Royal Botanical Gardens Employee Reviews

Found 15 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy going environment with new experiences almost daily
Kiosk Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON6 November 2018
Working at RBG was wonderful, and I wish I could've stayed! The job was fun, and the people I worked with were even better. Always something going on at RBG, which keeps you on your toes and excited for a new day! Wonderful company.
Pros
Fun coworkers, new experiences, flexbility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many leadership opportunities and supportive senior staff
Junior Counsellor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON27 September 2018
Working as a junior counselor at the RBG was rewarding but tiring. You are placed with a wide variety of age groups and work with a team of at least one other junior staff member and 2-3 senior counselors. All in all, it was a good work experience with fair hours, reasonable management, and a gratifying impact on campers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience for anyone looking to build their career in ecological restoration
Aquatic Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON3 March 2018
Identified, measured, and weighed several different species of fish, sampled water to assess quality, uploaded Fishway data to Excel spreadsheet, planted native emergent plants (mostly cattails), removed invasive plants (Eurasian manna grass, giant reed grass).
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place poor mangement
Server (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON31 January 2018
Managers have too much power and abuse it for their own benefits. Alot of great people work there though which can make it enjoyable to work at. Hardest part of the job is you got to stay pass midnight most events, but that isnt too bad.
Pros
alot of great people
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work - Adventure meets nature
GIS Mapping Technician (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON8 August 2017
By far the best place I have worked - they focus on ensuring all visitors are satisfied

Management and overall environment is great.

A great opportunity for people of all age groups - to come and experience the gardens and what we have to offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security, expect to do "any other duties" often.
Staff (Current Employee) –  Burlington, ON17 May 2017
A very disorganized company. Poor management, although nice to your face. Job prospects are weak and pay structure is unrealistic, although upper management makes it into the sunshine list. Health and safety are also an issue, expect to work alone in unsafe conditions.
There is also a lack of communication between staff, departments and even with upper management to management. The name and reputation may sound good on you resume but it it will not sound good to your banker. Also they seem to hire uneducated people that talk their way into a good positions, taking out others that stand in their way. Many departments are also not unionized so don't expect any rights.
Pros
Free admission
Cons
pay, disorganized, lack of vision, don't listen to those working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employees Careers Improvement
Student Gardener (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON21 February 2017
RBG invests in a good, healthy and Safe workplace. Since the first day the invest on the employee career development by offering training, certification, seminars and other activities. Those are characteristics that show a good company to work at.
Pros
Workplace Health and Safety focus
Cons
no flexible work hours schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Membership Growth Representative (Former Employee) –  Toronto, Canada27 January 2017
Great Company- loved it they treat you very well and are always considerate of your rights and needs. Very positive and happy environment as well. Fun place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Banquet Server (Current Employee) –  Hamilton, ON18 January 2017
Very fun job, great co-workers and a fun environment. Worked in teams and it ran smoothly. Everyone was very easy to get along with
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff - Much opportunity to expand skill Set
Business Development Membership Representative (Former Employee) –  Hamilton3 June 2015
amazing co-workers, always willing to help out other departments when need assistance. Small organization gave plenty of opportunity to explore other areas and help out. Great balance of in office and outside work. Hardest part of the job for me was calling people and asking for money.
Pros
small organization
Cons
telemarketing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
camp councelor (Former Employee) –  Hamilton8 March 2015
doing crafts with kids, going canoeing, taking care of children with special need, playing games with the kids, going on field trips
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great.
Student Gardener (Former Employee) –  Burlington, Ontario26 January 2015
A wonderful peaceful place to work. It made my love for plants grow and the people are friendly. I would recommend to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Student Gardener (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON15 August 2014
rbg is a great place to work because there are great co works and bosses. also if you are in the horticulture profession its great place learn and do new things
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fancy with a side of attitude
Catering Staff (Former Employee) –  Burlington5 April 2012
I did not enjoy working here, the cooks were very rude to me and kept telling me to quit when i said i didn't want to be a cook in the first place, i wanted to be a server. The head chief was difficult to work with and i don't recommend this job to anyone who can't take A LOT of criticism or rude employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Royal Botanical Gardens reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Botanical Gardens. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 16 reviews
58
45
32
20
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.2Culture

Royal Botanical Gardens Reviews by Location