Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environement with structure
Cardiac Intervention Unit/Cardiac Care Units (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON13 March 2019
Excellent place to work and learn with structure for management. Lots of levels of meetings and there is a process for every detail.
Excellent procurement structure
Pros
growing workplace
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Oriented
Nurse (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON13 March 2019
I work with an excellent team of professionals.
Many opportunities to move around within the organization.
Everchanging and advancement in technology and pratices.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
burnout
RN Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON8 March 2019
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

.
.
.

understaffed,
lacking
positive
staff
morale
between
poor
leadership
and
staff
cliques
bullying,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anesthesia Assistant (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON29 January 2019
I'm an Anesthesia Assistant at RVH and I love it. Our role within the OR is well developed and allows us to use a variety of skills within our scope of practice every day. Not only is the role great, but our entire Anesthesia department is wonderful to work with daily. They appreciate our help and utilize us frequently in a variety of areas in the OR and out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpaid work but a good learning experience
Emerge Department Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON27 January 2019
Many of the jobs that once paid a wage have been shifted to volunteer work. RVH takes on ~800 volunteers and they expect you to do a lot. Great to enhance communication skills and initiative however often student volunteers would not be acknowledged (they would plan barbecues and events for the volunteers on the first day of school instead of a weekend).
Pros
Great learning experience
Cons
unpaid work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
too corporate
Unit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON29 December 2018
hard to advance career here
fun, busy atmosphere
good options at cafeteria
great co-workers
wonderful patients
hardest part is seeing other people advance when they kiss up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff culture needs to improve
Risk and Patient Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 October 2018
As a staff member you were never sure who would be the next one ~walked~ out. If management didn't like you...you were gone!
I believe there are many great people that work here, however, a review of upper management is needed in order for trust to start to rebuild in this organization.
Pros
Lots of great people work here
Cons
Senior Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming Environment
Co-op Placement (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON10 August 2018
From the moment I stepped into Rvh, everyone was very welcoming and very helpful. Also it was a very good experience, I learned a lot about where I wanted to go to school and what field I wanted to work in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great hourly pay, but not take home
Logistics Attendant/Receiver (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON31 July 2018
has a great pension, great benefits, and a great hourly wage, but so many deductions that a single person can't get by on the take home wage. great staff to work with, but management turn over is quite high.
Pros
pension, benefits
Cons
poor take home pay unless you are in a specialized area
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very top down, dictatorship-style management culture.
Leadership (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON18 April 2018
Managers are not valued but put under enormous pressure to meet upper management sometimes unrealistic expectations. RVH and CEO look great on paper, but at what cost to middle management to produce such outcomes. Toxic culture in leadership. Front line staff and care are great.
Pros
Wages, benefits
Cons
Terrible culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management does not support their staff
Clinical Registered Dietitian (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON9 April 2018
Management does not support their staff and stand-by, as staff are bullied by their colleagues. Felt micromanaged. Can be a very unproductive place to work -not much room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Environment
Practical Nursing Student Emergency Department (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 March 2018
I spent multiple placements at the Royal Victoria hospital throughout my schooling. They offered a variety of learning opportunities with supportive staff members that help deliver the best care to their patients. management treated me with respect even though i was only a student and all resources available to staff were also made available for myself.
Pros
Positive work environment
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Anesthesia assistant (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON17 August 2017
Poor communication from management to staff.
Would like to see better communication regarding staffing issues and concerns.
Good culture of patient safety - excellent anesthesia care team
Pros
Great teamwork
Cons
Poor management-staff communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 18NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some areas have really great staff members to work with
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON8 June 2017
Typical schedule is 7-7 either day or night. They offer many educational opportunities,some even paid for by the organization. The hardest part is dealing with management or staffing, sometimes they just don't get it.
Pros
Free Gym at work site
Cons
poor vacation scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers
Registered Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON4 June 2017
Proud to be working there. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. My day consists of being assigned to a clinic (gyne, plastics, ent, cysto or gen surg) and running my day like a clinic.m along side the MD. We typically see about 20 patients per 8 hour day
Pros
Ability to pick up extra shifts
Cons
Full time hard to get
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very helpfull employee and the best team leader ever
Medical lab assistant technician (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON7 November 2016
excellent atmosphere to work and very helpful team leader of course too much patient but vary from day to day but all in general excellent place to work .
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Rotary Lodge Clerk (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON1 June 2016
Overall it has been a great place to work and I enjoy the clients that I see on a daily basis. It has been a great place to grown and develop as a person.
Pros
Clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emergency
Medical Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Barrie, ON5 August 2015
I enjoy working under pressure and getting the job done been compassionate and getting the best treatment to patients.
providing extra mile to make them feel comfortable and and ease also the responsabilities when you are drawing blood from a patient after surgery or quimiotherapy
Pros
good benefits
Cons
not hiring
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 15Report

See more Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 20 reviews
55
46
35
23
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre Reviews by Location