RYERSON CANADA Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Operator (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 January 2019
Ryerson was a good place to work for. I enjoyed it there during my time. Always a challenge but not too much as to not like going in. Hours were good as well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place
production worker (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB29 December 2018
There is respect for employees from management.Does not care about employees safety.machinery not maintained properly.Does not follow Manitoba Employment standards.Will not pay out 3 weeks holiday pay until 7 year of earning.Plus side can go to work stoned and be rewarded.
Pros
can work stoned
Cons
dangerous place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place safe well organized good morale
Shipper and Receiver (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON. Winnipeg Mb..3 December 2018
Ryerson Canada high energy steel supplier worldwide company with Branches in Canada U.S. Mexico China Suppling metal products to transportation and mining and farming industry .
Pros
good work atmosphere alot of lunch meetings Pizza once a month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of upside with this organization
Warehouse/Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB9 November 2018
Warehouse and logistics can be overwhelming , storing product along with customer delivery demands need good staff to meet daily requirements.
Rewarding time working in this industry.
Pros
Compensation for the job
Cons
large organization but can loose touch at small branch level
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne entreprise
Cariste (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC17 October 2017
Specialiste de metal en feuille stainless et aluminium
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne environement
Cariste (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil17 August 2017
Bonne entreprise bon salaire sécurité d'emploi bon équipement pour travailer
Pros
Avantage sociaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 May 2017
Fast paced environment but you have a lot of support. Good opportunity for advancement if you are open to relocating. Management is very knowledgeable and helpful
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambiance/esprit d equipe tres agreable
Operateur scie Extrusion (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC9 March 2017
27 ans de carriere qui a passe trop vite.l opportunite pour moi d apprendre plusieurs fonction.voir de nouveaux equipements,ce qui me rendait tres motive et le gout d apprendre et de s impliquer et de transmettre mes connaissances a mes confreres de travail.
Pros
bonne ambiance/esprit d equipe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go somewhere else
Manager (Current Employee) –  Canada26 August 2016
Main focus of the company is headcount reduction. Not a growing, healthy company, but, an old stodgy company that needs to modernize how it manages.
Many of the coworkers are some of the best people I have ever met, but, likely will be leaving given recent changes. Too bad.
When I started, years ago, it was interesting and challenging, now is a different story.
Pros
Legacy benefit package is good.
Cons
Very poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and friendly work place
General Accountant (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON10 March 2016
Sure, of course. I reach office at around 9AM. Once I log in to my computer system, I browse through mails. Ascertain the cash position and prepare cash forecast for a week and send to Treasury, Prioritize day to day jobs and reporting for a week, answer technical questions from end user. Troubleshoot technical issues in day to day accounting activities, Follow up emails.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environnement agréable
Receptionniste/Soutien Administratif (Former Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC24 February 2016
j'étais ponctuelle, je répondais, informais et dirigeais la clientèle, faisais des entrées de données, de la numérisation, du classement, recevoir, expédier des produits,classement et si le temps me le permettais, je venais en aide à mes collègues dans les autres départements. J'ai vraiment apprécié mon travail à cette compagnie.
Pros
Avantages Sociaux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fellow employees, poor management
Side Loader Operator (Former Employee) –  Etobicoke, ON20 October 2014
since being taken over by an investment company, with no knowledge of the metal service business employees futures have become more at risk.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très agréable
chariots élévateurs/préposé à l'entrepôt (Former Employee) –  Québec16 October 2014
Ce que j'aimais dans cette entreprise était: que je pouvais être très autonome et les jours de travail passaient très vite.
Pros
nous avions d'excellent avantage sociaux
Cons
Certains employés manquaient de maturité
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail agréable
Mécanicien industrielle (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC18 March 2014
Réparation et entretien de la machinerie.
Bonne entente avec les dirigeants
Bonne ambiance de travail
Pas vraiment de difficulté particulière
Créer de nouveaux équipements pour améliorer la production
Pros
Heure de repas payé
Cons
Inventaire de maintenance limitée
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work.
Operator / Trainer (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC30 January 2014
Co-workers often assigned in the wrong department
due to union regulations.

A typical day at work is verry enjoyable as the tasks
are different from day to day.
Pros
Salary/Benefits
Cons
takes about 20 years of service before getting on day shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Production and Purchasing Coordinator (Current Employee) –  mississauga Ontario6 January 2014
Ryerson has been a company that has thought me many new skills, and given me great challenge’s to increase my work experience to another level.it has given me the chance to grow professionally with great work ethic and professionalism.
Pros
having the opportunity to meet processors face to face.
Cons
little opportunity for professional growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Held positions in all sales areas / Branch Manager, company formed in 1952 as Atlas Alloys
Territory Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB2 January 2014
Retired in 2009 after 26 years of loyal service. Company has changed ownership over the last 25 years, but always employees were treated as family members, advancement was obtainable at branch level or by transfer to another of our 10 branchs in Canada.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Who you know not what you know mentality
Production Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Toronto7 September 2012
Excellent job for a great company. Too bad for the idiots that tend to overlook who is actually doing the work while praising and promoting the ones who do nothing, but whoes father was a "big guy" in the industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report

See more RYERSON CANADA reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RYERSON CANADA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 20 reviews
56
49
32
21
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.5Culture