to work around everyday.
Pros
in Mall, by skytrain and bus, fast paced, team orientated
Cons
Busy, can be hard on body
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC7 December 2018
I have learned bagging groceries, recycling, stacking carts and baskets, sweeping and signing the clipboard for security reasons. I could not make its probabation because it is too many tasks to be done and also not enough hours because of the union.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ladner, BC4 December 2018
Stocking shelves and conversing with customers, management wasn't the greatest they didn't help out much. The staff was nice and worked hard but the store lacked professionalism.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wasn't a great place
baking production assistant (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 December 2018
Honestly, it was not a good experience while I worked at Safeway. I was constantly mocked by one of my older coworkers and no one would do anything about the situation. They also under paid me and only gave me 12 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
time importance friendly environment
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC2 December 2018
work in safeway give me new opportunities in my life beacuse i just move here from different country and it give me opportunity to deal with different kind of persons and how to deal with persons in a friendly manner give me chance to express my views in front of people
Pros
bonus points
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal Retail
Deli Clerk/Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 November 2018
About what you'd expect from a retail outfit. Somewhat the attitude of asking for the moon but giving you a bucket to get there. People are good, upper management is out of touch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awful
Meat Clerk (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON28 November 2018
this place was poorly run and i was fired because they changed the scheduled without telling me and it was all done in pencil like we were in grade 5. i would never work there again id rather be homeless. awful awful job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK24 November 2018
Safeway:
Was a Good high school job.
Gave me a lot of my customer service experience and how to treat people.
Enjoyed the staff at my location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
baking, serving customers (Current Employee) –  Dawson Creek, BC23 November 2018
I enjoy my job in the bakery but I don't get enough hours to pay my rent and utilities. The bakery manager is not easy to work with however i do enjoy baking. my co-workers are good to work with.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun productive job
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee) –  River and Osborne22 November 2018
Working at safe was good, always kept up with everything and made sure things were done right, I'm a hard worker and will always be on time. Will follow directions and orders
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work day 9 + hours
1st Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 November 2018
This is a rewarding job but is better for someone single without a family. long hours and no consistent days off. This makes is hard to plan things. at least 2 late shifts a week until 11pm or later depending on what store you work at and what kind of Manager you work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job for dealing with the public on a daily basis
File Maintenance Clerk / Cash Office (Current Employee) –  Neepawa, MB19 November 2018
I enjoy the job. Learned many skills in all areas of the grocery store. Friendly people. Start early in morning preparing the cash and daily pricing. Had different tasks every day so it wasn't boring with repetition.
Pros
benefits
Cons
early hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treated everyone with respect.
DONUT MAKER (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB19 November 2018
A typical day at work was good and enjoyable.
I have learnt many things there many ways to make bread, learnt about different cultures, many other bakery goods, how to work as a team.
Management. Are very professional and respectful towards employees.
Workplace culture. Many enjoyable people to work with.
The hardest part of the job as dealing with co-workers and the smell of the fryer.
The most enjoyable part of the job was making donuts.
Pros
Free samples. Good pay and benefits.
Cons
Long hours. The fryer smell.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with very friendly co-workers
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB19 November 2018
Very flexible hours for people with other commitments (sports, other jobs etc.)

Very good management, friendly co-workers, reasonable tasks and good hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC13 November 2018
a nice place to work at a very great manager and nice staff very friendly environment. learned to handle medications always fun to spend time with other workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
downtime
Parking Booth Attendant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 November 2018
Lots of downtime from what i can remember. Honestly i haven't worked here in years and i'm only doing this review because it's required filling up the character limit wee
Pros
lots of freedom
Cons
sitting all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow, mindless job
GAS BAR TECHICIAN (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB10 November 2018
managers play favorites, and are very passive aggressive. mindless work that requires no thinking or effort. they are good with flexibility with hours if your a student for example.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't Listen
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC8 November 2018
Only worked there for like 6 months. Gave them my school schedule and they ignored it and kept scheduling me for times i was in class, and then were upset with me when i didn't show up. other cashiers were great but the managers were hit and miss.
Cashiers were not allowed to have their own water bottles, they had to be purchased store brand plastic water bottles. (Such an waste! think of the environment!) and drinking water in front of customers wasn't allowed.
Pros
They have stickers to give to kids which is cute
Cons
Shoplifting and other sketchy sorts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,540 reviews
52.5K
43.1K
32.9K
21.1K
1821

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture