Royal Canadian Legion Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Staff
Dishwasher & Server (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ON29 April 2018
-typical day consisted of washing dishes
-organize dishes and equipment
-maintain proper storage for dishes and equipment
assists with filling positions among missing or late employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the patrons and other staff
Kingsway Branch - Waitress (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 March 2018
One of the most enjoyable part time jobs ever. The atmosphere of a service attitude was greatly inspiring. I took many lessons in life from this job and speaking to all the vetrans about their attitudes and experiances.
Pros
Lots of Fun
Cons
Sore feet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very organized
Cater Manager/ Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Stephenville, NL28 February 2018
I enjoyed working there and learn new things and wish and the most enjoyable was doing set ups and doing buffets for weddings and other parties and I love meeting new people. and some of the management was nice to work with
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company and everything it stands for.
Bartender/Server (Former Employee) –  Gananoque, ON23 February 2018
This is a great place to work. I enjoy the veterans and all the patrons who enter this establishment.The Bar Manager is amazing and the Ladies Auxiliary are a great bunch.
Pros
Amazing manager.
Cons
Not enough hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a highly enjoyable place to work until management just didn't communicate rea read to me terminating my position which lead to me terminating empl
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Cloverdale, BC27 January 2018
Like the good majority of the staff and officers there did not care for the way management ran things happy they let me create the all new menu though
Pros
New ppl daily was creator of new revised menu incl recipes
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work with great people.
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Masset, BC26 December 2017
It was a great place to work I had a lot of fun with the customers. I would recommend anyone to give this company an opportunity because not a lot of people know that the Legion is actually a great place to work and meet new customers and friends.
Pros
We had burger nights which was great.
Cons
When it was quiet I had to shut down early
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad leadership
patrol commander (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB15 December 2017
plans were in the works to start a veterans patrol last year, they got scuttled due to bad management from head office, no organization, manitoba led the way, but no recognition, some vets still went out on their own, out of their own pockets, and found lots of homeless veterans and those in need and put on a luncheon for them in november, no help from the branches or head office, pathetic
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great community spirit.wonderful people to work with and for.
Bar Steward (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON12 December 2017
A wonderful place to become involved in your community.A great opportunity for volunteer work .This is not just a job its a place that you lbecome family.Great co workers ;wonderful bosses and great clientele.
Pros
Good hours; great people
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Organization
Lift/Elevator Operator, and Server. (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON9 December 2017
I love how the Royal Canadian Legion is open and welcoming to new "Women's Auxillary" workers and volunteers. The employees throughout the Legion are very welcoming and always have a happy, joyful attitude! Very productive group of people:)
Pros
Nice Co-workers, Big space.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not productive bad management
Bartender (Former Employee) –  scarbourgh25 October 2017
busy work place good customers frendly atmosphere not much money cut back on working hours close to home retired from job hours where changed management had no clue what they were doing
Pros
friends went there
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really fun atmosphere
Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Tottenham, ON26 September 2017
This was a part time job that offered a real positive atmosphere. I loved seeing the customers and hearing old stories of how things were back in the day.
Pros
It did not feel like work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Campbellford, ON6 September 2017
i enjoyed working here it was a fun and productive workplace where i became friends with kids at school i never thought i would work with got to know them better over the years
Pros
taking home left overs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people, great management and ceo
Bar Steward Manager (Former Employee) –  Scarborough, ON25 August 2017
The day begins at 12.00pm to 12.00am or to 2.00am , we work 5 double shifts and get 7 days off. Our Monday starts on Thurs, Fri, Sat, 1200.am till 200.am Sunday Monday is our day off and then Tues, Wed, 12.00am till 12.00 pm. We manage all inventory and shop and order it as well , supply the treasures a weekly report on sales, order, petty cash , rentals and memberships. The hardest part of the day is when the shift is only half over. our customers are the most enjoyable part of the day they keep us going and bring new events and adventures to our venue.
Pros
one week off
Cons
long hours no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful workplace
Custodian (Former Employee) –  North Sydney, NS6 August 2017
Very good people to work for. The management team was excellent and my fellow employees were educated and dedicated to their positions. The legion taught me how to get along with people and gain and give respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entertaining and fun, Educating Experience
Bartender/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Vulcan, AB6 July 2017
I learn a lot and meet new people with interesting stories all the time. A great job if you don't mind the strange schedule. Plus, air conditioning is nice.
Pros
New people, learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bartender
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB10 June 2017
Day and evening shifts 7 days a week. taking in beer deliveries, paying out VLT's and serving alcohol. catered to an older crowd, fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
wonderfful to hear the stories from our veterans
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Midland, ON22 February 2017
a great community provider. Our legions do great stuff for our community.
It was a fabulous place to work,
I learned alot about out elderly and there needs.
Pros
great atmosphere
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth the Experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Brantford, ON8 January 2017
Wage wasn't exactly all it's cracked up to be, but when you're 17 and just wanting pocket money, it's totally worth it. But realistically, the experience was what it was all about. It's a perfect opportunity for resume building.
Pros
Meeting New people, gaining experience
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON19 December 2016
Allowed me to gain bartending skills. Training was not good. Was left to open and close by myself after only 2 shifts. Management is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Bar Stewardess (Former Employee) –  Wilberforce, ON6 November 2016
Loved the people I worked with. I enjoyed the pace we worked at. It was always different there, but you definitely had some slow days, which can be a nice change some times.
Pros
Free lunches during events.
Cons
Not as high as minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Canadian Legion. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 77 reviews
531
427
311
22
16

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture