Safeway Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Delta, BC23 October 2018
Its a amazing workplace to be in employes are very kind and incourgeing and always willing to take your skills to the next level and very clean enviorment
Pros
Amazing work space
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safeway
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB21 October 2018
did not like walmart as it was not a god learing experenice I only worked 2 a week and did not have fun but it did teach me to be fast and to be friendly
Pros
good money
Cons
bad employes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Group
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB20 October 2018
Amazing group that are always read for help you. I´m truly happy to be a part of this team.
They have a family environment that make you fell comfortable and welcome at your job.
Pros
Staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
CASHIER/COURTESY CLERK (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 October 2018
didn't like working here
the hours fluctuated on a daily bases
i was always overworked and call lazy by some people
same people where nice and understanding but not all have to be able to work in a fast pace environment
Pros
dental benefits
Cons
minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environement
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB13 October 2018
I worked in the deli in which I learned how to prepare food and interact with costumers. The workplace environment was very welcoming, I got along very well with my coworkers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway front end was ok.
Cashier / Customer Service / Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cochrane, AB12 October 2018
I worked at Safeway for 4 years, this is the most drama filled workplace you can ever imagine. There is union which stops you from getting hours-helpful to not only you but to the workplace. For example, someone who started working at Safeway two months before you have will aways the same amount or more hours than you; if you are a star employee and they aren't, you cant come in more than they can thus limiting your time to shine. Heart Heart.
Pros
if you are a people person this is the place to be
Cons
tough time getting hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working and loyal. reliable and honest. always on time.
Full time meat wrapper/ seafood dept. attendant (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB11 October 2018
I enjoyed learning about the meat industry as well as the seafood counter. I especially enjoyed the customer service aspect of the job.
I am a genuine people person and having the opportunity to engage in conversation about almost anything is fun. getting to know your customers is a privledge
Cons
cold environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
deli clerk
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB11 October 2018
this is a wonderful place to work; my co workers were very nice and helpful. you are always busy and when u are not you can usually find something to do like cleaning up different areas of the deli
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB9 October 2018
Wasn't there for long but in my time being there I have no complaints about the atmosphere and management. The benefits are by far the best part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place to work
Pharmacy Assistant (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB7 October 2018
the most enjoyable part of the job is the schedule which there is no weekend work, and I learned about the work place is the people are enjoyable to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
place where you really have to work hard
Courtesy Clerk / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB4 October 2018
super over worked at the end of the day. i learned how to stock shelfs and check out coustomers from the check stand. hardest part of the job was getting carts in -40 weather. Their really hard to push and get stuck in the slush and snow.
Pros
free samples of food
Cons
work consistently until break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wages went up, hours went down
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2018
I got only 2 shifts a week now, 4 hours each. Which is fine cause I need time to work on assignments but I got too much time for my assignments; too much free time.
Pros
close to school
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced environment
Front end bakery clerk (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 October 2018
Loved this job for a few years, however, became too mundane.
No social life, and missed out on a lot of family time during holidays.
Never any opportunity to get ahead or advance.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
constant changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Cashier/CSR/Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB2 October 2018
I worked at Safeway when people still got raises and a high wage at that time. I left to take care of my children because the hours were from 8am-11pm or you were restricted and lost hours.
The only thing good was that I was making top dollar in 1999 now you can`t get close to that wage if you start now and work the rest of your life there.
I hated every minute I was there by the end after working there for 13 years or so.
I doubt it is any better now.
Pros
Non that I can remember
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for long term work
Fuel Technician (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2018
Safeway is a company you should work for if you are looking to be apart of a team, and want to be able to keep yourself busy. There is always something to do, and you become quite hands on with Lottery, cigarettes, and gas prices when you work in the gas bar. It's always good to keep busy with cleaning, stocking product, counting, and selling goods and services.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Supervisors and Co-workers
Cashier, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB26 September 2018
I enjoyed my time at Safeway because of the people I worked with and the customers who were generally pleasant.

Because I was a newbie I was scheduled to work hours that no one else wanted and although I was happy to do the work sometimes the scheduling prevented me from doing other stuff with family and friends.
Pros
Management, Coworkers, Customers
Cons
Schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  New Westminster, BC25 September 2018
Pros
good pay.
not much stress.
unionized.
co-workers are great.
cons is that training is pretty bad, its a little video you are forced to watch which shows you how to do your job. it is very boring.
when they got me to do a overtime shift they kept changing the time i work until
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB24 September 2018
meet new people, learned how to work a cash register, (training) provided management was awesome to work for they were understanding and will to go out of their way to helping you out.
work place culture was good, different cultures working under one roof.
the hardest part of the job is when it was time to go home, and wait for your next shift.
meeting new people and learning ne things was the best part, and helping each other out
Pros
had a lunch room
Cons
the traveling form work and home
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK23 September 2018
loved it. good experience. wouldn't do it again. liked it at the time, in my younger years. good bye I don't have more to say by the over priced store.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bakery
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee) –  Penticton, BC19 September 2018
It is a good place to work in the summer or on holidays.
Winter time you hardly work any shifts.
The staff are hard working people, and go above and beyond for the company.
Cons
no hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Safeway. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 10,289 reviews
52.5K
43.1K
32.9K
21.1K
1791

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture